Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Alpha Circuit

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

Alpha Circuit is a light stealth game about being an anti-virus program. Thanks for playing!

This was made by a team of 2, all within the 72 hours. I did the gameplay and music, and my friend James did the graphics. I opted out of humour, but eligible for all other categories

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Disclaimers: Please use chrome if you can, that way performance will be better and you can use an Xbox 360 Controller. The initial loading screen sometimes freezes but it is loading I promise.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gameplay Tips:
I don't think anybody has beaten this yet, it seems it's a bit hard. The giant eyeballs are difficult to deal with, but if you take out all the red crystal enemies the eyeball will be destroyed, so concentrate on these first and then mop up the other enemies.
The best tactic for getting rid of enemies is to let them follow you, and lead them to a quiet area where you can loop round behind them and take them out.
The last boss is a timing challenge, so basically just good luck with that!
If anyone completes it let me know in the comments (I managed it twice, so it is possible)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#67Audio(Jam)3.85
#73Mood(Jam)3.81
#80Overall(Jam)3.85
#127Graphics(Jam)4.13
#134Fun(Jam)3.62
#308Innovation(Jam)3.35
#844Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37am

This was fun! Enjoyed the concept, music, and sound design.

I liked the cloud visibility concept. It gets hard fairly quickly once the eye is introduced!

trenchgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

Awesome game! Great graphics and music.

erik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

Nice job. It gets quite tricky once the eyeball things are introduced.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Thanks guys! I think I did that classic thing of playing it all weekend so not realising how tough it is. The eyeballs are pretty hardcore, but you should always be able to use the purple node things to escape

plauk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

Really cool.

psychonull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Solid and fun! Gameplay, graphics and audio are all nicely tied together

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Cool game. Looks very nice. Well done!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Oh man! Beautiful. My favourite thing about games is when they create atmosphere. Nailed it. Kinda reminds me of Bastion.

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Very nice. I just don't like it how enemies can see trough walls.

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

I hate those eyeballs so much. Nice job, really atmospheric.

ehtd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:17am

Very cool game, I liked the warping through purple nodes, just the level difficulty raised too fast with the eye

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:19am

Great audio works! I really like this style!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:24am

Nice concept and mechanics! Good refreshner for the stealth games!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:52am

Fantastic game! The art and music are perfect for the setting and style. Once the all-seeing eye enemy appears, it spikes in difficulty a bit much, since it seems to be able to detect you even if it's not already looking in your direction. Enemies also like to clump up together, which makes it a bit tedious to separate them and take them out. All in all, though, fantastic stealth mechanics, and really impressive work overall!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:42am

wow, visually stunning, well done

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:43am

well done feels
really polished....
i like the concept

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:54pm

the artistic style is very consistent, mind-blowing music, nice job

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I really dig the visuals! Nice game.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I like the global mood and artistic direction. I think you made a good job on setting up a pace on the game. Gameplay is a little sleepy though, might need some more punch !

Gungnir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:15pm

This is a very cool thing you've made. The fast travel mechanic is empowering without being overpowered, and lifts the stealth mechanics to a new level. Slick fun, with the theme woven into everything.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Wow, really nice game! It runs at 25fps here, though. It also seems kind of random when a virus is going to turn around or not, so it's always kind of a gamble. The "loading" animation also gets old kind of early, even if so well done. Music's really nice!

rainshapes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Wow, awesome art!

headchant says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Awesome idea! I love the graphics and the concept. The audio fits the game idea well.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Great artistic style! I couldn't get into the gameplay, but listening to the music build and looking at the stages made it a worthwhile experience.

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nice! I like the teleportation mechanic to circumvent enemies. Very clever. Great ambience and polish, too. The Ui screen transition (with all the squares) is neat looking but really slow, especially when you're forced to watch it several times in a row. Great job!

colludium says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:06am

I really enjoyed that. Lovely graphics and great concept - well balanced.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Nice gameplay, tutorial and interface, very old-school. It's so awesome that you did support for xbox gamepad in a html5 game!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:08am

Really good job on this one. It's a full polished fun game that looks good and stays engaging!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really awesome game, I finally managed to beat it. The graphics and the overall atmoshpere are really great.
The loading animation takes a bit long though (I had to bring this up again, yes), and towards the end it's just: luring an enemy to a purple spot, phase away, enemy loses interest and tries to go back, phase in and kill him from behind... over and over again.
Still, I liked it, it was something different from what I've played the past couple of days.

AMS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Really good game, very polished, well done!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Pretty awesome game! I really liked the graphics, the audio and the gameplay. The concept of quick change of position by travelling as code is great. I got stuck in level 3 though, because one of the enemies spawned inside a wall and I could not target it. Apart from that, what bugged me a little was that enemies could see through walls, but the player can see their sight, so that's not a big problem. Great job overall!

joekinley says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:31pm

TL;DR; ... then WTF is happening? What am I doing?
Then I figured it out, was quite fun. Pretty nice graphics and audio you did there.

Don't see the theme in here though, or am I missing something from not reading stuff?

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Very very well done!
No complaints from my side.
I beat the game on my first try.

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:48am

Took a while for me to figure things out, but was quite fun once I did. I liked the stealth mechanics, and how much strategy was involved. It was very challenging without being frustrating... especially with that damn eye bal.

Excellent visuals and sound effects, which created a distinct atmosphere. A very nice LD entry, with plenty of potential to be expanded on.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Thanks again all

The loading animation is way too long, that's actually a bug that I could fix very quickly, but I'm leaving it in because basically I messed it up so I need to live with the consequences!

@joekinley The theme didn't come through as I hoped, but the basic idea is that you're logged into a server getting rid of a virus, but seeing it graphically rather than though a command prompt. Hence the loading animation instead of just changing levels

@erkberg No idea how an enemy can spawn inside a wall. That should be impossible. Bugs.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:31pm

First I just want to say thank you for taking the time to play and comment on my entry, Natquik. I really appreciate it.

Secondly, this game is extremely well done. I had a lot of fun playing it. Yes the giant eyeballs are tough, but they are possible to defeat! :)

I found the game challenging, fun, and really good to listen to. I like the aesthetic, I like the levels. This is a really great entry. Thank you for sharing and congrats! :)

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I'm kinda partial to gamepad support so I have to give you props for that. Also, a fellow C@ dev, I see. Kinda hard, but a fun game. Good job.

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:15am

This was a very solid and complete feeling game for a jam entry. Well done. Nice soothing music, impressive graphics, and a clever game concept.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nicely done, great music and great mood.

hexagore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I didn't finish this, I'm afraid to say but I gave it a good go.

Normally you see a lot of stealth-em-ups in Ludum Dare but the additional mechanic of teleporting between hubs... that really helped make it feel different... and tactical.

I absolutely love the ultra-detailed high-res pixel art and the music is completely wonderful. Really enjoyed this :)

hexagore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I got to the boss level btw!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I like the murder beams, I wish you could move faster. Where is the space hoarse?

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:14am

Nice graphics and music, but other than that, I got bored pretty quickly.
Stealth games aren't really my cup of tea for sure.
I found it pretty irritating that once being spotted, I couldn't zap the enemies.

Also, there was a big issue in the tutorial asking to press the "A" key which never worked, and instead I had to use the Space key.
It was pretty confusing, even though the rest of the tutorial presented the rest of the mechanics/gameplay but in an unclear manner contrary to what was expected.

Good polish and ambiance though.
Good job on making this game in 72 hours.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:23am

I just had this really weird epiphany where I realized I told you this reminded me of Bastion, and I really meant Transistor.. haha.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Wow @spacedoubt that is commitment to accuracy right there

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I really liked the game's mood! Good job!
I don't think it was hard, just a bit repetitive, and the overall stealth design wasn't perfect (like you say, the best method is to attract the viruses and then let them go away... not the most fascinating stealth approach :) ).
I still found it fun, and it was really polished for a jam game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]