Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Circuit Breaker

by swinestudios - Jam Entry

In the binary system, there are only 1's and 0's. You are a 2, and unfortunately, are despised by the system. Break through the inside of the screen and make your way to the top-right corner in order to escape!

Since you're playing around with fragile pieces of hardware, blocks may become "corrupt" by clicking on them and dragging them around. Some may even disappear!. The circuit has a limited amount of "corrupted blocks" it can "handle" before it completely "breaks". You must use as little of these blocks as possible in order to escape while not destroying the circuit, and therefore yourself, in the process.

Controls:
A and D - Move left and right
Space - Jump
Mouse click/left click - Select a block or drop selected block
Enter - Start the game or go back to the main menu.

Credits:
TheBlueGamer55 - Programming, Art
hognip - Music
pigrocket - Support
General Templeton - Support
jr1501 - Support
QJW - Support

Edit: For anyone having trouble running the jar file, there seems to be some version compatibility issue with Java and LWJGL. If you can't start the game, please also include the Java version you're running in your comment so that we can better understand the issue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#290Audio(Jam)3.23
#403Innovation(Jam)3.19
#589Overall(Jam)3.11
#665Humor(Jam)2.27
#676Graphics(Jam)2.89
#693Mood(Jam)2.77
#788Fun(Jam)2.67
#947Theme(Jam)2.67
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14am

Window flickers out and closes upon startup :( On a Macbook Pro Retina.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

Nice game with creative gameplay, but I'm sure how it fits the theme.

Soron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12am

The platforming here was non-obvious and difficult, and the disappearing "corrupt" blocks get in the way of play (pretty sure it's an actual bug). Would've been good to do a bit more bug-fixing and balancing.

swinestudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

@Soron - We were running low on time, so yeah, unfortunately we couldn't do any balancing at all. The disappearing blocks were actually intentional, or at least only when placed inside another solid because otherwise, they would get stuck inside, which at the time seemed like it would let the player cheat their way to the top. We appreciate your feedback!

swinestudios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:27am

@Topaz Studios - It seems like the game might have issues with Retina Display, since it worked fine on our regular Macbook Pro, although we're not 100% sure what's causing this. We're sorry for the inconvenience.

Bloxri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:48am

Very, VERY, cool concept. Nice submission. Overall it was weird to understand at first but after clicking around a good bit I got it. Very innovative. The disappearing blocks are sort of frustrating but I'm sure you're fully aware of this issue. The audio fit well within the game, I think. The graphics matched those of a real circut board so thats pretty neat. No humor or mood was obtained through playing the game in my opinion. Fun after you realized what to do. The theme fit pretty well. Nice submission!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:15pm

It was a bit unclear what the goal of the game was, at first I thought I should get to the "done".
Besides that, I'm in love with the soundtrack! The basic idea of the game was very cool, and the graphics were great as well =D

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:12pm

actually...that was CREATIVE..

cxsquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:52am

Pretty neat concept. Really great music. The objective of the game is a little vague though.

sorlok says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:04am

Cool idea! I never really reached a "corrupt" point like the instructions stated, but the idea of building your way through a computer as a "2" was neat! Maybe some more exploration into what a 2 actually means? Nice game overall.

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:06am

really a great concept

Sharky says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:23am

The file for windows won't open :(

AinaSG says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:20am

Ok.- tis is a nice idea :) but the desapearing blocks caused some trouble.

also, i took a little to figure how to play. maybe a little tutorial could have been great.

Overall, very nice idea, nice art and nice music

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:44am

We really like the concept and the game mechanic, it works well and is very responsive. Good take on the platformer genre!!

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Apart from not following the theme of the jam its quite an interesting concept...

Rothens says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Creative gameplay, and very good mood :) Good job!

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Pretty creative! I like that the entire game is actually set inside a screen.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:35am

I'm on mac running 10.9.5 . Double clicking the .jar from desktop opened a window saying it could not open. Running the .jar from Terminal with java -jar returned the following exception
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Can't load library: /var/folders/jn/s4p6kdsd3xd8sftwdfggc4yc0000gn/T/libgdxBirdLab2/3741154320/liblwjgl.dylib
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1817)
at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Runtime.java:809)
at java.lang.System.load(System.java:1083)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:70)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.openal.AL.<clinit>(AL.java:59)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.OpenALAudio.<init>(OpenALAudio.java:70)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.<init>(LwjglApplication.java:80)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.<init>(LwjglApplication.java:64)
at com.swinestudios.onescreen.Main.main(Main.java:15)

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:27am

Very nice! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]