Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

1 Screen Hero

by zerocreativity1 - Jam Entry

You are an adventurous hero, and it's your duty to explore this purple dungeon to find treasures and fight monsters. Be warned, you are cursed and can't die. Every time you attempt to end your life, you keep coming back to a completely new, but similar experience until you can defeat all the tough levels. Battle your way through 45 randomly selected levels out of 90 different combinations.

Movement - arrows or WASD

Attack - Z or Mouse Button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#4Audio(Jam)4.43
#5Fun(Jam)4.17
#8Overall(Jam)4.25
#9Graphics(Jam)4.67
#16Theme(Jam)4.42
#81Mood(Jam)3.79
#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#245Humor(Jam)3.15

Comments

misto423 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

This is really well done all around. Nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Really great. The graphics are cute and the idea is great.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Very nice. Well polished. I think I saw a bug where a chest wouldn't open.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

Nice! Liked the random levels, but didn't understand well the mood.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45am

Fun game! It looks cool when you change floors, good job!

Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

This is fun and the graphics look great!

Pcholt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very nice - top rated! Excellent graphics and attention to the theme.

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08pm

IT'S HIGH FIVE STARS!!! I Loved it all!! overall

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Really well done!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09pm

I loved it. Really polished, beautiful and interesting game. Not your standard roguelike, but with some added unique features. And the music is just gorgeous.

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

cool game!

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Nicely done! Well rounded, polished, solid on graphics, nice way to deal w the theme.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I really love the art of this! The concept is awesome too, well done!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I love this game! Great audio and graphics, and the gameplay feels smooth and polished.

Rulrite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07pm

This is really cool; it's one of the most polished games I've seen so far and (more importantly) it's great fun to play. You guys did an awesome job! I definitely think you should take a little time to perfect it post-jam - it wouldn't take much effort to turn it into a short but publishable game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

This is really pleasant game which is polished. A nice entry ++

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Nice artwork, good idea. I just think the level generation mechanic could be explored a little more.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Maybe not the most original game I have played, but still very entertaining and polished.

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Wow, you got a perfect score out of me. This was truly phenomenal. I loved everything about it.

pontooncity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very well done.

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Great job! Very well done game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39pm

This game is near perfect. Great music, art, design...everything. A lot of fun. You sure you didn't just port a current in dev mobile game over? :) It feels that good and polished. Ready to ship. A+++

trenchgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Cool idea. Great execution!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

This is super polished! The audio is particularly stand-out with headphones! Nicely done team.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:51am

REally well done! Once of my favorites so far. Awesome!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I really love it, especcially the music, so tense. The character is also nice

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:42pm

This was polished and really well made. I can't find anything negative! full score!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Just super polished from all angles. If you keep working on this, I'd love to have the movement speed increased just a bit. Fantastic work!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Solid game! it's pretty fun to play! i like the graphics and the map transitions! Great job!

I think i'll come back here to play more!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:17pm

nice, interesting gameplay and cute visuals

recursor says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:28pm

This is great.I think the music, which is fantastic, needs to be a bit lower and the sound effects need to be a bit louder. I absolutely love how you change the rooms around with the tiles and the graphics are fabulous.

LMT says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Insane graphics and really awesome gameplay. Best game I've played so far.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:32am

This is basically a finished game. It needs a bit of touching up and polish (more detailed means of handling a tutorial, better indication of power ups, learning curve, better difficulty scale, etc), and more content (more/different types of dungeons, monsters, items, leaderboards, ways a player can check their score, etc), but once that's dealt with this could be easily sold on an online marketplace.

It's quite addictive and I found myself wanting to come back to it over and over. :)

Harsay says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:43am

Looks, sounds and plays great. Sometimes the random "exit tile" choosing felt unfair.

wooltech says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:59am

Graphics and audio are brilliant. There were a few spots where it got fiddly trying to go down a 1-tile-wide corridor, but otherwise very smooth.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Here i'm playing again!

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:34am

Very polished game overall!I like the time limit and it's fun to collect things :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:09am

My god, the polish! This is an audio visual treat for sure. The level selection mechanic is really cool, although the difficulty curve is a little off. This is like release level quality though, nicely done

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:18am

Sick game man. I had a ton of fun playing through this. The time pressure in addition to the randomly selected level exits add so much to this experience which would otherwise be a still pretty solid action arena combat game. The level design was fantastic and I am hugely impressed that you were able to design 90 rooms given the time constraints. Every level felt different and there was even variety in the way that the individual levels played out mixing combat and movement puzzles (?) The only complaint I have is that the art didn't clearly show the attack hit boxes for both the hero character and the enemies. The art and music was fantastic and really show the level of polish you guys were able to add to the game. Overall I am envious of your abilities! Thank you for making this game.

Stending says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Perfect.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:38am

Brilliant game. Loved it! Only need to add a few more juice (I recommend screen shakes), then it's good for real-world release.

Lynx says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:38am

BEYOND AMAZING and 100% polished game you have here!
There's not a single thing I would change other than I didn't understand you stand on the platform and go to the next level when the timer is below 1 second.... I thought maybe the tile wasn't working right at first.

But that is a clever mechanic for encouraging collection and completion of rooms instead of speed runs for survival

Well done!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Outstanding entry! I absolutely loved it. I beat all of the levels! And I think I was down to 1 heart at a couple of points. The only critiques that I have are I want more! I would have liked a boss fight at the end, and maybe an indication of how close i was to finishing. But it was absolutely fun, I loved learning what everything did, I loved the designs of each of the levels. Just all around superb entry! Awesome job you guys. :D

Saf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:46pm

One of the best LD31 games i have played so far!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:03pm

The animations are really well done. Level looks very lively and fun to explore. Really nice game!!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Pretty damn amazing game. Loved the graphics and audio, very polished. The gameplay was very fluid and satisfying and the transitions between the levels are very cool. I could imagine this one going into a rogue-like direction, with maybe a shop now and then to upgrade your character, or something like that. Really great job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]