Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Those Walls

by SimianLogic - Compo Entry

Those Walls
===================

The walls are closing in!

Based on the theme, I had an idea of the screen closing in on you... except when you're holding them back!

Family and Christmas decorating obligations ate up most of the weekend, but with a few hours to go I figured I'd throw a quick prototype together. This is about 3 hours worth of coding, so it looks like garbage but was enough to test the idea.

It ends up playing more like a metronome... but it was a good enough test of the concept that I'm glad I gave it a shot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#436Theme3.69
#495Innovation3.21
#896Humor1.80
#1086Fun2.34
#1099Overall2.55
#1100Mood1.92
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

Nice little game, I found the mechanic really interesting, you could do something very interesting with it!

After reaching 80 points, you can't win :(

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:56am

Hi there. Like the idea. It has a flaw currently, I think, in that there is a kill everything way of playing, spamming vertical, which just makes it too easy. When screen shrinks to smaller than your character you die anyway... which was a shame. Pity no sound included, BXFR is good...

ehtd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:10am

83!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really cool, I found it really interesting, espacially those balls erm balloons that gp around the box as it becomes smaller in size!
Rate more games would ya? You got high votes here! :D

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I really enjoyed the concept. It's a shame that spamming ended up being the best approach. Maybe a good way to avoid that would be some circles that you shouldn't pop?

error031 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:49pm

nice one!

phaze112 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really like the idea behind the use of theme. Wish there was a bit more to the gameplay though.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Kind of a clever mechanic. Somehow it doesn't feel like an entire game, though. Well, you probably know what I mean...for 3 hours of coding, it's pretty good!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Fun, interesting game. You should be able to rotate minutely, and I think the balls should have varying speeds. I got 90 points from spamming vertical.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

nice game

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

So strange weapon xD

riktothepast says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Setting the arms to vertical position and spamming the attack button made the game too easy, it's an interesting concept.

belstras says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Interesting idea, good job for only 3hr!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]