Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman's Revenge

by ketura - Jam Entry

Trapped in an abandoned Christmas tree lot, you must stave off the hordes of snowmen as they come baying for your blood. Can you survive to sunrise? Probably not. The clock tower rings out what time it is, and the sun rises at 6 o'clock.

Heavily influenced by the look and feel of Five Nights At Freddy's. Give it a shot...IF YOU DARE *hack* *cough*.

To play, download the zip, extract it somewhere, and run the executable.

Chrome may throw up a "Uncommon Download Warning" since these files are, naturally, not downloaded very much. If you have any concerns, the Bitbucket repository that the game was developed on as been added as a "Source" link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Fun(Jam)3.72
#119Mood(Jam)3.69
#141Humor(Jam)3.43
#199Overall(Jam)3.62
#550Innovation(Jam)2.97
#687Theme(Jam)3.34
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

This is just so awesome game!

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

Thanks! I'm pretty surprised it turned out as well as it did, lol.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36am

One of the funnest games I've played so far. This game just made me... happy. The was incredibly well executed in all categories. I love when the really fast one charge at you. I spent most of my time with the lights off because I constantly needed to make snowballs. The only thing I would critique is that I want some sort of a kill counter.

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

The lack of a score is the biggest complaint, and is quite valid. I wish I hadntve had to work today, or it would have definitely been included. Oh well. It will be the first thing implemented if we develop it further.

Soron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31am

Chrome has flagged this as malware for some reason (Windows version). Any ideas as to why that might be?

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49pm

No I do not. It doesn't flag it on my computer. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, I'll see if I can find out what's happening.

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Oh, wait. If you're talking about the "Uncommon Download Warning", there's probably nothing I can do about that unless the game gets popular.

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

This game gave me the chills...

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

This is a really nice mechanic. Balancing making snowballs with actually getting rid of the snowmen trying to eat you is nice, and then you have the lights as well - very original and a lot of fun. And you got the snowman theme in there too, so that's pretty awesome.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Sweet gmae. Simple but addictive. Nicely done !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Great Gameplay, although I didnt get far :)

Pampattitude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Dammit, I was so cloooose! Fun game!

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice creepy atmosphere! One suggestion, have you considered having a flashlight that follows the cursor instead?

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Awesome. So I don't know when it is supposed to end but I've killed a bunch of them. I feel like I did my part for the society.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The creepy snowmen are great!

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

@elemel: no we didn't, heh. The lights idea was taken essentially wholesale from Five Nights at Freddy's, and we didn't implement it fast enough to reevaluate the idea itself much.

@Valon: the game starts at 12 and ends at 6. You only hear what time it is when the clock tower rings.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Creepy and fun.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Haha, cool :) I liked the atmosphere.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27am

God that was actually fun! Please pursue this idea after the jam.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21am

Great job setting the scene with the lighting effects and the snowman noises. Adding in the snowball creation as a mechanic really added to the intensity of the visual scene by making you always feel pressed for time. The gameplay was overly simple, and in the end it was much easier to just hold the right mouse button and react to the snowmen at close range. The graphical models of the snowmen were also a bit lacking, which is only a problem because the snow on the ground looks so good, and the lighting really makes them stand out.

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:38am

Fun and challenging. Nice visual effects.

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:19am

lovely presentation

nokusu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:24am

Nice job ! the game is pretty fun, the shooting mechanic works well, the atmosphere is creepy, and the concept itsefl with the lights is nice too :) imo, only 3 minor setbacks :

-even when shooting carefully, you eventually run dry on snowballs it could be fun to have levels and some way to replenish your snowballs to complete them ( though i think you might went for a how long can you last approach )

-adding a crosshair instead of just having the mouse cursor could be cool

-adding a scoring display

other than that good job overall ^_^

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice graphics and gameplay, the snowmen kinda scared me when they got so close haha :D. Eventhough the entire game was on one screen, I still had to think about that you might've prepared for a different theme ;)

Dans17 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:29am

Pretty nice adaptation of Five Nights at Freddy's. I think one thing that would have made it better is having the lights be more necessary, as it was always a better choice to keep making snowballs and simply shoot the snowman when they came close.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:46am

Seems like you prefered another theme... Great work!!! Never thought I would be eaten by a ☃.
Maybe the player shouldn't be able to make and throw snowballs at the same time.
Thanks for the Linux build!

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:27am

Very nice! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]