Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Goat

by ryguydavis - Compo Entry

Aliens are invading Earth. They thought they would land outside of any major cities to avoid immediate confrontation. You are a mountain goat. They've landed on your mountain. Disagreement ensues.

1 - 4 players. Two players supported on the keyboard and up to 4 with gamepads.

Made with Construct 2, Inkscape, and Bfxr.

Ryan Davis
@ryguygames
Creative Ink Games
www.creativeinkgames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#111Graphics3.94
#136Humor3.32
#137Fun3.64
#240Overall3.53
#362Theme3.75
#371Audio3.00
#402Mood3.10
#637Innovation3.03

Comments

ssheep says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:46am

this game is actaully so sick the graphics are great and the sounds are fun too also the game play is sick

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

Definitely a good game to play at a social event. Animations look so sleek and smooth. Controls are solid as well!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

It might be a case of 5AM, but description made me giggle uncontrollably. Too bad I couldn't fully experience gameplay alone, but might try do that tomorrow if I'll find someone to play with.

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Goats, the staple of game jams since... 2013? The game makes me wish I had a controller here :( Looks great and it probably makes an awesome party game.

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Good platformer controls. I was playing by myself so the fun factor didn't last.

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Lovely animations, and a really clean look. Feels very polished, good job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This game really reminds me of Toto Temple Deluxe! I imagine it would be a lot more fun if I weren't playing by myself, but great job nonetheless! The controls were tight and dashing felt really good.

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

"Disagreement Ensues" Ha Ha! Was able to play with a friend. This was a good laugh and time.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Kept me playing for a while, simple but nice graphics, and I love the dash mechanic!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

I like the concept and humore but the sheep moves too fast it gets annoying very fast

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54am

Great entry! moving the sheep was tricky at first but after a few minutes, it became great! like playing with the sensitivity too high, adjust and you can be better at the game! :) very enjoyable!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59am

Hi there. Love the graphics, layers, presentation, sounds. The gameplay (Story mode, single player) was a bit too tough for me - I know, platforming wimp... Really good job, amazing for 48h!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Funny Game! I like the concept, the graphics, and the gameplay is fun. Kudos for the multiplayer aspect, it really makes it better. Oh, and these mountain goat are cute :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice entry! I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Suuuuper fun game!!

Kudos on the controller support! That is great (though i would have loved to use the dpad. :P )

Also multiplayer and different forms of multiplayer! I'm going to try this out with some friends!

One criticism (Which is always so hard on a jam game) is I wished the moving platforms indicated when they were about to go electric.

But the goat is super cute and I super enjoyed it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Well polished arena game with good graphics and animations. Didn't have other people I could test it with, but I got the concept.

slarrimer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10pm

There's something very satisfying about the jump mechanic in this. The movement feels really good.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04am

Galactic buddies!
This was well done, nice job (:

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I believe I can fly.....

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:14pm

the controls work great on a gamepad and very nice graphics

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Damn aliens. Thank god we got goats to protect us. Multiplayers are always fun. Too bad I had play this one alone. Great game anyways

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:22pm

This could be interesting in multiplayer. Dashing is pretty fun, also easy way to get yourself killed. Really nice graphics!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:55pm

nice cute game, very solid gameplay, the addition of multiplayer makes this game awesome to play with friends, well done :)

TrentSterling says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:29pm

This game is delightful. Fun to play with the wife and 2 360 controllers. Nice job!

Riocide says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:40am

nice work...would love to try this multiplayer...map is a bit small though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]