Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Press Simulator 1964

by 2HitAdam - Jam Entry

Press Simulator 1964, the game that makes you write like a goose.

You play as a journalist trying to get a piece out before a deadline. You'll be prompted on what to write about, then have a limited time to write a story about it. You'll see "the deadline" moving down the screen as you play: if it overtakes the line you're currently working on, you lose! The game goes forever, getting incrementally harder. There are 15 prompts in total.

DISCLAIMER: I know nothing about either journalism OR the 60's. Kind of a weird topic to pick for a game in retrospect...

I was hoping to store these stories in a database and compile them into a newspaper-styled web gallery too, just for fun, but I flat ran out of time. I may tack that functionality on at some point though, it's a shame for these stories just to get lost...

I've opted out of audio judging because it's all free stuff I found on the web and not mine. Correct attribution as per terms of use is displayed on the page.

Known bug: there are encoding errors on most non-alphanumeric keys. I hard-coded common use punctuation and the like, but the rest is bugged to hell.

Let me know what you think! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Humor(Jam)3.52
#144Graphics(Jam)4.06
#208Mood(Jam)3.48
#212Innovation(Jam)3.56
#435Overall(Jam)3.28
#484Fun(Jam)3.06
#572Theme(Jam)3.48
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13am

Interesting game, sadly I am not the fastest typist so the deadline always got to me before I could write much. I like the graphics a lot!

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice! At first I was disappointed that the game didn't actually enforce the fact that you didn't have to write something real - oh geez, I'm typing this review WAY faster than I normally do -, so I just mashed on the keyboard. But then I decided to play along and not cheat, and wow, you've actually got something pretty good here!

It's really a game you play against yourself, not the computer. And it's hilarious the kind of stuff I typed when I didn't have time to think about it. Well done!

Akurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Love the aesthetic!
I don't get how it calculates a loss or a win though?
I would love to see what other people wrote :D

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Wel.. weeeeelll.. i wish you 1-100 place cause this game is really interesting :) also check my project if you have some time x)

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting game, kudos!

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very nice game. I've tried to write in english, what is not my native language and lose all the time... It didn't come to my mind that I could write in german... Very nice looking and fun game!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:14am

Oh my god, you have to do the "store in a database" thing. There was a while when I was having a wonderful time hammering on the keyboard, saying nothing, and then I discovered that the "return" key actually worked and started doing some pithy one-liners. I wanted to try to do some poetry or haiku or something, just to make it worth it (I remember once when I skipped the prompt and wrote something like:

"What was the prompt?
I missed it.
I think it might have been about ducks.
But I like ducks...
I should write a poem.")

Love the concept, love the game, great mood, great fun. Thank you so much for sharing!

DrHahn says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:44am

#giggle

punkto says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Interesting game. It would be great if you include a syntax (something like https://languagetool.org/ )

anokta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:48pm

really nice concept! i really wish that there would be an actual win/lose scenario to encourage people writing relevant stuff. would love to see the resulting content in that case! :)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:34pm

interesting concept! nice entry!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I think you can do a lot more with this nice concept! For me it was hard to motivate writing anything that made sense, but if there is maybe a rating system for how many times you input some keywords (like "duck") or if you have some really basic grammar check so that you can't write just anything. Maybe combine it with these action type games, because this is a really funny idea!

baseteam says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

a bit buggy, but of course good idea and graphics)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The idea is fascinating, but you need to add some helpers that says to you what the fuck are the people writing, because you will receive a "Well done" without counting what you wrote. The music and the graphics are really, really cool, and the idea is fantastic. Just try to solve that issue and you will have a really good casual game ;)

kipelovets says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great background picture and nice idea. It could be better though if the game restricted you on what you're typing, now random button mashing works — and it's not really like writing an article. You could turn it into some sort of keyboard education program in which you must type in the appearing words or symbols

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

There's a kernel of a GREAT game idea here. Not allowing backspace makes for some hilarious improv. I went through quite a few headlines because of that, alone. If you can tweak the gameplay a bit, this could be amazing. Just need to slow down the deadline a bit (early on, at least) and create an algorithm to score based on what was written. Make it have to be at least a paragraph... not be jibberish... maybe enforce referencing the topic in some way.

I'm tempted to work on a version of this, now. :D Neat idea!

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

Thanks for playing the game and leaving feedback everyone! A post-jam version is in the works, where articles will be stored in a fake newspaper website, names and headlines are taken, and articles are scored based on relevance to the prompt. The deadline will start a lot slower too (I forget not everyone can type like a programmer haha).

Follow me (@2hitadam) on twitter if you wanna know when the post-jam ver drops :)

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

It is very fun just as a silly thing as it currently stands with not being strict on scoring - you can write any old thing. I followed the prompts. Loosely. I was the most bad-mouthed rambling journalist in the land. I agree the mood is really nice! I'd love to see it spruced up.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

I think the concept is great, but as with others a little disappointed it doesn't enforce you write something real. Of course, that is a bunch of work, but even some keyword scanning would have been interesting to make sure I wasn't just going "dkfjdlkjglsjgldgkljdfg".

Might be worth revisiting this one and attempting to try some language analysis to whip it up into a more interesting game.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

It's still much more a concept than a game, but the graphic is lovely, and the idea is worth to be explored. You could make an online judgment system, in which other people has to judge your articles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]