Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

HEAVY METAL SPACE PIZZA DELIVERY

by camdensegal - Compo Entry

Hey dude, here's the deal... space is cold, our customers want hot pizza, you get it
to them hot and fast - you get paid.

The delivery ship doesn't have much space for fuel, 'cause most of its bulk is in the engines.
It can beat any ship in the system in a short sprint, but it'll use up its fuel after the first
100 km of full burn.

How to Play:

Steer the ship with the mouse cursor
Left click and hold to fire engines
Right click or press space to launch pizza

Get the pizza to the round targets before the time runs out to get to the next level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#194Humor3.16
#200Fun3.51
#266Overall3.50
#286Graphics3.53
#286Mood3.26
#399Audio2.97
#482Innovation3.23
#726Theme3.47

Comments

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10am

This is like "Here Comes the Pizza!" in space. Love it! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ufSQMXLO95w

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

Very good. I liked the novel way of tackling the theme (on a screen, brilliant), and the gameplay was okay. I found it a little hard to maneuver the ship, but the controls weren't too bad. It was pretty fun (who doesn't like space pizza?), but like the pizza itself, the game got a little cold for me after a bit. Still, a very good entry. Good job!

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Like the game, it is very annoying though that when I right-click the Unity context menu pops up in Chrome.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Cool! And also really hard! D:
I liked a lot how the theme was interpreted! Good job!^^

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

In unity web player, right click pops up a menu (thats okay... space works). On levels with more than one world, it becomes quickly impossible to deliver without a pizza getting cold. I like the aesthetic, though.

OFF says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Not the most beautiful but really logic. The physics and the level design are perfect, and fun.

It's pretty addictive, i only think that the customers could have a better design than just a circle, but it's still working and clear even for a new user.

The game feel is really great, and more with the sound and shake when the spaceship is moving.

Game like i love, you start to play for Ludum Dare, and you stop one hour later before you boss fires you.

camdensegal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Thanks for the reviews guys, I just fixed the context menu issue so it should be a bit easier to control now!

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I liked this game a lot. Nice take on the theme. The difficulty ramps up at a nice pace. Nicely done :)

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice job, Camden! It got harder as I kept playing!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

great game... futuristic visuals for pizza its something new to me xD congrats

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

Very good game, I expected some heavy metal background music tho :D

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:14am

Hi there. Like the look and sounds, found the game itself too difficult... Crash into planet, deliver never worked, go off screen, crash planet again, too fast, too slow ... etc.. Maybe needs some easier starting levels.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23am

Nice graphics! physics is quite nice as well! solid effort! really like the objective, quite addicting as well!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very good entry!I'll play it again in the future!

nokusu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Awesome entry, the title alone got me interrested and i dig the asteroid like gameplay and the oscilloscope style graphics.

Even in the dark depths of space, the pizza shall be deliverd \m/ è_é \m/

nice work overall !

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:13am

Really solid game play, nice job!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:32am

nice one

Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:49am

I recorded while I played: http://youtu.be/8E-kzQnZTmo

Absolutely hilarious this one! The feeling of just burning all of your fuel into something is great. The camera shakes are very fitting, and the sound is great too. I like how the inertia affects the pizza as well. Man, it's a difficult game! Totally addictive, I'd probably play another 15 levels if there were any (and I'd probably hate myself if they kept getting that much harder as well!). Awesome! :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:20am

Great idea!

I love the idea of a space pizza delivery. It makes sense with the gameplay and the two gauges that you have to keep track of with the game. I had fun playing it until one level just got me. (flying in between the two lines of fog with three pizzas to deliver). I think it's a really nice entry overall! Awesome job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]