Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mash for Three

by Threef - Compo Entry

It's a genre mash of Match-3, Memory and Button Masher!

* Tap on button to change its color.
* Swipe on buttons with same color to collect them. They don't need to be in line
* Collect mines before they explode
* Learn color queue to change more effectively
* Have fun!


Follow me on Twitter: @Threef

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#260Fun3.43
#341Theme3.77
#371Audio3.00
#383Mood3.13
#391Graphics3.35
#408Innovation3.32
#423Overall3.32
#491Humor2.57

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59am

Some colors are practically identical to others, which makes it very frustrating.

geckojsc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33am

first try: 1940 points
Very clean and aesthetically pleasing (only the tutorial finger looks slightly weird, maybe a cursor or something would have been better, but that's just my opinion). The sounds are satisfying and there's a fair amount of depth and strategy.

The difficulty curve is fantastic - once you get lots of mines on the screen it kind of changes the nature of the puzzle, because you have to start thinking about which mines you need to break first to free up that one trapped mine in the corner. It's here that being able to memorise the colours really helps (I'm not very good at it!)

I wonder if playing this game will improve my short term memory? ;)

acerunox says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice game, but I have to agree that some colors are too similar to others and it makes it confusing/frustrating. But overall really cool! Also 1576 on my first try. :)

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Damn, it's frustrating to miss a color you need! Very nicely done, tho.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I really enjoyed this game, I didnt have the same issue with the colours being similar mind. Really great entry ^^ Kudos :D

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Very cool. I didn't understand it right away, but it's very enjoyable.

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55pm

1700+ first try, I think I like this game :P

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56pm

A little confuse at first but fun after !

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Lovely colors and gave the game a retro feeling. Thanks for the game and good luck!

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Now that was really interesting! I only got 1476 my first try but also read the instructions during that and hadn't seen the tutorial. There's a lot of room for skill increase even though the playing field entirely random.

lukz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06am

Great idea! Well executed! 1080p, 60 FPS, 10/10!! :D

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12am

Its hard to tell the differences between colors in this game, but neat concept though :)

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Simple, colorful and challenging. Good job!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:38am

Very well polished. It plays super well, and is really fun. Definitely mobile platform potential. My only gripe would be that some colors are very close to others visually.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Neat little solid entry! The colours hurt my eyes after awhile, though. Lovely job, well done.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very nice! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]