Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Baa Ram Ewe

by renatopp - Compo Entry

"Baa-ram-ewe! Baa-ram-ewe! To your breed, your fleece, your clan be true! Sheep be true! Baa-ram-ewe!"

Baa-Ram-Ewe is game where you must herd your sheeps, trying to keep them inside the map and away from problems.


How To Play:

- To move the sheeps: keep the mouse close to a sheep;
- To make wolves leave: just click on them;

========================= READ THIS BEFORE YOU PLAY ==============================

- Try to move all sheeps at the same time (this is the challenge).
- If you move one at one, the game is pretty boring and you won't have much fun.

=============================================================================

Some Technical Details:

- I used a boid algorithm to control the sheeps, following [1] and [2].
- Inkscape and Tiled where used to create all graphics and maps.
- I'm also using CreateJS and Creatine as code base


Credits to my Wife, Carolina Vidotto Pyramo for the sheep sounds and the game name. =**


[1] http://www.kfish.org/boids/pseudocode.html
[2] http://www.red3d.com/cwr/boids/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#35Overall3.96
#55Audio3.82
#59Fun3.81
#76Graphics4.04
#81Mood3.66
#127Innovation3.86
#148Humor3.26
#1026Theme3.09

Comments

rogberth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:31am

Cute and fun little game, but it needs more wolfs... and maybe less water haha

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39am

Nice game concept and got implementation. Graphic looks super. Sound - yeahh. UI!

Unfortunately level 3 does not start :(
Firefox 33 on Gentoo Linux.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09am

..i love the graphics style and the gameplay..nice :)

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Wow! This is flippin' delightful - great aesthetic, really polished, and cohesive... this could totally a great mobile game.

I get the same as jfreax though: level 3 doesn't start, throwing some create.js error in the console. Fix it please!!!

renatopp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Thanks @jfreax and @mrspeaker. I just fixed the bug. You all can play on firefox!

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Awesome game!
Very original gameplay. I didn't know sheeps was afraid of mouses aha.

This on mobile/tablet with multi-touch support please! fingers are dogs aha :-D

renatopp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52pm

@gre, or pigs! http://www.berkshirebotanical.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/babe-1.jpg hahha

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

I hate Sheep now thanks. Really great game graphics are amazing gameplay is amazing its really well done for 48 hours.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

This was a lot of fun. I'm a big fan of anything that uses flocking algorithms.

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Thank you all, guys

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

I love this game. The sounds, graphics, and everything was great. Its really cute and simple (Not in a bad way at all). Excellent work!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

cool game!

muramasa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14am

I found it pretty good on most aspects. Only thing was the music. It's repetitive, yes, but then it stopped and never repeated ever again. Also I find sheep sounds kind of annoying. Though you varied them.
Wolves were a nice addition! First levels were long and tedious. Wolves gave the game what it needed. Thrill.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Yah! you fixed it! I really wanted to click on a wolf. This should totally be a mobile game... do it, else I will ;)

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

Thank you guys.

@muramasa, totally agreed, I hate my sounds and musics, I always have this same problem. I really need to study more on this topic. Agreed with you about the levels, however, the time was short to make them better =((

@mrspeaker, I'm considering this, however, I need to think in more interesting puzzles =)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

Hi there. You made a great game, love it! Have sent it to a farmer friend for reality review, have you seen the Bill Keir LED sheep video ... ? Nice Baa sound... too your flock be true... Cool!

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

@mrexcessive Cool! Let me know your friend's impression! I recorded the sheep sounds, I don't really sure if I can use sounds from videos, but I could totally use for a full version of this. Thank you!

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very nice graphics and sound. I agree that it needs more wolfs

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Holy shit, this is like, the cutest thing ever ^^, nicely made, nice concept.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Love the idea, and the super cute art and audio goes really well with it all. Had fun playing it, great entry :)!

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Wow! A very nice game! I'm a fan of autonomous AI! You implemented the boids so nicely. So simple yet difficult. The art is quite pleasant too. Great job!

zzq says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Like it. Would be fun on tablet, especially for kids.

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Impressive job! I kept expecting wolves to jump out of the trees though, would make a lot of sense. :)

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:26pm

hahhaha @alfadur, nice idea.

Thank you all!

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Awesoem game. The mechanics works much better than I anticipated. Very well done!!

All levels worked for me.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Fun concept, great execution. I love the clean visuals and the controls are spot-on.

Threef says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Good job! That was really fun.

joshg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very nice. If you wind up working on it more, I'd say that they should stick together a little more. And the fear of the mouse starts too close and ramps up too quickly. I feel like you should be able to push them slowly from a little farther away without breaking the herd. You might search for "sheep dog trials" or "herding trials" if you haven't already, e.g. <http://youtu.be/bpjP3mxv21s?t=1m12s>. Other challeges you could add would be shedding (splitting mixed sheep into black and white groups), or singling one out. Well, you probably know all this already. Nice game. More!

allanolivei says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Beautiful graphics and good execution. Congratulations.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Very nice game. The connection to the theme is probably a bit thin, but other than that very well implemented. I loved the sound effects of the sheep and the wolf :D Was sad it ended after 5 levels.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice graphics and quite fun, very good job!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Very nice entry!
I love the sound of the sheeps, very cute

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:26pm

ok, it's a simple fun cute game... But so cute... and there baaaaaas...
relaxing cool game.

renatopp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Thank you guys!

@Joshg, WHOA! Very thanks for your tips, I couldn't really study these videos due to the time, but I watched some, only to do small adjusts the sheeps movements in game (just to looks more like a sheep and less like fishes). Your idea for puzzle is awesome too. I will save your comment to a **possible** full version of the game. Thanks again!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:21am

Very nice and cool :) I'm especially impressed by controls. I first thought it would be very annoying to controls sheep by repelling them with my mouse but you actually managed to somehow make it smooth. It gets a little bit annoying with large amount of sheep (the level with 7 sheep) but it's really okay. Nice sheep voice acting btw :D

renatopp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:28am

Thank you @SoulGame!

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:46am

It was so cute. Just. SO CUTE. I loved it.

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:49am

The amount of cuteness in this game should be illegal, post-jam more levels for sure!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:52am

I want more of dis.

Please make more of dis.

So aesthetically cute. LOVELY gameplay. This will be perfect for touch-screen controls, guiding the little sheeps around with your finger.

This is a game that produced many high-pitched sounds from my vocal chords. It is completely adorable and I was confused and disoriented when it ended, because I simply wanted MORE. :D

Please make moar of dis.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Awesome audio, fun. Good job :D

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice to see that boid algorithm being effectively implemented. Kudos for that. I now remember reading it a long time ago, but never actually got around to implement it. What I still had roughly in mind about it, influenced how I wrote that AI in my LD entry.

Besides that, the sheep are really adorable, I like how they are all basically circles. Still would have liked more levels with wolves, because they punish you, when you have your sheep scattered around the level and don't move them all at once.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very very beautiful and nice gameplay, awesome you do this in 48h !

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:01am

Really clever, and quite fun! Art and sound is great too, all around a really solid entry. Kudos!

Gread72 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:24am

Fun Fun

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:11pm

99 puffy little sheep on the fields,
99 puffy little sheep,
Let one drown, pass it around.
98 puffy little sheep..

Nice game, I love it :)

renatopp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Thank you all!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

only 5 levels? d'oh...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]