Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Who cares Entire Game?

by bukt - Jam Entry

Hello again, ladies and gentlemans! `Who cares` at your service. Again and as always.

Today we are proudly introduce you our newest and annoyest game: `Who cares entire game?`. Are you already tuned?

Look, main point is as old as your Atari: hit-and-run. Release your tiny mouse and place your fingers on keyboard - there are only arrows and `Space` keys available. Basically, use them for movement of your hero. Also, there are three characters (you can switch between them with `left` and `right`), and each have three special attacks (change them with `up` and `down`). Shoot with `space`. But be very very carefull.

Why? The big idea is - "All UI is always on screen". And, the coolest part - "All UI is always responsible". Whenever you rotate your hero - you switch between them. If you want to run forward - they also change their attack.

And for cherry-on-top: you are always in the `Main menu`. Tap `shoot`-button when `New Game` item is selected, and (ta-da!), you will reset all your progress without any confirmation.

The absolute record at our local contest for this game non-resetted playing is 1 minute and 45 seconds. Do you really think, you can beat it?

Keep calm and stay alive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#109Humor(Jam)3.57
#197Innovation(Jam)3.59
#264Theme(Jam)3.81
#438Audio(Jam)2.87
#568Graphics(Jam)3.13
#644Mood(Jam)2.85
#797Overall(Jam)2.84
#866Fun(Jam)2.52

Comments

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Awesome idea, super-ridiculous. But, The Ninja kick doesn't seem to hurt or fend off the zombies :(

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

Great use of the theme! The game is pretty much impossible though!

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42am

Really fun game but also almost impossible to play! xD
I had a similar idea but I didn't have the guts to do it.
Nice job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

Absolutely rediculous concept!

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

That could be a great game but the controls make it just too confusing. But who cares right?

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

Ugh. I feel like I've been trolled. Points for cleverness, but this thing makes Desert Bus look like a pinnacle of playability.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11pm

This is crazy :D

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:17am

A highly unique take on the theme, but I'm afraid it just feels impossible to properly play.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:26am

I tried! I really, really tried! My best strategy was to switch to the macho man, leave the main menu button on 'resume' and then use the round-house kick over and over. I killed some zombies this way.

I am attracted to what you did here. You challenged yourself to make something that couldn't be played.

Nelly says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:43am

who cares ld)

papazoot says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:12pm

The web link doesn't work. I get 502 Bad Gateway.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:43am

Controls very hard to use! But nice idea.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Playing the game is like "Pause-wait-Resume-Exit-New???".

It's clever, though. I'm glad you took the time to make it. ;) Also the music's great, heh.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Great music and cool take on the theme! Nice work. Playing it was a bit hard though :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Awesome concept!

wavertron says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:07pm

5 stars for theme. It really is every part of the game on one screen, menus and all. Unfortunately its kinda unplayable. Not sure if serious :D

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:25am

Very nice! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]