Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SCREEN_BOMBER

by Xaychru - Compo Entry

You're a little cell trying to escape from your game, simply reach the lever to make the screen explode and go to the next one. You've also been given the power of morphing into tetris-like blocks, have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Overall4.00
#37Fun3.89
#77Audio3.69
#79Graphics4.03
#127Innovation3.86
#220Mood3.33
#225Humor3.08
#1144Theme2.65
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:42am

My god i love how this game looks! Those explosions at the end of the level feel super duper good. Personally rather than a lever for the detonation, I would have a plunger (and allow you to push the plunger down).

I reached what I think was level 3 (the one with the S shape) and couldn't figure out what I was meant to do next. Hope it's just me being dumb and not an error as I was enjoying playing the game!

Thank you for making this and very best of luck in the competition!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43am

Solid entry ! I like the music/mood, and while the levels often feels like action, getting all the bonuses turns out to be more puzzling. Would have preferred a more colorful universe, and a little less slippy tetriminos controls but it's quite good.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45am

Very cool game but... I hate your level design :D
I die many times because of one pixel...

onilink_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59am

Oups I forget to rate.

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23am

Great game 5/5. I literally love everything about it ^^

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48pm

This game just feels and plays really nice. I love it!

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Really awesome idea combining those tetris blocks ;) Game is very polished, fun to play and the puzles are challenging

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Awesome graphics and audio. The game itself is a lot of fun. What more to say? Well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Nice work! Awesome art and clever puzzles. Loved the message you get when you collect all the cards. If there is something that could be improved, it's the player's controls, the sole pixel guy is very slippery and it's easy to accidentally fall with him.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44am

Cool and polished game! Love the art, especially the explosions. Also a lot of content - a very good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

super! great game and neat concept. not sure whats up with that level complete effect .. lol

I wish controls are a little less sensitive. Overall, great work!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51am

Wow! Very good gameplay. Really enjoying that.
Movement are too smooth on ny taste. But otherwise this was great!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26am

Good work! It is very well made and pretty enjoyable.
I liked the graphics, audios and the awesome animation of explosions.
It also has a cool concept of play with the blocks.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

Hi there. Interesting idea with the tetris block phase each room. Got stuck at first room with jagged staircase tho'. Nice FX on complete level. Liked the hiptunes music!

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Reaaly nice game !
Was confused during the intro x)
Like, "Wait, a Tertris ? I can't even do anything!"
Nice polish and good game feel as well, congrats!

memilian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

really nice game !

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

controls are way too frustrating, sticky keys / input doesn't reset half the time. Good style / graphics, interesting loop track, but just wanted to smash my keyboard in the end.

Xaychru says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Thank you all for playing and giving feedback!
@RadStar: Ahah yeah I hope the intro won't keep some people from playing the game, I should have added a skip option...
@chamberlainpi: I quite rushed the game at the end of the compo, so I focused on little details and forgot to fix some bugs like this one where you can't reset when you're dying/reapparing. :/

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:52am

Sweet idea! :D

Valandre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17am

Very good entry, quite hard to collect all card. Very good mood anyway!

Namide says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I so like your game: good music, graphic design and concept.
Very good job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:35am

Brilliant mechanic, I love it! Great pixelart, groovy track and man that footfall sound effect. Perfect.
Keep it up!

facecjf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice work! Great mechanics and what an awesome concept!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:15pm

This is really fantastic. Platforming Tetris pieces? Brilliant. Great art, great music, great level design (with secrets too!). The jump is ever so slightly touchy, but otherwise, this is just amazing. I hope you consider building this even further, though it's really got a ton of content for a game jam. Amazing work!

Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Psst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTZt-x7a0CQ

klianc09 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Really awesome. Love the platforming with the tetris blocks. The music and graphics are also amazing.
It's difficult landing on those single block platforms though, since they can sometimes be a bit too slippery.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I like the concept, but the implementation needs some work. The controls are really frustrating. The level design could be much improved as well. Some levels had a much easier solution that the one that was clearly intended. This is nice when the alternative solution is clever and makes the player feel smart, but in this case it just felt like sloppy design. Most of the challenge came from the controls, not from the puzzles themselves. Freezing the pieces in exactly the exact position was extremely difficult, even though the solution was pretty obvious.

The graphics were good, and the audio was decent. I'm really confused by how the theme was used here, it seems like you totally forgot about it. I was disappointed that getting all the letters didn't added anything special to the ending, no extra level or dancing snowman or anything... Still, it's a nice platformer puzzler. Mixing Tetris with platformers has been done before, so it's not exactly innovative, but I like the approach you took. =)

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Great concept, cool execution. Levels that solved itself without all the pieces seemed... Broken.

What's it got to do with the theme though? Or the name with anything else other than not fading to black at the end of each level?

Thematically an incoherent mess, which might not be a bad thing if people like it. I didn't like it.

But a great achievement nonetheless :)

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:57pm

great game.
what I didn't like is that the puzzle was to get that extra thing.
but over all I enjoyed the game

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Cool concept! I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Pretty interesting concept of using tetris blocks in a game that's well basically, not exactly tetris. Very solid platformer plus I really like the art (especially the lighting effects) and the music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]