Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Heist

by gallerdude - Compo Entry

Based on Inception, where there are 4 dreams with 4 different rates of time. You must complete each of the four games. Each dream has a different goal you have to complete.

Use 1, 2, 3, and 4 keys to toggle dreams!

1st Dream - Top Left - Avoid puddles to win with up and down keys. Must stay in dream for 30 seconds to win, timer in upper left corner.

2nd Dream - Top Right - The "Avoid Box" will be a certain color. Make sure you aren't on the color the "Avoid Box" says when countdown ends! Use arrow keys to move between colors!

3rd Dream - Bottom Left - Move around the maze, and touch the glowing purple dot to win this dream. Watch out, the dot will change locations occasionally, and you'll need to recollect it! Move your character with arrow keys!

4th Dream - Bottom right - Simply click the target with your mouse to win!

Note, time moves differently in different dreams! Basically, if you’re in a higher dream, time moves faster in lower dreams. If you’re in a lower dream, time moves slower in higher dreams!

Red ring indicates what dream you are in.
Bottom boxes indicate your life and what dream you are in.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#152Theme4.00
#210Innovation3.65
#383Mood3.13
#574Audio2.67
#834Fun2.79
#860Overall2.90
#1133Graphics2.04

Comments

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Interesting game, won on my second try. Love the concept and the music helps with the whole dream mood.

I am a programmer with no graphic skills... so I am the last one to, but the only thing I can criticize is the graphics. If you had a graphics designer with this great concept and gameplay it would be 5 stars!

4 Stars for Innovation, Fun and Overall.

Well done.

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Otomata for the win! :D Great idea, mixing 4 minigames at "the same time". I thought about doing something similar bit it looked like complex, but here it is! Nice work.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Very cool concept! Really hard also.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very nice! I like it!

Anachron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Brilliant concept! And good music that helps set the mood. It would be cool to have a visual cue that drew your attention to different dreams, like if the upper left box started flashing when you are getting close to a puddle or something. Congrats on your entry! :)

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

A little bit counter-intuitive
But a cool concept thouch!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nicely done.
The tempo of background music is too fast.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:00pm

quite unplayable for me, but a really fun idea! :)
maybe change the game with a mouse click would be better :)

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Pew* took me like 10 tries to beat it! I'm still hearing the nightmareish music in my ears! I mean it in a good way, I think you really nailed the theme with this one! The graphics are very rudimentary, but when I was playing that didn't really matter I just wanted to beat the game! :) Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Fun concept. Felt epic to win.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Great game! I love the way the 4 world times played together. Game #2 often finished itself without me ever touching it. Music was nice, graphics could have used to work. Good entry :)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Really unique concept, its a cool way of thinking about the theme, I really liked the multiple rates of time for the different games.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Super cool concept, but realization is sub-par, sorry.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Interesting multitasking challenge. Nice idea!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Challenging but cool game! I Included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/QrqYJieiXWs

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

A very nice chaotic game. It had a nice difficulty even for me who is horrible at multitasking.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22am

TIL: I'm terrible at multitasking! lol, interesting challenge.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33am

Hi there. Interesting idea. Couldn't get my head around playing it though, too many things happening at once. Liked the sounds.

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I like the idea of 4 minigames at once. You could copy inception even further and have them on different time scales

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Interesting idea and decently executed. Graphics could definitely use some work though.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:44pm

ADHD simulation. Way too hard for me. But it's four games in one jam. Good job :)

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:29am

Impressive game for scratch.

madmaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:48am

Always good to see Scratch games in here

Valeour says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Cool idea, struggled with it a bit, but definitely fun. Graphics were a bit of a let down, but other than that, definitely enjoyable.

Havi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Cool but hard game :p
I like the concept and nice music aswell :)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:05am

Wow, really difficult multitasking here, and took me a while to scroll to the left to read the comments. Well, nice game!

rantt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:24am

Challenging and interesting. I liked it, nicely done.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:30am

Very interesting idea and a great challenge. Music is good but graphics could use a little more polish. I'm impressed how fun and fair the game is, since the idea seems like something that only works in theory...but you pulled it off. And in Scratch, no less! Very impressive, great game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:24am

Pretty interesting concept but really hard. I do like you're playing 4 different levels at the same time though.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:32am

4 games compiled in one game makes the theme relevant for this. The game was difficult but it's great to play. Especially for the people who loves to multitask :D

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Quite overwhelming having the four games going on at once. None of the games were that deep, I think I'd rather see a concept polished well than 4 concepts half-done. Music was decent, graphics weren't great. Generally passable entry, but it needs a lot of polish. Nice interpreation of the theme.

01rafael says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

Really funny concept of game. Not really new but funny anyway!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:06am

Fun little set of games. Not fond of the fact that the 4th game must be played last.

rzuf says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:22pm

People struggled to fit a single game on a single screen, yet you menaged to squeeze 4 of them! because of this - it's one of the most interesting entries. :D

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]