Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hit and Slide

by timtipgames - Jam Entry

Online-Multiplayer, so please excuse if you are alone on the server :) You may start a second client to fight against yourself though :)

Even though some people consider me a bot, there is no AI in this game. If you see other players they are human.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tutorial:
You have to dig down to get snowballs that you can throw at your opponents.

Your life (hearts) are displayed at the top of the screen together with the amount of snowballs you have (you don't have any when you start the game).
Candy refills your life.

Just remember the keys shown on the intro-screen (Ctrl + Space + Arrow-Keys) and you'll probably figure out how things work.
Tabulator shows the current scores.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

All graphics and source created within 24 hours.
We only used some sounds from freesound.org and worked it into something that made sense for the game. Also recorded a little bit by ourselves.

People involved / Tools used:

Tim (Programming):
Engine: libgdx,
Logic: artemis-odb entity framework
Networking: kryo-net
Helpers: universal tween engine

Nina (Visuals):
Graphics: Illustrator
Animations: Spine

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Troubleshooting:

* Game won't proceed after hitting Space Key on title-screen

Solution:
There is a text-input prompt opening once you reach the title-screen. Sometimes that prompt looses focus and becomes hidden behind the game-window. Try to move the window to access it and enter your name. The game won't proceed from the title screen unless you have entered a nickname.

------

* The lag is horrible!

There are three likely reasons:
1) Either I messed up something with the net-code (very likely) or
2) you live very far away from Germany (that's where the server is located) so round-trip-times make it very difficult for your game to keep up with the server-side simulation (you should be able to figure out how far you are from Germany I guess) or
3) the last and least likely situation is that there are too many players using the server simultaneously

Solutions:
1) Send me an e-mail with harsh wording and complain how bad of a programmer I am or leave an anonymous comment doing so. It won't help the game, but maybe you'll feel better.
2) Move to Germany ;) No seriously. Move to Germany.
3) Despite the horrible lag, play the game so extremely well that everyone else but the best players leave and let you play in the 1337 environment you deserve.

------

* There's a way too wordy error dialog telling me that the game can't connect to the server
Maybe the server crashed. I'll look into it. If you want to help, send me a mail to timtipgames@gmail.com so I can look into it!

------

* I don't know how many snowballs I have.
Solution:
It's a bug. Sometimes the snowball counting gets out of sync with the server. Ultimately the server decides whether you have a snowball though. Not really a solution to this unless I fix the code in a post-compo version

------

* I haven't slept in days because I am so addicted to this cute little game that uses a winter-snowball analogy for hardcore splatter killing.
Solution:
Keep on playing until you pass out. Rinse and repeat.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#182Fun(Jam)3.50
#344Graphics(Jam)3.61
#367Overall(Jam)3.36
#403Innovation(Jam)3.19
#403Humor(Jam)2.76
#424Mood(Jam)3.15
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#539Audio(Jam)2.58

Comments

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

fun game, I couldnt really see how many snowballs I had. Also Leia killed me too many times

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

TIM! HOW DID YOU GET SO MANY SNOWBALLS?! I had some lag, but that was fun!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Very nice. Had a bit of lag though.

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

Could not be launched on OS/X

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41am

Fun little game! Ice sometimes hard to navigate on but really.....it's Ice.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

Couldn't get the file to open

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46am

Fantastic! I had a lot of fun, and played far longer than I needed to judge the game. Definitely needs a chat window! Also, controls are kinda wonky. Anyway, great job!

Gluklichman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:53am

On Windows7 in the first screen (where it is said to press space) I hit space but nothing happens

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:16am

This game was fun i have to grab my friend to lay it with me and we had fun, so here is a good rate from me. and y u no have sauce code 4 me 2 lern 1337 slick2d coding

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Good Work ^^

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:17am

Really impressive to get multiplayer to work in such a short amount of time. couldn't get any multiplayer though cause Australia timezones

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:57am

Great graphics and sound. I really like the digging mechanic, good job overall!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Very nice game!

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:24pm

It's hard to kill the AI players...

timtipgames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:37pm

There is no AI, that was me. Sorry ;)

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very nice and polished game. I think I played with bot and he was smart enough.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Thank you all for playing! We had a lot of fun in every single game we played with you.

On a different note: looks like I am smart enough to be considered a bot. That's something, isn't it?

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Fun game but I think there should be more snowballs spread around the world.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:51pm

So much fun! I love multiplayer games in general and the lag wasn't even too bad. wish I had more snowballs though, had trouble killing enemies. Cute graphics overall, really brought me in a wintermood. well done!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:26am

Nice game! I had some real fun! Well done graphic.
Good Job!

Madball says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Wow, are you in-game 24/7?
I noticed that I can't jump on the bottom of the screen and I can't climb sides.
Also, snowballs/hearts twinkling when an enemy gets one is confusing. I see enemy collect a snowball, and I see the same effect as if it was me, especially if I have 1 more snowball than I thought.
There is another problem: sometimes, something strange happens. For me, players start moving faster, but server doesn't think so (At least that's my guess). I can destroy blocks both from client and server positions, and enemies shoot my server position.
The game is very entertaining. Minecraft mechanics are very fun and fit the theme. Though I wish there were more players. You should think about adding AI, you aren't going to play it forever, are you?

timtipgames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Thanks for playing so long with me and thank you for the detailed feedback Madball!

I am aware of the sync-problems you are describing. They really are a result of too much dirty coding under time-pressure. All points you state would need fixing if we continued working on this.

I am on the server whenever I think that there may people come to play, like when I make a blog-post or when I hit the title page of the rating category. So not really 24/7 :) AI was and is on our wish list. Thanks again, I had a lot of fun playing with you!

5you says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:22pm

sadly, I didn't have any opponents.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Beautiful snow effects and player animation

There is some problem with recognition. Where the player is and what he can do! (climbing, digging)

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I played but there was nobody else on, so of course some of the experience I did not get and I had to use my imagination.

But I thought it was very nicely done. The sound was particularly good, and the art was nice. I also liked the controls. It must have been tricky to design them, because there are a lot of scenarios to cover. It took a little experimentation (good thing nobody was throwing snowballs at me I guess!) to figure out the various combinations, but I think you made a lot of good calls on how to use the buttons for things like climbing, digging up, etc.

Nice work!

gmaker says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Awesome graphics. I loved it all! Good Job!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:04pm

jajaja .... I waited for a while, then another player appeared and we fought together ... very funny tim ... works fine on linux ... 5 stars on fun definitely :D

galman says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great game! Played with friends, well done :D

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I was alone so that detracts from the experience.
But making a multiplayer game in such time frame is amazing and the graphics were nice also.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Nice one! There seem to be a ton of multiplayer games this time around. Me and Mach some fun playing this one (ie. running up to each other's faces then spamming space) but felt that it needed some sort of round system, so that people could win a round by getting the most snowball kills. Apart from this, nice work for just 24h!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Hey, I really liked having a snowball fight game! :P The graphics were quite nice and the game was pretty fun. I'd have liked a time limit or some invincibility frames: I could knock out anyone I was playing against by getting a full volley of snowballs and waiting until they cornered themselves. Still, great entry, good job and I hope you stream ld games again soon! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]