Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Final Swap

by blackmagic - Jam Entry

Final Swap reloads the concept of final fantasy's active time battle!
Defend your healer, attack the monsters and take advantage of your blackmage to successfully p0wn the final boss!

Your character's actions are automatic, you only have to place the right character in front of the right monster.
Select a character, then move it left or right from his position.
Take care of your gauge as well as your opponent's ones.
Manage your team, and you'll be victorious !

The sun and moon represent the difficulty. At night, monsters are much stronger.
Elements can boost your elemental attacks or defences, but beware that your foe can also take advantage of it.

Thanks you for playing!

Dev: BlackMagic ~ David Elahee
Art: Gyhyom ~ Guillaume Breton
Sound & Music: ElMobo ~ Frédéric Motte

edit : I had to do a new build 5 minutes after submitting to remove god mode...

hints & tips : press & hold the F key to speed the game up !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#7Audio(Jam)4.27
#15Graphics(Jam)4.65
#102Overall(Jam)3.79
#123Innovation(Jam)3.74
#127Mood(Jam)3.65
#229Theme(Jam)3.86
#306Fun(Jam)3.31
#492Humor(Jam)2.61

Comments

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

This is so fuckin'awesome and beautiful \o/ !

March says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice game. Great graphics.
I had problems at the beinning to figure out how to play.
It takes a little time... :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Neat concept!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

We did not have time to do a tutorial, we were a little too ambitious :)

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Definitely one of the best looking games I've seen in the LD ever. The gameplay is also a good take on the theme. Very impressive!

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I saw the game on a post and started to follow you to see when the game was being released. Not disappointed. Amazing graphics, but I am not comfortable with the combat mecanics, IMO it takes too long for actions so only a small balance issue, besides that, I think is an amazing game, great work :)

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Just as a start, I LOVE Twin Motion Games. It's been a few years since I've seen you guys around. Good memories :)

So I reeeaaallly wanted to like this more than I did. Everything is great, but I was deeply held back by how slow the progress bars were. I actually looked away while things were loading. I think if the speed was double or tripled it would be very engaging. The concept and execution were great. Glad to run into this!

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

Great work on graphics and sound, nice and smart concept, but the game is a bit slow.

dlowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06am

Impressive! Very stylish, and a very cool concept. Thanks for the game :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Awesome game! The active time bar could fill faster, the game would be more dynamic. Very cool, good job guys!

01101101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36pm

As others have mentioned, having a shorter waiting time would probably make the game more dynamic and enjoyable. That said, it's already pretty fun, especially once you've taken the time to figure out how the whole thing works. Graphics and music are great, and the day/night switching is a nice touch (does it impact gameplay btw?)

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Really cool premise and well executed for the time available :)! Even though I didn't understand how the elemental rings were effecting anything or what some of the moves were, the icons helped make some things self-explanatory and it was a bunch of fun, great job :)! The music sound and art are also brilliant.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Quite a neat entry! The wait time between actions was a little so, but other than that nice job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:51pm

What a wonderful concept for the game! That is a really innovative gameplay mechanic!

It takes a really long time for everyone to charge up. If it moved faster it would have been more fun. However it looks and sounds gorgeous and it's a great idea for a game! Great job you guys!!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Great game!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nice game, I would have like to play more BUT it's waayyyyy to sloooow. Please publish a post combo with speed x4 (at least). Also, sometimes it seems that swapping two heroes was not working correctly, not sure why.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Really cool RPG! Amazing art style!

RadStar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Really cool music and graph!
Interresting gameplay as well. A bit slow though and I didn't understand what were the elements around
the game for.

Valandre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

A solid entry. Music is really impressive, and graphics too!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice entry, like always. Good graphics, good audio, and good game mechanism. A little slow, but it worth a good old five. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:31am

great game - like the game play and i added to my faves

Carduus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:01am

Very nice game concept! GFX are awesome.
The perfect killer app for smartphone (if you put a tutorial :D )

feizenbara says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:39am

Looks like a fun core gameplay. It can be good for a mobile "collect tons of characters to beat a map of stages" game.
As other mentioned, main flaws are lack of tuto and slow gauge, but everything else is great!

Namide says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:45am

Very good game!
The ambiance is so coherent: Music, sound, universe, graphic design...
And an original concept!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Cool game, :D Love the graphics.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Actually, for those who find the game too slow, you can press and keep the F button of the keyboard to make the game faster. Thank you all for the comment!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Awesome and beautiful game! Nice graphics! I like the gameplay!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very interesting game! Nice graphics and good gameplay!

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:24pm

The game is awesome :) Great job!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Awesome game, well done artwork, good music, nice gameplay, just a little bit slow.

Nice job! =D

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33pm

The concept was quite cool, and the art style is amazing!!
But I found the colors for selection slightly confusing. Would be a bit better if the selected character stepped forward or something.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Oh god those graphics look amazing!

Todnut says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Wow! Nice! Love the style. The mechanics are excellent. Move icons take a while to figure out.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Well done game with lots of potential. Looks and sounds pretty, but the gameplay is waaaaay too slow. And I never understood how the different staff icons worked or how elements were used. Wish the warrior would attack more instead of spending countless or turns blocking attacks.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:54pm

It's an awesome concept, and the graphics are super great! Good luck on future games :D!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I love the beautiful end song.
Took me a while to figured out what to do.
Congratz, well made.

runvs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Very impressive!
You really got the feel of those FF titles! The music is super awesome (I really dig it, thx for offering an extra download!) and graphics and visual effects are also very good.
The battlesystem hast some inherent depth after you get used to it.
One suggestion would be to make units change position by drag&drop, this would feel more natural to me, but does (of course) not affect playability.
The Speedup button is a great advantage!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:34pm

That speedup button is really essential, some stages of the game can really take ages. I wasn't always sure what a specific action would do (especially with the white mage).
My warrior and black mage died rather quickly (it's a hard game, ok), and only left with my white mage I still managed to advance a couple of waves, she someone just wouldn't die. But she just makes nearly no damage. (Would have liked a restart button right there.)
It seems letting one character die is a helpful stategy, since when all three slots are full, somebody always has to take the hit, but when you only have two, you can dodge them. (just involves a lot of clicking).

jojocanard says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Bravo David

karol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:46pm

A really beautiful game. I liked it, but I think I would enjoy it more if the gameplay was a bit faster.

deepnight says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very good entry, with excellent tracks & visuals! Anyway the gameplay has a few flaws: really too slow & too many shields. This could be easily fixed I guess :)
Good job guys!

Aske says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I was working, then opened the game in a new tab without going to it, but just continiued working. After five minutes I realized that I was listening to some great music, but I was playing it myself.

moral of the story: GREAT FKN MUSIC!!!

then i played it. REALLY GOOD GAME!!!!!!!!

BroCade says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:26am

Excellent entry! just needs a bit of tweaking to make the gameplay less slow. Good Job!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:36am

Just beautiful *_* great art, great music, and a really neat gameplay concept. My only really qualm is that the progression is rather slow: there's a lot of waiting for things to happen involved. Things do gradually get more hectic, but you're not really juggling things around until 10-15 minutes in.

That being said I didn't fully understand how the symbols around the outside related to the correspondingly coloured spells... well I sort of understand, but it wasn't 100% clear to me. Now I'm just nick-picking though :P

allurious says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I really like the concept, the graphics and the music - so awesome! The bars take way too long to fill though and since you can't choose your actions, you end up sitting there for a long time.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Sweet graphics! :D

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:18pm

The game is really beautiful and the idea is great. Perfect battle music for it as well! The only problem is that it takes too long to attack your enemies and to finish a level, so you are most of the time waiting and looking at the bars. I'm actually 'playing' while writting this... waiting until all the enemies are dead :P
Anyway I think you made something really good. Congratulations! :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I can't quite work out what I'm supposed to be doing - like why sometimes the bar goes up and they don't attack and what the attacks/ defenses are, but I'm not too familiar with this kind of game. It looks reeeeally nice though.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:03am

this game has a real innovative concept, I got bored fast though; because I did not know what the mage abilities actually does. also I didn't know if the game is endless or what (which is annoying)

I think this game can make much more out of this concept; you just need to decrease the luck-dependency and increase the tactical sense in the game. maybe a story, online dueling... there are just so many ideas. as a fellow Ludum darer I solute you. you've done a great job.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:05am

This game is so f*cking epic that I can't even breath!
Omg well done! All is great, music, graphics, mechanics.
WELL DONE GUYS!

Dexyne says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Nice game with beautiful graphics and sounds.
A bit of time is needed to understand the game.

Kill the boss with only the mage!
Think it was not possible.

One of the best game I played on the Ludum Dare.

vidarn says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I love how you managed to distill the final fantasy battles to this extremely simplified version but still keep the complexity and the tactics. Amazing!
The graphics and the music were outstanding and I loved every minute of the game :D

Frump says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:11am

Really well done. I didn't quite understand why my guys could be attacked diagonally though when I couldn't attack diagonally. I think block came up as an option far too frequently as well.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:07am

Truly impressive arts, music and well... everything. Kudo guys. The care for details (like the cycle day/night or animations) and the overall polish is astonishing regarding the short amount of time. Concept itself is very interesting and get richer as we progress through the game. Even knowing motions tween, I'm much impressed.

I got one complaint (yeah) : the game starts real slow. Way to slow giving the fact that I needed 15 sec to learn the basics and the first two fight took me several minutes (mostly waiting). Anyway, you clearly nailed it... Wait! What about the theme ? x)

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:11am

And here I am, missing the hints on F key...

el-pepi says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:21am

Very creative! I like the mechanics, graphics and music!
The first battles should be a little faster in my opinion, those bars take too long to fill up.

zatyka says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:31am

This was very nice. The graphics and audio were top notch. The game mechanics were challenging and strategic. My only complaint is how slow the battles are. I think it would be a much more potent experience if you doubled the speed.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:31am

Finished! So my real complaint would be: I would have preferred a swap mechanic using mouse drag&drop, it would be more efficient and intuitive. The "2 clicks to swap" control isn't very convenient after all, especially for quick decisions. I can't figure out why you chose it? Plus I've often been mislead thinking I had a character selected, then tried to swap, and it didn't work cause nothing was actually selected.
P.S : sorry for triple posts

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:16am

So awesome game!
Great graphics and ost

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:50am

Thanks you all for the comments!
>SoulGame, we tought about the drag&drop but we were afraid that we'd lost much time to do it right. It's clearly the thing that we'll do for an extended version... with a x4 timer... and less shield!
T_T ludum....

elvaq says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:14am

Pretty nice stuff. Graphics are especially gorgeous! As others have said I would have appreciated some kind of game system intro. Even just a few sentences on the web page where the game is would go a long way.
Overall I felt the game could be quite tedious. This was probably because of my lack of understanding of the game rules but there were many long stretches where I wasn't doing anything but admiring the nice music.
Heheh.. very good effort for a very ambitious game though!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:40am

Great idea and amazing realisation, great job!!

Maybe I played bad but I thought this was really long sometimes :/ Maybe a button to make the time faster would be even greater ! ^^

spotco says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:00am

Really interesting idea, but a couple of pretty killer execution mistakes.
First, was way too slow and had no idea why sometimes the warrior would shield/mage casts random magic. The game I imagine could but a lot more exciting sped up several times.
And second, the swap worked in mysterious way. Does the purple select mean I can swap to them? Also clicking on a hero didn't always create the "purple box". There's no reason that shouldn't have been a more intuitive click+drag kind of thing.

GFM says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:02am

Graphics and audio are top notch. It reminded me more Lufia II than FF, though... XD

The 'F' to speed up was a great idea! I was going to complain about that when I read that on the description. :)

And that dumb warrion! Stop defending!! The best defense is the attack!! >__<

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:18am

You got a GREAT start here! You have got some really good content so far and some good feedback above. Mostly I agree with increasing the pace of the game. Also maybe make it so you can skip the current cued ability.

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:31am

Holding 'F' was better, probably too fast. @elvaq nailed it when he said it was 'tedious'. Having control of the pace makes it so. It takes away the tension, for me at least. Still very impressed however!

codeapparat says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:54am

Art, Sound and Music are absolutely incredible! The weak point is the core combat mechanic, IMO. Waiting for the desired abilities to queue up is mostly boring. Elements and daytime were seemingly meant to spice it up, but are pretty much meaningless in the end, because you don't have control over abilities and thus have to roll with whatever comes up next anyway. I get that you wanted to do something innovative, but traditional ability selection would have been simply more fun, in my opinion.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:17am

It would be awesome if your attacks had hover text or something, so you could see what going to happen next.

lemmily says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I don't really understand how the game works, my guy is in front and has the sword but doesn't do anything? the shield also doesn't seem to do anything. But then the sword worked finally. I have no idea O_o;; It's a cool idea and the art is nice though

Erhune says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:00am

Twintails ftw!

I found the selection had some quirks (or maybe it's just my brain not managing to make the difference between hovered and selected), but aside from that the game was very enjoyable, albeit a bit slow in the beginning....

barryrowe says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Good job, guys! This has a combination of good programming, art, and music! Thank god for the "F" key.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:39pm

This was quite enjoyable for a while, but it was also pretty slow - it took an age to get your white & black mage, and by then I was starting to get bored. It would be nice if this were used as the fight system in an RPG, but since it was just battle and nothing else, it got old quite quickly. Graphics and music were great, and mechanic was definitely fun, it was just repetitive after a while.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:26am

Awesome entry! The graphics are really great, the gameplay is really smart and the music...is now part of my music gallery xD

Overall, one of the best entries so far xD

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Interesting concept! Think you could have taken it much further if you had time...

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I don't know how the next attack is selected, or if I have a way to influence it, but for the second monster (when you still have only the warrior) I got the shield 5 or 6 times in a row... so I just had nothing to do. Not the best first contact with the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]