Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ULTRA REKTAGON

by Harsay - Compo Entry

ULTRA REKTAGON

Survive by avoiding sequences of rectangles.

-- Controls --
Arrows - movement
F11 - toggle fullscreen
P - toggle music

-- Requirements --
Java

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#304Fun3.37
#331Overall3.42
#372Theme3.74
#450Innovation3.26
#491Audio2.83
#630Mood2.86
#915Graphics2.54

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:43pm

You're a genius! Love this so much! Perfect for a mobile platform :)

oranebeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

An amazing game! Deserves a mobile port!

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42am

It's almost a rage game, but not quite. I have not much else to say, it being quite trial and error-y.

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Lovely. The bit where you have to stay in the square as it moves is evil!

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Wish I could play with my mouse; it'd be easier, but you could compensate for that by making it faster paced and at least 50% more evil. ;p

Well done though, had some fun with this one up until I got rekt.

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Well, I had to have a go at this one. Looks like a great idea. I struggled to see the difference between black and very very dark grey though. A bit more contrast would have helped I think :)

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Really simple concept executed very well. I agree with the others that I could see this succeeding as mobile game. The only issue might be your finger covering up the dot. But maybe you don't even need the dot. It'd be more like trying to prevent hitting the walls with your finger.

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Well done! It plays very smooth, and the controls and animation feel awesome. I thought it was a little too difficult, but I'm old. When you have to move along with the square I couldn't do it, the movement acceleration of your dude doesn't match the square's movement.
Great job overall!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14am

In the end this turned into a game of memorizing the movement patterns. If there were more time to react to the movements, then it could be a fun challenge, but as it stands it's just a test of whether or not you've memorized the patterns, and if you can line your dot up in the right spots with no reference points. It's clean and polished, and with a little work on the movements, it could be a good avoider game, but right now it just feels like a chore to go through the motions to get to the next feature that will kill me so I can learn how to avoid it.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Trial&error game, love it! Very addictive, very well done!

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Simple, hard and addictive. It would be better if the levels were generated randomly.

check this one:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

Kwask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I liked this a fair amount, makes me think of those Simon Says toys.

zompi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Addicting game to some point, where I just lost ma patience ;) In fact it's a memory game because it moves so fast it is nearly impossible to react.
Also at some point arrows are too sensitive and don't give enaught of precision.

But overall it is a great idea and game is very moody. Worth keeping working on that :)

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:46pm

This game is a great idea. You should take it to multiple platforms. I loved the "get-recked" after you died. Great job.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I got rekt. =( Wish I could get further, this seems like it'd be a fun game to get really good at, but I'm just awful at this sort of thing.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Simple and nice game. Liked :)

joekinley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Ragequit. RAGEQUIT. R A G E Q U I T.
What a ragey little game. Also, wink wink, I can see where you got your inspiration from.

Awesome game. And the screenshots totally fit, I just couldn't get past that point there. It is so hard.

Unfortunately sometimes it is not just hard but feels unfair, as you quickly get the feeling it was the games fault that you died, because the rectangles decided to move so quickly all of a sudden.

But overall a pretty fun and nice game. Well done.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice game. The background and blocks should have more contrast, like different colors, and perhaps the game could be faster, because the beginning is very slow. Maybe this would work better if the sequences were randomized?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:18pm

now thats a great game! love it

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Nice game!

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:02pm

This is a great concept, nicely executed. Simple but very fun. Love it!

anael says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:36pm

well done, very simple design and it has this arcade feeling

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:31pm

It's absolutely amazing! I love `Get rekt` death sound. It's the best death message I've ever seen. :D

kaa says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:43am

Very good idea! Addictive, as was mentioned.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:47am

I think this would work fantastic as a mobile port, where you would use your finger or stylus in place of the ball completely, so you'd have to keep your finger/stylus from touching the walls instead. :)

This game is the epitome of the "trial by death" genre though. This is basically all it is, in essence. If anyone wants to know what a "trial by death" game is, REKTAGON is certainly the example to give.

Lynx says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:48am

I like the visual style of this game a lot, I can see your reference material for sure...but then again I used the same reference in my game...hahaha

Controls maybe a bit too twitch but, then again this a style of game that you have to learn and train upon to master.

Well done, I'd love to see an expanded version with more random generated levels of difficulty and patterns and maybe some cool monochromatic color schemes instead of the super dark black and grey

Wertle says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:36pm

This game was super hard, but not in a way that I felt like I could improve myself skill-wise. It's more or less a memory game, like hyper-minimilist battletoads :P The difficulty came in learning what the next thing to happen was going to be, then dying, then remembering that step when you got to it again, versus something like super hexagon where the difficulty is more much reactive to the next thing coming. I thought the feedback for things blinking in was a little binary, and was confusing at times when something was in its "i'm going to kill you" state versus "i can pass through you." The sounds helped here a lot but there are probably some more things you can do with the visuals to emphasize this, since it's a pretty important piece of feedback in the game. Black bars on gray background are a little tricky to see. Otherwise, nice work for compo!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Nicely packaged and a really good take on memory themed games! I agree that this would work well for mobiles because of the touch screen, with arrow keys the controls are really a bit too jumpy. Gotta love the robot voice also!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

nice work

Hellequin says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Love this game! Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]