Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lycklig's Stone Toss

by cardboard - Compo Entry

Lycklig is an opossum that loves to make games. He doesn't have much (because he is an opossum) so he uses the things he finds while going on his daily walks to make his games.

The goal of Stone Toss is to toss stones as close to the bucket as possible. You receive scores for your closest stone and for the total distance of all stones thrown. There is no prize (since Lycklig is the only one who plays the game), and thus the game is played purely for fun. Enjoy.

I didn't have all that much time to work on a game this time around, so this is basically a minigame.

[Android version possibly coming soon]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Audio3.74
#76Graphics4.04
#118Mood3.55
#170Humor3.21
#587Overall3.17
#644Theme3.54
#723Fun2.91
#810Innovation2.75
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

kalugny says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

C'mon, you have to clone the repo just to play?
It looks like an interesting game that you invested time and effort into, but don't expect us player to do the same ^_^

jelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I'm sure your finals are more pressing that this, AND you said not to leave a comment asking for it -- but I just want to echo that this looks interesting and I want to play but waiting for a build of some kind.

MonoS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32am

Good music and graphic [really liked the ballpoint draw].
Really simple but fun gameplay.

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:51am

The game's graphics and music are excellent. I really liked that part. The gameplay, however, is too simplistic for me to play it longer than a couple of minutes. This would be a great mini-game in a bigger game made in this same style.

Also, the way the score is counted has some bugs that I didn't really understand.

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I enjoyed the art & music. I'm not sure it's possible to actually get the stone in the bucket?

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The graphics and sound are fantastic (if you wrote that music in the time frame and recorded it, amazing!). The game is very simple though. My best score was 11 (lowest score is best right?). I really love the cutout doodle style and if you had more time to develop the game play it would be fantastic.

cardboard says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:16am

@lase: It should be possible. I guess it depends on the computer playing the game, which is rather unfortunate. I guess my poor coding skills are to blame for that. :/

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Innovation 4/5: I've seen that before, but it's uncommon.

Fun 2/5: Boring after some tries :/

Theme 3/5: The game runs on a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: Great graphics!!!

Audio 5/5: Great audio!!!

Humor 3/5: Licklig is funny!

Mood 5/5: I felt quite relaxed.

Overall 2/5: Great aesthethics but poor gameplay.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:14am

Love this art style and music was good! Keep it up!

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:06am

I love opossums, I love stones, I love flutes and I love buckets. This game is perfect !
Your style is really great. Graphics are so cute :3

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:21am

Simple, but quite addictive. The music and artwork is really pretty. Really enjoyed it!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:56am

I love the paper cutout animations in this. I think it is oddly endearing! The game works well enough, the physics of the stones on the throw feel right, and the opossum just spinning his arm around like that is hilarious. Nice stuff. :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Lovely graphics!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:58am

Really simple, but a very stylish little game. The music and graphics were really nice, and in a way the simplicity and pointlessness only added to the theme!

It would be nice if the physics made more sense (gaining momentum from the swing), but otherwise I really enjoyed this little game.

(Managed to get a highscore of 15, if we're sharing that)

jpmit says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:39am

Good fun! My sister was a special fan of this game, and she was a lot better than me at it! Well done.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:47am

Great !!!! It's been a long time i want to make some game visuals like this, i mean paper-drawn look-alike. Nice design! I managed to put it inside !(...) ahaha Cheers!

Omer says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Pretty cool graphics and decent audio, but quite a bare game in my opinion. Didn't really like the throwing mechanic - slow, not consistent with how fast he's spinning his arm, bounciness, etc.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]