Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Orb Fetch: GOLD

by the31 - Compo Entry

This is your chance to explore the caves, grab the orbs, and get out! They're in demand, so hurry up and get to the last reserve of these power-holding orbs!

*** I highly suggest maximizing the window! ***

--- How to play ---

Controls:
Right/Left: Rotate the ship
Spacebar: Use the Normal Propulsion Device
Backspace: Return to last checkpoint
1/2/3/4: Access help sheets

Instructions are in game, just press the number keys to access them.

--- Technical info ---

I didn't have time to learn OpenAL for sound, but there's no sound in space anyway, right?

The game should be cross-platform, but I don't have machines to test it on. It needs Mono, but the native libraries should be included!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#283Fun3.39
#392Innovation3.35
#472Mood3.00
#529Overall3.22
#634Humor2.38
#676Graphics2.89
#1039Theme3.06

Comments

Norgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37am

Whee, got to the end. Pretty hard to get over the instinct to treat it like a normal thruster, and oh man that level where you're surrounded by spikey things is harsh. Fun and interesting mechanic though.

Is the link to the theme that it's all sort of one screen that you're just going through layers of through the distorty bits?

the31 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Congrats! Thanks for playing. Yeah, the theme connection is that the player's coordinates never leave the rectangle that is the screen--the distorting warp things just move you into a different map.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Wow, well done! Physics platforming with a strange movement restriction, love it.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Really really hard to control.

No sound.

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I do love the idea of the control scheme, but it's properly hard to get used to it. Could maybe have done with some easier training levels to practice with and help guide you with how to use the mechanics?

I did enjoy it though :) Really nice for a comp game. And I really liked the art style.

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I'm at the "end" of the first level, at the bottom, at the healing area, and I can't go any further left. Seems like I'm totally stuck?

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

sad to have no sound, the game seems to need a song.
but interesting, difficult and audacious gameplay.

the31 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Sometimes you've got to move backwards to get the velocity you need. One of the help pages is meant to help with that, although I can't blame anyone for not understanding.

I should have put in easier levels, for sure. It's hard to explain the mechanics right, especially when rocket mechanics are so intuitive and visually similar. Would have been nice to make sure that everyone could see the warp effect even without a full understanding of the mechanics.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Finished it, missed one orb, but no idea where...
Nice mechanic and a better representation of the theme than many games I've played so far!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

The controls were really fun once I got use to them. This was a nice game. Well done.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:10am

Wow, the propulsion mechanic is pretty clever! Didn't thought it was too difficult to understand it, but I can see why people might have problems with it. I got all orbs, can I use my newfound wealth to fund the development of a full version of this concept? :P
Too bad it didn't had some audio to go along with it. Still, I loved it! Well done :D

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:30am

Really well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07am

Really interesting game, I like how it's not the default rocket mechanics, but that you actually need a wall to move. Graphics could of course be better, but they do their job (: Nicely done!

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:47am

I find the controls interesting (even if a little difficult maybe), it's a nice twist on the usual physics driven games.

Sometimes I have a hard time when I have to climb a wall to jump over while I'm too close to it, but the overall experience is pretty rewarding once you get the drift :D

ratking says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

A truly great entry. It's really sad you couldn't add sound and music, as it would have made the already good experience more awesome.
After a short phase of familiarization I really liked the controls. I don't think I would have tried it, but it really works well! My only gripe is the low contrast between background and player - but that should be an easy fix. :-)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Interesting! :O Love the feel of this game!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:54pm

hard to control first...but got it anyway..
nice game..

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:57pm

very interesting game, really fun to play! Hard though but very rewarding.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:56pm

This was more fun than I was expecting. It suffers from a lack of good initial training segments. The first obstacle, getting over that wall, requires more mastery of this bizarre propulsion system than should be required right away. A bit more time to ease into the system would make those first few levels a lot less frustrating. Once you get the hang of it though, it's pretty fun.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:18am

That was a super neat twist on the ol' thruster-momentum game genre (is that an actual genre anyway?). Very unique. Well done!

Diet Chugg says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:16am

I got all the Orbs!!! Well done game. It's frustrating but fun at the same time.

voxel says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Excellent, original, groundbreaking, breathtaking. That is a list of words.

Some of them apply to this fine game.

Gentle pacing, plentiful checkpoints help to overcome the frustration lesser pilots will no doubt experience. I'd prefer just a single health point to encourage not just bumping into spikes willy-nilly.

Also: you can do some fun things if you never let go of the rotate button.

Sterling effort, top marks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]