Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Handsome Joe vs Fearless Shadow Gang

by Lokiman - Jam Entry

"Handsome Joe is finally going to make things clear with the Fearless Shadow Gang... using his plasma rifle!"

Hi guys! This is my second LD entry but this time I joined Split, my fellow colleague and we decided to participate together in the Jam instead. The game actually a tower defense game with a twist... or maybe a Phobia-like massacre with towers? :)

In the end we somehow managed to finish and submit this "prototype" but it definitely needs more balancing, polish and other stuff. I hope that we will do better next time :D

Controls:
W,A,S,D + mouse

Tasks:
1) Settle the matter with the Fearless Shadow Gang once and for all.
2) Stay alive.
3) Protect the Obelisk!

Thanks for playing and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#5Fun(Jam)4.17
#39Overall(Jam)4.00
#156Graphics(Jam)4.03
#158Audio(Jam)3.53
#277Mood(Jam)3.36
#478Theme(Jam)3.58
#536Humor(Jam)2.53
#563Innovation(Jam)2.94

Comments

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Where's the game?

Arovoid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Not so sure where the game is either :P. Is this just a way to promote yourself :P? I do hope it will be up soon. Sounds fun :).

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

The link should be working now. Sorry for confusion! :D

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:37am

This was FUN! Solid gameplay, really smooth, sfx awesome.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20am

..nice game

psychomonster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Great and very polished gameplay. Like this style of game very much ;) Good kob

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Good game and Well balanced.

There is bug when selling something you don't get refund and you can continue after game over.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Amazing visual and really polished game! I enjoy playing it. I'd only wish if there were more weapons for example shotgun or rocket launcher.

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

@ainokaisa thanks for the bugreport! :D

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Good game. Keep working on it.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very smooth gameplay, loved the sound and the animations. Great action-tactics game.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Great game, solid controls.

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I loved this. Really good controls and movement. Sound/graphics are top notch. The gun just feels right to shoot :D This could turn into something great!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great entry !

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Really cool game. Nice graphics and animations. Very responsive controls. I love it.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Great game! I enjoy playing it:). I like idea of mixing tower defence and classic top down shooter. Good job!

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Very satisfying shooting, lots of fun!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:28am

nice, very smooth and good looking, like the strategy element added

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:29am

Really nicely done, the animations were smooth, and the buildings looked nice. A little more diversity would improve the game, but what's here is still fun and looks great

Flying Jester says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31am

This is a lot of fun! I love the combo maul/TD and run&gun gameplay.

My only complaint is that I wish the gun sound effect was mixed a little lower.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38am

-Decent action tower defense here :)
-Would be nice to have upgrades / different weapons for the main character :(
-Music and SFX :)
-Simple visuals, but efficient :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:40am

Great tower defense/bullet hell mash up! Could easily see this being really awesome if it were expanded!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Nice game! I really like graphics and gameplay well done !!

Forge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:38pm

A whole lot of fun! A shooter that really feels good to play, well done!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice! Love the visual!:)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Really cool game. Neat graphics, very fun, polished. I wish there were more features thought, but hey, you only have 48 hours.
Awesome work!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Fun gameplay! Really smooth input x graphics iteration, something rare among ld entries.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:47am

Unique style. Gameplay is simple but pure fun.

Indigon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:48am

Very smooth.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:31am

very clever game - great twist on shootem up games - well done

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:43pm

I know this is a jam entry but I was just wondering if you'd share the source for this. Unity-user myself and would really like to learn from this. The gameplay is just so damn smooth! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]