Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Serenity

by rxi - Compo Entry

A small game about musical fireflies.

The game was originally intended to fit on one screen, but it felt a little hard to see, so I increased the pixel size.

Didn't have enough time to implement player damage, so you're somewhat invulnerable.

Controls:
[x] Jump
[c] Shoot (when you get the gun)
[down] Action
[up] Aim up
[left / right] Movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Graphics4.65
#6Mood4.46
#6Audio4.19
#23Overall4.04
#157Fun3.59
#506Innovation3.20
#626Humor2.39
#1179Theme2.29
#1896Coolness33%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Very awesome game!
I absolutely LOVED the graphics! :D

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Super atmospheric game. I'd love to play this in full screen. Audio is really great apart from the ear rape at the end. I got stumped a few times, but I didn't really feel like it was my fault.

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15am

The graphics and mood is what really makes this game. I can see that you're very skilled!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

Beautiful art, soundwork and really solid gameplay! Very very good job. I got stuck in an arena with monsters before getting the gun, but mostly everything was rock-solid.

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:39am

I really liked the exploration factor and how it just unfolded, really cool!

mtanton says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04am

As usual, good game! Graphics, Audio, Mood, Fun, etc all really nice. Liked your nod to the snowman as well ;)

kebapmanager says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:42am

How did you make shaders?

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56am

Wooa!

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This game is outstanding! Effects and sounds are incredible... can't believe it was made during 48 hours. I've had some troubles during the gameplay however and I didn't get connection to the theme. I were going back and forth, ended after I clear the room full of... hmm, octopuses? Anyway, good job!

Yes, and the snowman was cool ;)

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Super beautiful graphics (obviously ;-). Too bad there is so little gameplay. Would have liked to play more.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Nice game ! The mood is just awesome and I love the graphics ! Plus the soundscape is really cool !

Too bad you can't implement your whole gameplay, it sounds funny !

rnlf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00pm

After the explanation you gave me about the audio thing and replaying it, the game appeared even more impressive. Really like the idea of in-game music synthesis. The sound effects are so kick-ass!

Writing that framework sure paid off. Too bad you didn't have the time to implement all the features you planned to add, but aside from the minor feel of incompleteness in some spots, this is still one of the most impressive entries I've seen so far.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

"Didn't have enough time to implement player damage, so you're somewhat invunerable." That happened with my last game, actually. It stinks. *pats on back*

As everyone else has said, I love the graphics and atmosphere! The lighting was beautiful to look at, and seeing the rooms light up as you entered them was very satisfying. Too bad the game didn't look good on one screen, could've fit the theme a bit better. Maybe a fullscreen option?

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Let's start off with the obvious. It looks beautiful. You can do magic with shaders. The audio is beautiful. The way how it sounds in the water is really cool. It's those graphics and audio which makes it no problem to explore this world 3 times over to find the right path/solution. Keep up the good work!

BKGH says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

Loved it!

mikozouzou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

Well done ! The atmosphere is really cool, it's hard to believe that you've got only 48h to make this.

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Music's great!Most aspects are great!Bravo!

SneManden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44am

Wow, so the atmosphere is amazing. And some of the visual (and audio) effects are mesmerizing: the bullet of the gun traveling up through the shallow narrow vertical (duct?); the cute little fireflies that follow you along; the water splashing; etc.

plauk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Love love love the ending. Everything in this was beautiful. Would also like fullscreen.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Ah. Remind me to do a game in this vein next time, this is right up my alley. Impressive that you did this in SDL within the time constraints! Very nice style all around, even if you didn't have time to flesh things out. You needed to give a bit more instruction about aiming upwards but I won't really fault you for that.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Very nice atmospheric game, love the ambiant sound, fireflies, light fx, I could spend hours in a universe like that.

runvs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Wow, what an experience! The sparse Sound is super awesome and convey a great mood together with the visuals. I like the effects of the shot and the fireflies are great, as well as the snowman and the enemies! Lots of polish and juice!

I had some glitches (cracking, buzzing) with sound late in the game, Win8.1 64bit via a Focusrite 2i2 interface.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Pretty cool, reminds me a bit of Cave Story. Awesome work on the audio! Congrats!

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Really love this entry. The 2d lighting effects are great. I even studied the source and learned some new stuff about working with SDL. Thumbs way up on this.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:01am

Great visuals and great audio. Cool concept, though I found randomly trying teleporters and backtracking a little tedious. But great entry!

Robber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14am

stellar work, love those sounds

Acuity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48am

I liked the way the water muffled the music and sounds! I got stuck for a while because I didn't visit the room with the snowman. I also couldn't figure out whether or not I could die to the enemies, I just spammed shoot and was okay.

drnick says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:19am

Very good rxi!
Certainly beats most games on the graphics sector, and overall your game is so well finished!
I'd like to know more details about the lighting system later, perhaps we talk on IRC.
A shame you didn't get to finish the damage system, but even though you are invulnerable, the game is still so interesting, simply for the exploration!
Even though you can expect some poor theme ratings, I am certain your game will be well remembered.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:51am

Technically quite good, with some (forgiveable, given the time frame) gaps in gameplay/mechanics design. Enjoyed it a lot, overall.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:14am

Very good visuals and atmosphere. Can't understand connection with theme.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49am

Best entry I tried (~50 games), very nice graphics/ambiance. Lovely game.

syawqy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44pm

the visual and audio really matching and make a great impression,
but I got error when entering a water in right-bottom section

Bernhard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Just amazing :O
Really loved all the little effects and details especially the sound distortion under water. Top entry for sure!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Awesome game! I love graphics! So beautiful! Nice concept! ^^

InHelli says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

good idea. cool mood. = ) mb some trouble with undestanding

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Mood rating of this game is over 9000.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

5 stars for all, cong!

the31 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Awesome. Great atmosphere, music, audio, visuals, everything! For theme... maybe you could have given the option to bump up the window size for people with large enough monitors? I think trading adherence to the theme for this awesomeness of a game was a good deal, though!

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great graphics and amazing level of polish: I was amazed by the underwater sounds and by the "musical companions". So many little gems in this entry. One of the best I've played so far!

The game runs smoothly and is very easy to grasp, although I spotted a bug that had me restart. I took a screenshot (http://i.imgur.com/rtWqjxz.png): basically I think that since I was unable to reach the "bat" over the wall on the right I could not continue playing. Also, the screenshot also shows how the other bats behave when I'm in the corner :D

Anyway these are just minor things. Great entry and looking forward to see more!

Robotic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

this is friggin gorgeous. Great job, especially on the art and the sound

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

It's beautiful! Loved the details (filtered sound when underwater, gorgeous lighting...). It's probably a good thing I was invulnerable though. ^^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:43pm

One of the top mood/audio/graphics games I've played :)

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

This is so impressive for 48 hrs! Kind of wished you'd put it in the Jam just so it could have had player damage and other stuff included. :)

Namide says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09pm

This game is so awesome!
The graphic design and music create a beautiful ambiance.
The gameplay is very efficient!
Congratulation, it's a really good game!

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Very good game

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:26pm

This is such a great start to a game! The graphics and sound are very well put together, I just wish it was finished. There's a few issues with getting stuck in various rooms with no way to reset the level, and of course, no player health.

Also, please opt out of the 'Humor' category if your game isn't supposed to be funny. It's kind of confusing how to rate your game based on humor.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Gorgeous. Love the muted gun sound underwater :) Would love to play a finished version !

Marcellus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:58pm

nice entry but the theme is absent. played it til the end. you should give more feedback about those fireflies as they are way more importent than they seem

Halleflux says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:21am

Beautiful work.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:09am

very nice game RXI. i loved it. I have no idea what to do once i had the three bats. but, other than that it was great! sound differenciating, teleports, particles, lighting diffusion, man, i'm still geeking out about it.

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28am

Incredible submission. Too bad it's far from the theme, but everything that I like in a game is in there. The first time you go to water level and the sound changes really made the game for me. The care you put into the effects and making the game feel good really, really shows.

This is definitely a great piece, I hope you're very proud of it.

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:32am

Wow, just incredible graphics presentation!! It's obvious where you spent your time over the jam and it really pays off. The lighting and the shaders especially are really helpful in selling the mood of the game. Combat felt tacked on and the puzzles were mostly trial and error but mannn those graphics!!

Carduus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I really liked the color palette and the controls, nevertheless i got stuck in the main entrance with some Bats and a broken control panel :)
Very moody, did you change the levels colors in real time?

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:24am

Awesome game you are a genius for making this in only 48 hours. Beautiful music and graphics

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:21am

Great graphics, excellent audio. The underwater effects... just beatiful. Very good controls. I couldn't reach snowman. How... what am I supposed to do? I could get to floor under it! :|

I have no suggestions on how to improve the entry. Very good job.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Great job!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice puzzle platformer. Very good graphics and mood. Though it's short but overall I like it. Well done!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:56pm

great artstyle combined with a great atmosphere

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:52am

Gorgeous art and music, work great at setting the mood. Felt like a really polished entry with nice character design

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:35am

Really pretty cave-story like game with lots of polish, odd the actual combat mechanics were the one thing that was left out.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Beautiful as usual, love the atmosphere and sound effects

Krisjet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Great sound, graphics and sense of mood!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Really good game, love the graphical effects on the telephoning and the lighting, and the music is very atmospheric, although I'm stuck at the point where I've shot every enemy, yet I cannot reach all the rooms. :/

Dokthar says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice entry, sometime the game crash :/ and I also had to restart the game because i didn't find the gun the first time ^^

taviandir says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very beautiful and moody game! Love it!
It wasn't very clear what to do in the game though, and I am not sure if it fit the theme.
Also, couldnt get past being underwater, couldnt jump up the small indent at all. :(

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

It was a bit lacking in interactivity, I felt like at the end I was just sort of wandering around aimlessly trying to remember which of the identical teleporters I had used already. That being said, it was still a fun game. The graphics were really good, but the sound was amazing. The muffled audio underwater was a really nice touch, and the background music was just spot on for the feel of the game. It is a bit hard to see where the theme interpretation was supposed to be though.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Beautiful game. I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]