Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

S̹̺̣̤a͏͚̤͙ͅt͡e̖̣̬̥lli̭̬̳͈̟͖t҉ȩ̩̬̰

by lun - Jam Entry

Welcome to everyday's life of a future.
146 years since the Man invented ipone. You are a NAAS operator. Your duty is to manually control satellites. Don't let them collide. Mankind relies on you!

code by lun, griff
music by curzio (https://soundcloud.com/aastat)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#73Innovation(Jam)3.90
#219Audio(Jam)3.39
#285Theme(Jam)3.78
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#337Mood(Jam)3.28
#435Graphics(Jam)3.41
#521Humor(Jam)2.56
#577Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Nice concept !

xlash86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Very funny game. I like the graphics, especially the scan lines! I felt a bit out of control, because at some point I wasn't able to change the orbits (?) A few more sound effects would have been nice. But other than that a very good game!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Interesting concept! But a little bit confusing, it's hard to move the camera and control stellites at the same times ;)

myachin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

too hard for me, but very nice! superb!

lun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Thanks, guys! We gonna fix control issues and add some sound effects in post-compo version

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Nice one! Nice graphics and audio but a little bit confusing :)

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice concept, I didn't understand the game at first but after my first death. I understand. fun little game

duon44 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05pm

pretty cool concept! :D but controlling the "camera" didn't feel very instinctive so it was pretty hard

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13pm

So epic music! It could be better if we could choose the satellite by clicking it.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

The controls need some work, but the concept is quite solid. Well done!

lun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18pm

hey, guys, thanks for comments, we changed controls a little, added 2 lines of code, don't think it's a big deal for a competition

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Awesome unique concept, nice art/audio too

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Very interesting and innovative!
Nice graphics too.

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Really good game, it's simple but feels very unique.
I enjoyed playing it, even if I'm quite bad.
Great work! :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

relaxing an nervous at the same time. super fun. its hard to get to the right satellite in time.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Ok, I'm a piss poor controller... But the game is fun and it can become quite challenging after a while, especially because of the satellite selection mode.
Nice music and lovely scanlines !

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:30am

Nicely done! The only thing I would suggest is to add more feedback when satellites collide - maybe an explosion animation and/or sound. Otherwise it's pretty sweet. Good work!

Raxsus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23am

Very cool. The only things that could be added are a clicking noise when you switch satellites, and a counter telling you how many satellites you're maintaining (maybe it could act as your rating; 5 satellites, 5 star satellite coordinator.).

kipelovets says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Cool music and nice game! The gameplay is very fun and challenging.
I would appreciate some highlighting of current satellite orbit)

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:40am

The scanlines, the music and the simple graphics combine to make for a tron era feel. It's kinda nice.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:28am

Awesome concept! There some ideas for further improvments: 1) add texture on planet to help with orientation; 2) visualize collide and move camera to show (sometimes it happen on other side of planet); 3) don't fail game on first collision, say that sattelites after collision becomes space junk and need to be avoided more carefully.

mogwai says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:01am

Fun concept, good audio. Tweaked controls and maybe a warning system to help the player a bit. Overall quite fun to play.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:27am

Very nice! ;)

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Cool concept, and *excellent* presentation/audio! I imagine it varies for each playthrough, but in my time with the game I didn't encounter the risk collision often at all, and then when I did, it was pretty slow to cycle through all of the satellites to get to the right one.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]