Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

To Continue

by raincole - Compo Entry

**IMPORTANT NOTE**:
You have to fill the whole energy bar to advance next stage. The goal is not "living as long as possible".

By the way, this game has 6 stages. Yes, it has an ending and the final stage may surprise you. So don't give up so early please? :)

Description
================
You overslept.
You hear a familiar voice, from far far away.
Then you open your eyes. All you see is one screen, with a mysterious waveform.
The entire game is on it.

Enjoy.

How to play
=============
Arrow keys/WSD: control the wave.
Any okey: skip conversation.

White glowing block is good. Red is bad.
Touch the horizontal bar to restore energy.
Turning around exactly on the bar gives you extra energy.
Fill the energy bar to go to next level.

Notes
===================
* You need Java(https://java.com/en/download/index.jsp) to run this game.
* It takes about 5~15 minutes to finish, depending on how quick your fingers are.
* Post combo version has better sounds and lesser harsh difficulty.
* Powered by: LibGDX, Adobe Illustrator, cfxr, Audacity, IDEA Intellij, Android's draw9patch tool, Believer font, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#102Innovation3.93
#104Mood3.58
#107Overall3.74
#210Graphics3.69
#247Fun3.45
#350Theme3.76
#361Audio3.03
#760Humor2.20

Comments

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23am

Pretty difficult. Definitely adheres to the theme though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Cool idea. Its nice that I can continue. I find it to be fairly challenging. Maybe give us more white dashes at first.

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Difficult game, but I love the concept to bits!! Is there a win screen in the end somewhere? To really nail the concept with "entire game on one screen" one could've included a frame around the game, to really make it look like you're playing on a heart rate monitor device screen. :)

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Interesting game. There seemed to be some some sort of story going on about someone that got into an accident, but sadly the game was too unforgiving for me to finish without getting frustrated and quitting.

DevWouter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37am

Took me a second to learn the commands, but the game is nicely done and works quite well. Didn't like the fact that I had to install Java (points are not affected by this). The eye closing and opening didn't seem to match for some reason, but the rest is nicely polished

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38am

Great work! Crazy fun, very challenging, and innovative. The text sound is a bit grating, but the game sound is perfect. I wasn't able to beat it. Is there an ending, or do you just go for as long as you can?

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

This game is fun! I really like the concept. I think it gets a little repetitive after a few rounds, so maybe you could mix it up with a few more elements. Overall its pretty good!

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

I really love your take on the theme ! Your game is really fun to play, I didn't expect that at all.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

@Somfunambulist @Mixer
The game has an ending. It has 6 stages.
(but I admit some of them are too difficult)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

Great Theme interpretation!
I here there are six stages, but sadly the first one is already to hard for me :(
I also liked the atmosphere!

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

Excellent take on the theme. Great mechanics with well-designed visual/sound effects. Really fun to play from start to end. The pillar level is too hard; others are okay. Very well done.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Interesting! Simple but very cool!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01am

@lekochen
I agree with you. Actually I just decreased the difficulty of 5th stage("pillar" one) in post combo version.

@those who can't beat first stage:
You have to fill the entire energy bar. Just 'keeping alive' doesn't bring you anywhere.

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

A neat concept well executed. Graphics and sound are minimal but serve the game's theme very nicely.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53am

Very minimal, but I like it really much! Unfortunately it's too hard for me. Nice adaptation of the theme!

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57am

Cool game with neat graphics and fun gameplay. I really like the idea. I only would have preffered an endless style game where you're going to die a lot faster and your goal would be to stay alive as long as possible. But all in all a great game!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00am

Interesting concept and gameplay, but too hard in my opinion. Try as I might, I couldn't get past the first level.

erik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

This is a great demonstration of what can be done with an LD48 game. Very impressive.

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:17am

I played the harder and more challenging original compo version and I made it!
Wow, that's really a good interpretation and wow this is a miracle for an ending~ I love it!

fil00dl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:40pm

nice entry, really addictive, score is missing

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Loved the game! Very hard very quick, but it would definitely be my kind of game with a better learning curve!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Innovative, good looking and generally fun! A bit too hard at the start, so it could been good to be given a little more health at the beginning. :)

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

For a moment I felt like I can really save someone.

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

11/10!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Very clever! I really like this use of the theme!

Cyros says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great use of the theme!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Nice idea and fun gameplay! Also the mood is good. Well done!

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nicely done! Quiet challenging, love the music!

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Great Idea and well executed. Much like.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02pm

simple and addictive

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Very cool mechanic

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Very cool mechanic, great job!

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

So clever game! I think it's very innovative.

AmyDee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Tough until you get the hang of it, really love the concept. Worthy of expansion!

jmborden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I like the simplicity of this game. Nice work!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Truly interesting game that quite surprisingly puts you in a quite tense emotion. It makes you feel a bit bad when you lose. Nicely done!

LabOne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Very well, I think it is hard to survive with the heartbeat I made.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

INSANELY difficult, even the post-compo version I tried I could only get to level 2 after about a dozen tries.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I really really enjoyed this ^_^

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I really like the mechanics! Congrats!!

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:50am

Great interpretation of the theme, I love it. The whole concept is just really really cool. The game it's self is quite hard though. Great Work!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Multiple times I died as soon as it restarted. :/

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

I really like the concept, it's super tough and it's interesting how you have to plan your route far ahead to succeed. It also looks amazing, to stuck with an aesthetic and everything looks great and not out of place. The sounds, as simple as they are, are also fantastic.

I'd like to see a slow ramp-up to give the player some time to figure out the mechanics.

Overall, fantastic work!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Echoing the "fun but tough" comments.

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

Challenging, but not punishing.
Very well done!

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

The mood is great. The game reminds me of a sane version of WaveWave. I think this would work REALLY well as a single tap control mobile game.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

So sad, and so good for being so sad :(

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

Totally awesome!!!!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Very good game. I love the graphics. I wish there was a background music to build up more of the tension. I think it's a pretty original idea and very well executed. Congrats!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:28am

Very good. I like the idea. It's hard but good.

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49am

Very nice presentation and quite difficult I found.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I like the mood and the idea.
It's very difficulty because of having to many red line at the startpoint. Well done!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Crazy game and idea! Love it! 10/10

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

The idea is simple but work! Simple mechanism but it works. I really want to see it on mobile platform!

Troilk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Awesome game, very addictive, though very hard. I was only able to get to level with gates. Nice adaptation of the theme :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:48pm

awesome game! :D I love it

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:34am

Took me a while to work out how to play this but once I did, it suddenly became ridiculously addictive. Really interesting concept and a good take on the theme.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54am

This is a great game. This is my favorite entry so far. Also, if there was a category for rating "Rage Inducing" I would vote 5 stars there :). I finally gave up on the barrier level. I just couldn't make it through. So hard, but very very fun. Great entry.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:29am

5/5 innovation and theme. How the hell did you manage to make both an original gameplay and a such engaging concept... Very cool. Maybe having a very small zoom out, letting us see the border of the actual monitor screen, would be even more powerful and engaging.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very very cool, the gameplay fits perfectly with the story of the game and different gameplays for each level is also very cool !
Maybe this need a little bit music (something minimalist) and voice acting (respirating et etc..) But this is a jam right ? :)

Milktoast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:27am

Really difficult, but you can get into a flow. Simple and addictive. Well done.

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:39am

Interesting concept, it would be more fun if it was sped up a bit, but then again I'm just a fan of twitch games (hence mine)

Anyways, great concept!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:37am

The game is nicely done and works quite well. Well done ++

Devark says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29am

Really enjoyed this. Great idea for a game.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:42am

Wow. I would totally buy the app for this

dcolgan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:02am

Awesome game, really nice graphics and a very cool concept. And a compelling story to boot. Fairly challenging, but definitely a good experience.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:26am

Very nice, and cute ending. =)

InHelli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very good game! Minimal and intresting, cool idea =)

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:51am

15 mins to go really? Ahah, took me almost an hour!(played the compo version)
It's so difficult sometime, specially first phase I think (which is bad, cause it makes the goal less clear.)
I love how you got the theme. This is really interesting. The gameplay is really cool, it feels fun and the idea is so clever...

Good use of audio feedbacks too, that was important and you did it super well!!
It looks really cool also. Simple and clear for the player, but still coherent with the story. Good!
I love it really! :)

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:20am

Was fun, but stages are a bit too long without any variation.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23pm

This is really difficult! I like how the level changes as you get closer to the end. Good work!

OFF says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Really nice idea, i had the exact global idea but didn't figure out how to make a game with. Your basic is really nice.
It's a little bit difficult, and there is not enough variation but it's defintevely a great idea to make a bigger game, maybe with more audio, people speaking around the person or with an hospital noise.
Really perfect for the theme.
Great job.

renatopp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice! Very innovative game. Good Job

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Really fun entry. I might suggest giving a second or two at the start of each level without obstacles to give the player a second to see what the new obstacles are, but really well done. :)

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Wow, this was pretty hard. But excellent job and great concept!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Great job. Interesting mechanics !

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It is fun but I still couldn't beat it. I like the gameplay even when it is a bit too hard for my tasting.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very cool!love it!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Really fit the theme. Nice visuals by the way

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:49am

Very difficult and interesting game, Im not sure that word "fun" is appropriate here due to real mood of lifestraggling created.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Great game there. Enjoyed it alot...

Florent says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Makes me ragequit obviously ! Nice concept though !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]