Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blind Maze

by FlashRocks - Compo Entry

Navigate through the spinning maze with limited visibility. Watch out for portals which bring you back to the start. WARNING: uses flashing colours and spins the view.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#776Audio2.30
#970Mood2.40
#1077Innovation2.25
#1128Graphics2.05
#1151Theme2.60
#1168Fun2.00
#1208Overall2.05
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45am

Makes me dizzy!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

Hi there. Nice torch/lighting effect. Found it too easy to die... run into portal, avoid portal open chest - portal appears, die without avoid chance. Liked the music.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Good job! The maze was well constructed and I liked the expanding field of view, but I definitely don't think the spinning added to the experience. Dying was also way too easy (huge square collision boxes), and too punishing for how easy it was. I also don't understand why you didn't mention that all treasure chests were required in the first place? Why does the rotation speed double after it tells you that?

zopper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33pm

this triggered my epilepsy and i went into a coma

that being said, pretty good game

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:33pm

It was too frustrating. The spinning is unnecessary.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Good lighting and some nice level design, but the spinning made the controls very hard to use.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Interesting concept. I too found it real easy to die. The music was a good match for the spinning maze. Got real interesting remembering the controls were backwards when the maze is upside down :)

Bloxri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59pm

The game is pretty interesting, and fun to play. However, the graphics leave something to be desired, and the collision boxes were way to big, making it very difficult. The spinning is, I believe, a distastful and unnecessary addition to the game. Regardless, still fun. I enjoyed the lighting system, and I think it's clever how you implemented it. Well done, and good luck in voting!

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:39am

I keep moving up and left without touching anything, so I can't play or rate :/

sorlok says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:23am

Fun and cool, but the fact that the controls don't rotate with the view makes it tricky. Also, "bouncing" off a wall and back into a portal is no fun; feels like a cheap kill. Neat idea overall, though, and well programmed! Good job!

Ossi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:22am

Cool idea, and pretty challenging. I'm not entirely sure if I like the way the character controls with the directions being reversed when the level spins completely around. Nice mood though, the music and visibility make it feel a bit creepy :P Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]