Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Standwich

by Lawls - Compo Entry

---Introduction---

In a post apocalyptic world, zombies have monopolized all sandwich making ingredients.

But this will not stop you from making the sandwiches you desire!

---Guide---
1. Shoot zombies to kill them, so they drop sandwich ingredients.
2. Line up the ingredients for desired sandwich in a line.
3. Use your mouse to place your sandwich making line over desired ingredients.
4. Let go of the mouse to grab the ingredients. If the order of ingredients (according to distance from you) make the desired sandwich, you get a point!

Note: The order of ingredients in the middle of the sandwich does not matter.

---Controls---

WASD to move
Space to shoot
Mouse to aim
Mouse click to collect ingredients and make a sandwich!
Note: Ingredient order in the middle doesn't matter

---Notes---

Text sloppily doesn't scale, so smaller resolutions beware!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#300Humor2.91
#557Theme3.60
#698Innovation2.94
#967Overall2.77
#1028Mood2.27
#1045Fun2.44
#1111Graphics2.11

Comments

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

Nice little game! I couldn't figure out how to make the sandwich though...

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

I like how you slowly build a sort of "fortress of food"!
However, sandwiches are so hard to make! I only managed one...

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Whats a man gotta do for some grape Jelly! Cool little game haha.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38am

Not bad :3

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

Cool idea, surprisingly difficult. Would be nice to know what the zombies are holding before you kill them though.

I was having a few performance issues. HTML5 gaming is still in its infancy.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

I got two sandwiches before being trapped by an encroaching mound of food and devoured by zombies.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01am

Great little game, I think that food shouldn't act as a barrier to the zombies however, as you can just wall yourself off from the zombies.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04am

nice little game. It took me a while to figure out exactly how the selecting mechanic worked. (I thought you click and drag ) I think this would be a lot more fun if everything moved faster; it took forever to maneuver enemies into the right positions between bread slices :)
also, dragging a line over ingredients deletes them even if it doesn't make a sandwich, kinda annoying.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

Couldn't get it to run. Firefox - just a blank screen. Chrome says something about webgl. Probably my ancient graphics card's fault.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I made sandwiches. I enjoyed it.

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Ufff... This is dificult. I liked the "inteligence" of the zombies, and making food walls, but sandwiches are dificult!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Hm, it's an interesting idea...But when I play it, it just seems kinda frustrating. Too many ingredients, you end up waiting and waiting for ones you want.

I noticed that when I do a sandwich selection, all the ingredients disappear. It seems like this can help me do away with stuff that's just getting in the way. Is this intended? That might be useful, except if nothing happens when I do an invalid sandwich, it feels like a waste. (Heh, that's the first time I've ever used the phrase "invalid sandwich".) Anyway, what if, like, you got 1 point for every ingredient you made vanish, PLUS 10 points for valid sandwich? Or something along those lines. Just a thought.

Also, am I correct in thinking that having EXTRA ingredients makes a sandwich invalid? If so, that's pretty unforgiving. What if, when you select ingredients that include valid ones, only the valid ones disappear and the rest stay there? I mean, I'm almost ready to suggest pushing ingredients around, but I feel that misses the point of the whole mechanic...

Anyway, congratulations on actually finishing and submitting a playable game. ;)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:38am

Hi interesting idea. Took half a minute to shoot instead of just aiming. Didn't manage to make a sandwich.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:39am

The is very slow for me, I think it runs slower than intended.

Valeour says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Cool idea. Was fun, pain in the butt to line things up though.
Felt like something was missing, mainly just polish I guess. None the less it was fun.

MrSun says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I like the idea -- it needs a bit more polish though!

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Fun game! I like the idea, though it's pretty hard to make the combinations. I think if you could move around the ingredients by pushing them it would make the score system a lot friendlier.

Ossi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:19am

Neat idea. It was a bit confusing at first how to combine the ingredients to make a sandwich but I eventually got it. It's pretty challenging to get the zombies to line up! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]