Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER FUN FAMILY PRIMETIME TELEVISION SIMULATOR

by Random Seed Games - Jam Entry

<<Feel free to post your score in the comments!!!>>

Have you ever noticed how difficult it is to keep the entire family happy on family TV night? Well, now that mundane activity comes with a score counter!

Change the channels to keep everyone happy (including yourself!), because the family member with the lowest happiness brings down your total score :(

Click like mad on your family members to keep their attention firmly planted on the TV. Sometimes even you can get distracted by the enticing daily newspaper.

Features:
-16 unique channels with 64 shows (and still nothing to watch)
-Interactive remote with 90% useless buttons (just like real life)
-Questionably appropriate advertisements
-Broken clock
-Ungrateful children
-Bored wife

Art/Audio by Spencer Owen (@sowen014), Programming by Tyler Owen (@tylerowen), and Music by Clark Aboud (@clarkaboud).

-Fixed a bug where the tweet button was including the incorrect url to share the game (gameplay not affected)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#41Humor(Jam)3.93
#74Innovation(Jam)3.89
#98Theme(Jam)4.07
#236Audio(Jam)3.35
#274Overall(Jam)3.48
#290Fun(Jam)3.33
#295Mood(Jam)3.33
#380Graphics(Jam)3.53

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

ParaPup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41am

That's really good very fun but does it end?

x70x says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

@ParaPup, yes, it ends after 4 minutes. You can tweet your score at the end.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05pm

For some reason this reminds me of sims. Is it a feature or fault that I couldn't change volume of TV? Anyway great job!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice idea.Cool graphics. family animations would be nice.

udo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

That was fun! I still couldn't score above 0 in the end though, but Mom and 50% of the children were pretty happy ;) Loved the voice work.

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Love the concept, Unique and well exucuted!
Fits within the theme, graphics are well made, sounds are funny. On the whole great entry! good job.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Cool idea!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

155 - is that good? Really fun game, especially ads (on TV).

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

You did something interesting with the theme! Well done, I love it! :)

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I just love it !!!

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Another awesome idea and really cool sounds :D

victorljs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice idea.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Interesting idea, I love the shadow on the remote and the 3d movement on it. I think it would have been cooler if the images for the screen had been your own and not snapshots from films :) good entry though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:45pm

@DesignerNap The original plan was to create all the show images ourselves, but we simply didn't have the time. It took more than 4 hours just to gather the snapshots we have now. There are over 200 unique frames spread over 64 shows and 16 channels and the family members' likes/dislikes are matched reasonably with what you might expect. If we ever come back to this idea we would love to do unique parodies of each show.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Interesting take on the theme, I can see a lot of work went into this one! The remote control interaction was really well handled.

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:32am

That's silly and awesome. I love that you have to point and click on the remote.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:36am

This was fun and a good take on the theme.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

What an awesome idea! The remote feels really satisfying... Great work!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:21pm

hey, i met you (or at least one of you) at MGDS last summer (i had the arcade machine)! good to see you jamming! i love the idea, definitely felt like the Sims a bit with the charlie brown teacher vocals. very funny, lot of work with the different channels, and the remote functioned really well. take care, hope to play lacuna passage soon :P

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:26pm

@MrShoestore Thanks! I just went and played your entry too. If I remember correctly you are a backer of our Kickstarter so you should have access to the demo that we recently put out (that you already played at MDGS). We enjoyed taking a break from LP development to take part in this.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:40pm

20 was my score ... jaja, it was you recording the sounds .... funny ... i think it has some bugs ... once the score reached 20 it never went down nor up again :D ... rated high on Humor :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:45pm

@Pulsatronic Your family members were probably distracted from the TV and not earning you points. The game directs you to click on them to get their attention back. The game also gives you a lower total score if there is a large discrepancy between the scores of different family members. The family member with the lowest happiness brings down your total score.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Ahahaha this was rather silly fun!

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I got 260.
That game is fun!
I like the distracted mechanics. It's annoying when the distracted guy like the program, but really useful when it's boring program.
Like, mom was distracted while there was football on tv and then all the other got distracted for Mom TV :D
Really nice idea.

It doesnt feel so intuitive that you have to touch the +/- buttons to change the channel (I first tried with number but it seems it was always the same channel)

It's cool, there's lot of good stuff in this. Good you didn't limited your game to the concept and try to put some "gameplay" in it with score and everything.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:17pm

@regisRquoi Thanks! Yes, the distractions can help or hurt you.

The number buttons do work, but you have to input the actual station number of the channel you want to go to. I can see how it might be an improvement to just have the channels go from 1 to 16 though instead of randomized channel numbers.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Really fun quirky entry, got a highscore of 170 so was pretty happy about that. Liked the tv dialogue, thought it was pretty funny at times so did get distracted just checking what was on. The view also worked well in putting the player in the position of sitting watching tv with the family.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Very original idea. Really funny tv shows.

Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:04pm

This is great. I played once trying to get a good score and then once just to flip through the channels.

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I felt like I was watching tv, just as annoying. good stuff

Kitch says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:11am

Really cool implementation/gamification of my everyday activities. :) Really liked the control interface.. Really well done. Thanks!

Alter says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:36am

Interesting idea! Very nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]