Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Maze in Space

by GSM Productions - Jam Entry

A tense futuristic puzzle game where you'll have to collect as many stars as you can before getting buzzed by Harvey the Robot!

Click on a room to move to it if a path to it exist (with doorways aligned). If such a path exists between you and Harvey, he will start moving towards you! Be careful!

Rotate your spaceship to remove a random room from the bottom row, and add a new one on the top. Neither you nor the robot can be dropped off the ship though! Use this to open path to new stars, and cut off the path between you and Harvey the Robot. How long can you survive?




Controls
--------

Left click : Move to another room
Arrows or Mouse drag : Rotate the spaceship
Escape : Unceremoniously quit the game :p

SCORE TO BEAT: Bastien - 106
Can you do better?

Credits
-------

Pauline, Christel and Cindy: Graphics
Pascale: SFX
Bastien and Thomas: Code
Bastien: Music
Joan and Axiome: Moral support

SOURCE AT https://github.com/GSMProductions/LD31

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#144Innovation(Jam)3.68
#146Audio(Jam)3.56
#303Theme(Jam)3.76
#320Graphics(Jam)3.65
#321Mood(Jam)3.30
#337Fun(Jam)3.27
#375Overall(Jam)3.35
#693Humor(Jam)2.21

Comments

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:37am

It was an interesting experience, a bit confusing at first, but worth playing :D

aeveis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57am

I liked the art and the audio! The rooms falling random was a bit confusing - I thought maybe I could kill the robot that way. Click to move sometimes would make me run into the robot. Overall pretty polished though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38am

(Bastien here)
@RonnyEGT: Thanks! :D

@aeveis: Yes, killing the robot was envisioned at some point, but you know how jam go... ^^ And the pathfinding is supposed to make you avoid the robot, but sometimes it does make you run into it. Thanks for the kind words though!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Interesting and fun game! Neat concept!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I love the graphics and animation! I can't quite wrap my head around the gameplay, though. Is it just sort of gamble as to which column goes? Is it ever possible to make the robot or yourself fall out? (Morbid curiosity.) Good work, though!

Ranmara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16pm

A really great concept that needs just a few tweaks to work. It would be nice to have an indication of which room will drop next, or even a way to choose it. Great style and innovation though. :)

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Took me some time to really understand what I was doing but after that it is cool. The idea is interresting, it's beautiful and the audio feels good. Good game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

(Bastien again)
@all: Thanks for the kind words! The fact that a random room drops after each rotation is a bit confusing, that is true. And no, neither you nor the robot can be pushed off the ship in that way. We had planned to let you drop the robot to get some respite before a new one would come in, but no time to do that...

And an indication of the column that is about to be dropped would indeed be good, but again, lack of time :( Thanks again for playing it, though! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Fantastic atmospheric audio, immersive action-puzzle gameplay, nice graphics! What else can we ask for? Running away from Harvey the Robot is fun, thanks!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I had to take time to get it about the rooms (like some other fellows), but great game !

Nice work on the graphics, and original design though :)

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice game! hard to tell what part would move, but one of the best I've tried so far.

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Really interesting concept, it remind me of a board game called Labyrinth.
Anyway great job, I really enjoyed it. :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

(Bastien once again)
@all: Thanks once again for the feedback :D

@Taldius: That board game was actually our starting point when discussing what we wanted to go with ;)

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Simple gameplay idea, which takes a while to grasp.

5you says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

It's funny we both made a "a maze in..." game and we both have a chasing robot !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

(Christel this time around)

@asobitech Thanks! We'll try to make the commands more clear ;)

@5you really? XD Now that's a coincidence! We'll have to check out yours as well!

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

very good indeed

vidarn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I liked the panic I felt when Harvey kept moving closer and the rooms didn't slide the way I wanted :)
A solid puzzle game with a nice mechanic! However, the difficulty seemed a bit low. I might have liked a slightly more challenging gameplay.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:44am

Very innovative and complete game. Good job. I ended up in a corner with no way out no matter how much I rotated the maze. But I kept trying :)

Namide says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:52am

Good concept but a little bit random

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:02am

Awesome idea ! Got hooked on the game very quickly. Very fun and enjoyable ! Good job !
No, nooo, nooo, not that wayyy ! Argh !

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:30pm

(Christel again)

@all: Thank you <3

@vidarn: We've got some ideas to get this more interesting :)

@Teesquared: You have to keep trying! :D The first time around it's not that easy but when you get into it, it's possible to have quite a high score! Bastien is the holder of the title right now with 106 points ;)

allanolivei says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:38pm

The idea is very interesting, but could have more control of the pieces that fall.

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Fun game! My best score was 38.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Pretty much ditto what others have said, has lots of potential but the randomness of the blocks fallning kinda limit the strategy element of it.

Lovely artwork + music

mortus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nice game, but couldn't you play infinitely by just spamming left/right until robot falls out of your reach, collecting all available stars and repeating it all again?

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:12am

(Bastien's back)

@all : Thanks! But yes, it lacks a bit of strategy, and the difficulty is not really high, and the game is kinda easily exploitable :) Now it's fun for a game or two at most. But thanks for the kind words and taking the time to play!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]