Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hunt the Pixel

by rjhunter - Compo Entry

A dead pixel has shown up on the screen, and it's your job to find out WHERE THE KILLER IS.

Interview pixels, find clues, hunt down the killer!


Tested in Google Chrome.
Porting to Safari...done.
Porting to Firefox...done.
Porting to Android web browser...



## Tools
* Music generated with cgMusic, with the main track synthesised on Apple's digital instruments from GarageBand
* Font "Press Start" by coderman38, used with permission
* Phaser framework for JavaScript games (`yo phaser-official` boilerplate)
* Sound effects recorded and processed in Audacity
* Awful art based on slapping some photos and colours together in Pixelmator

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#142Humor3.30
#293Audio3.14
#311Theme3.80
#343Innovation3.43
#715Mood2.75
#817Overall2.94
#900Fun2.69
#909Graphics2.55

Comments

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

I quite enjoyed myself and found the idea amusing. I liked the clues that the villain gave but sometimes I wasn't sure what he meant - he said "a bit pasty" and I wasn't sure if that just meant "pale" or a specific color. Small gripe. Anyway, I had fun and that's what matters most.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:34am

Really liked it, very cool concept!

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16am

I'm surprised when I got the pixel, and I think Vivian try to distract me :P

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Cool concept, I liked it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

Funny little game, Best villainous pixel hunting simulator.

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09am

click... click. hmm, it's not here... click click clickclickclickclick...

fun concept!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16am

Hi there. This smacks of Molyneux pixel clicking frustration, except more annoying 'cos have to read loads of text. Nice visuals and sounds.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:45am

Interesting concept I like it although some descriptions of his location were a bit misleading. Overall good job!

BitOfGold says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Cool idea, pixel hunting! :) + for using phaser.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:27am

My dead pixel has been revenged.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:20am

Original, a good idea

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:56am

Haha, I like it! The hints are actually really helpful, until you get really close! Made me smile :)

MikeTheWayne says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Very creative and innovative idea, matches theme perfectly, excellent music, smooth...

Brilliant, Solid Entry!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:08am

Ha, nice. Good job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:38am

Solid entry, and lots of fun. Wish that we could zoom in on other parts of the image, or upload our own images to zoom in on. Very clever take on the theme! Great job!

SivGoose says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Great idea, its hilarious! only problem is.. How do I zoom out, couldn't find the controls anywhere, all I know is I can click on pixels. quite frustrating but also very fun

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Haha, "dead pixel". Nice idea :-)

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:52am

really fun for the simplicity of it. counting the clicks could go a long way with this. love the music and sound effects too. great job.

zatyka says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:32am

For what it is, it's pretty good. The clues were well done.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:49pm

lol, unique concept, loved it :D

snapman_GT says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:05am

It seems to always zoom in on the same part of the picture, which doesn't really matter since the whole image is kinda samey anyway. Maybe you could have made the image a little more texturally varied, and given some more relative hue-based hints? Interesting idea though.

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Caught two rotten pixels, would've maybe caught more if there was some variance to the backgrounds. Nice simple game. I liked how the game zoomed in, almost felt like it said "Entire game on one screen? I don't need that much, a few pixels will do!". Or maybe I'm overthinking it.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:20am

Hm... very interresting and well done. It's distracting and fun.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Really cool concept. :)

panda says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:17am

Great concept, love it! Great use of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]