Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Murder and Snow

by igneousmoon - Compo Entry

Snowy (The Snowwoman) invited you to her LD party, unfortunately she was murdered by one of the attending LD’ers.

Only YOU can solve the crime.

When looking for clues, don't forget to look secret rooms, also the location of items can be just as important as information you gain from them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#116Humor3.38
#255Mood3.29
#281Theme3.83
#356Graphics3.40
#445Overall3.29
#450Innovation3.26
#699Fun2.94

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46am

Twist ending!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Needlessly slow and since I could just guess who the murderer was from the start, I did, and I won.

I didnt have to actually collect evidence.

Also, it would be a lot better if it wasnt the same murderer every time.

Keep working on this and it will be really cool. Its a good idea.

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Short and sweet. I love the art style too, it's really unique. Great work :)

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

What a tweest. Unfortunately I came to it through blind guessing. I think I found all the clues but was unable to come to the correct conclusion from that. Still pretty nice little mystery game.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

This was really awkward to play. The character moved too slow for the amount of trekking around you had to do, the controls felt clunky, and the map was hard to read as far as what could be interacted with.

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52am

This is a pretty clever entry. I liked the art.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52am

Well done, I liked the idea of it being yourself and instead of trying to find out who did it, you are trying to find someone to frame.

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

The art style brought me to your game and I love it, its simple yet really visually pleasing to me somehow. The puzzle solving it really cool, and a lot of the interact messages on things like people's computers made me chuckle. I loved the endings too. Good job, a surprising amount of content for 48 hours.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

That was fun, I should have anticipated the ending more. :-)

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

When looking for clues, don't forget to look secret rooms, also the location of items can be just as important as information you gain from them.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39am

very interesting game! i like the story

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55am

There was not enough connection between the evidence I was finding and the responses from the NPCs, or any way to review the evidence you have. The ending doesn't make much sense, as there wasn't enough evidence in any direction. The art style looks great, though.

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13am

The character is too slow. Give us a post compo with a faster character ! I have enough time to forget what the first dude say me before I reached the second ^^
Cool graph and cool story.

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:53pm

You should have had Dezzles do it.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:39am

I was surprised at the end!

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Cool game. I avoided blind guessing and gathered clues first. I think a few times I came into the second half of a conversation because I'd found an item before talking to someone, but that's okay.

I suspected the ending but it was cool anyway!

Not a lot of replay but that's just fine for an LD, it was a fun one-and-done and I think I found all the interactions in the game so no replay is ok. Finding the hidden room was nice.

Nice job. Pace of walking was tiny bit slow imo.

sorlok says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:52am

Very solid. I like the whole... er... narrator perspective. Would like to see more, and also more variety in terms of the murderer, etc.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:50am

Firstly, I love the idea of a cluedo board style game, it's a really interesting use of the theme, and adds a new twist to mystery solving. Ideally, there'd be multiple puzzles and solutions, but designing a system like that in 48 hours would be a tough ask. Increasing the speed of the character would make the game a lot more fun though, and not having to close pop-up boxes every time you inspect something would also be a huge quality of life improvement.

I did like the humour, even though I don't know any of the people it was referencing. One question though, why would a snowman's scarf be warm?

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:06am

Movement speed was slow. But the game intrigued me and i kept playing until i discovered everything. Good idea, congrats!

voxel says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I won't lie. I spent a long time playing this, pushing people around and wondering who has a house with so many bathtubs. I also appreciated the highly accurate representation of Wonkyth: him being the only resident to not have been working on a game. GG would play again

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:07am

Good concept for a okay game. Nice puzzle game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]