Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The legend of Adlez: Knil's adventure

by ripatti - Jam Entry

The legend of Adlez: Knil's adventure

Small Zelda clone.
Unfortunately not finished yet.
Done 2 temples of 3...
Also it's focused on funny dialogues.

You can consider it as Compo entry in point that all code and art was created solo from scratch, but in 72 hours. Sources included just fot fun.

Controls: Arrows, A
Q to switch display mode
ESC to quit

Will make Linux and Mac ports a bit later.
Also maybe will make full version (all that I planned to implement) on this week.

Note: I'm not native English speaker, text in the game may be awry sometimes.
IT IS NOT A JOKE! If you're native English speaker you may feel
physical pain caused by my nasty grammar. So be warned!

UPD from Apr 14 2015. A little bump before LD32. After a lot of work I've finished LoA v0.8.
What I've made:
- All 3 temples and all core questchains
- Combat system, a lot of monsters
- Saving the game
- Smooth fading of the screen, a few effects
- Fog of the war, now you cannot see unexplored areas
- Added Music. It's ripped from anime OSTs of *monigatari and No Game No Life
- More funny dialogues
- A lot of bugfixes

F.A.Q.
Q: I need more info
A: See readme.txt

Q: I've stucked
A: See walkthru.txt

Log.
Dec 9 2014. Submitted compo (jam) version.
Dec 12 2014. Still making the full version. So many additional ideas appeared what to add!
Dec 29 2014. Sorry, was really busy on work and the game is still so far from finish. But I hope I'll finish it sooner or later...
Jan 31 2015. Improved the game for IGDC 118.
Apr 14 2015. Released v0.8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#9Theme(Jam)4.50
#35Humor(Jam)3.97
#48Graphics(Jam)4.44
#91Overall(Jam)3.83
#111Mood(Jam)3.71
#134Innovation(Jam)3.70
#170Fun(Jam)3.53

Comments

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

Either the frame rate is horrible, or it lag's horribly

ripatti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

2Sharky: that's strange, because it runs in 60fps on my laptop and eats about 2% of the processor time.

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13am

Nice game! Really neat idea compressing the map all into one Screen. Good stuff! Lots of content for 3 days!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19am

Great concept and interpretation of the theme. Would have loved to have been able to do more in the game itself such as combat, but what's there is enough to show the potential. Fantastic job.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Very cool game! I did start getting squinty-eyed after playing it for a while though. Luckily, A wizard taught me some "street magic", and my eyeballs were very pleased!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

That was pretty sweet! I'm a huge Zelda fan, so naturally I had to try this. Wish you could have gotten all of the dungeons implemented, but there's still an impressive amount of content nonetheless.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really interesting concept! Would love to see this expanded upon!

cutandreil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

One of my favorite game!
Some strange things I've encountered :
- I can't give the book to the granny
- I've still have a key after the 2nd dungeon. (but I can't use it elsewhere)

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

The art is fantastic! Great effort, it's unfortunate it's not finished.

vairse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I really like the concept of this one, and it got a few laughs

ripatti says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

2cutandreil: i had to time to implement grandma's reaction; without additional key in the second dungeon it's possible to stuck, but i have nice idea how to use this key in full version of the game (in this version not implemented yet).

Knighty says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06am

Very nice graphics, it's like looking at a mini-Minish Cap :p
I would have liked to be able to stab some enemies with my sword.
It's a shame you couldn't finish it in time, I would like to see it when's it's done.

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:32am

cool..

jovoc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:49am

I love this so much! It's like you're playing a rom-dump. Even the text and the chars. so good. And the game itself is very fun and beautiful pixel art.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:02am

Even thought the game is not finished yet, I consider it one of the top tier games of the jam.
Nice graphic but is sad the lack of music..
BTW well done!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:04am

Nice job!
Soooo cool ad soooo awesome! =)
The game also is 100% on one screen.

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:15am

Interesting.

Strandypants says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Damn, that was fun!:D Loved your dialouge, and the game layout. Really clever with the zoom function to. I did not love the darkened screen that much, but that's just a thing of habbit I guess:D Anyways, great fun, good job!:D

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Bloody hell it took me 5 minutes to reverse all the words.

Cute/10

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:03pm

A whole little adventure game in one screen is a really nice idea. You even have different puzzles to solve etc. However I would have preferred, if the layout of the adventure would make a bit more sense. As it is you just had to stumble along like a clueless idiot and hope you would discover what you were looking for. Also can I already give the books to the grandma? I felt really bad for keeping them... But in general, I really liked the idea and dialogues of the game

ljdp says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:26pm

This is awesome, you have a good sense of humor! I can forgive it not being finished because you've achieved so much in the time. I'm curious as to why you have to map all shuffled up ;)

Looking forward to seeing this finished.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:00am

Impressive work! Beautiful pixel art, and dialog, and so many rooms =O

You should totally put some sound in it! Anyway, good job! =)

ncannasse says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice, but too bad it's still far from finished.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]