Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

MicroChess

by feizenbara - Compo Entry

A variation on the rules of chess.

No sound because I didn't had means to do anything worth it.

Play with arrows on your keyboard or click on orange arrows to make the screen scroll.
You can use R key to reset a stage if you want to reset faster.

Don't spam too much, I'm pretty sure it will crash :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#22Innovation4.30
#275Overall3.49
#387Fun3.26
#444Theme3.68
#446Humor2.64
#793Graphics2.72
#814Mood2.63

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50am

Very interesting concept!

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52am

Surprisingly complex, good work.

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29am

Nice concept :)
good job

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30am

This really requires you to think, which is good if its a puzzle game. Good concept.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37am

Generally I love chess puzzles and this game was pretty cool, also a little easy, would have loved to see more puzzles but great game so far!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31am

Hi there. Interesting idea, good chessboard puzzler. Got to level 7 before messing up a few times. Nice level design integrated with tutorial, good job!

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40am

This is amazing, I love it. Very unique idea, great execution. :) Shame about the sound though!

Level 7 is broken. I ran the castle off a hole and he got the queen ;D
I also often run the king off the edge and it doesn't count. :(
Anyway, love it.

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43am

Great puzzle idea! It is a little too easy just to guess the solution with random presses though.

Budi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47am

Well, it's too difficult for me, but I accidently got near the end of this game and then it crashes. Sometimes I've just pressed some keys and I've won. Interesting concept, but well I'm not the best kind of player fot it. :D

And there's interesting bug - when you move before all interactions are proccessed, it messes up them and they start again and sometimes in very different order - sometimes this can be exploited to win the level.

Also - great humour. :)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55am

Simple but cool game.
I always pressed the opposite direction because I expected the board to move there, not the screen...

And I spammed a lot, but it didn't crash, good job!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Firefox crashed on stage 19 D: Neat concept though!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39pm

IT seems like there are more bugs and crashes than expected :( Sorry about that, and thanks for still playing and rating it

Krz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Good game and I like the mini chess concept. I think the colours of the text should possibly be updated.

Fuchter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Love the concept! nice work!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

nice idea, was interesting to play

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

It's a nice job ! like it !

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Interesting chess variation. I didn't really get it in first few levels but then it suddenly started to make sense :D Also, awesome graphics! :D

Webravenz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47pm

very nice concept, i'm not good enough to chests to end it xD

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Wow, great entry! I really liked the concept, would have loved more levels as this feels more like a tutorial setup for a couple of very difficult puzzles! I would play a full version of this!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very cool idea, a bit confusing maybe, but very interesting, it got me hooked quite some time.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Really inventive puzzle mechanic. It takes some time to wrap your head around how the pieces on the edge will move with the camera but ones in the middle won't.

Given the small screen size and simple controls, this could be at home on mobile.

You may want to uncheck the Audio category for judging, since the game has none.

Wevel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Nice game, I did manage to get it to crash by pressing down while a piece was being taken.

hbocao says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Wow! Awesome use of the theme and a so well known game as chess! Really makes you think too. Awesome job! Keep working on it. It could be a hit on mobile.

jpmit says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Really cool idea. Good take on the theme. Nice humor.

I suspect you could make some very difficult puzzles in the future...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]