Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeons & Margins VII: Financial Fantasy

by matthewdpace - Jam Entry

Many a quest has lead to either triumph or failure because of shoddy equipment. Adventurers, Soldiers, Heroes, come to the Last Stop Weapon Shop where we have the equipment you need.

In Dungeons & Margins VII: Financial Fantasy, you play as the Merchant of the Last Stop Weapon Shop. You will deal with Heroes and thieves, friars and tax collectors. The goal is to make it big, expand your business coverage and maybe even get featured on the cover of Rogue Magazine.

Prepare Heroes for their journey or sell them scrap and take their money, it's all about what you the Merchant decides.

Created by Matt Pace and Andy Donato.

Instructions: Use the keyboard (arrows, WASD, or numpad) to select menu items. Scroll through inventory items with up/down. Buy and sell to maximize profits.

**Developer note** Previously mentioned bugs are fixed. The game should run fine now. Please note we never got around to implementing an end-game, so it runs forever currently.

I plan on updating this in the future, with a possible iOS/Android port. Check www.matthewdpace.com for updates, and thank you :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Humor(Jam)3.52
#467Innovation(Jam)3.09
#569Mood(Jam)2.95
#600Theme(Jam)3.45
#746Graphics(Jam)2.73
#806Fun(Jam)2.64
#837Overall(Jam)2.79
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

Stuck on the nav screen (linux).

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

Screenshots are promising, but I have no idea how to run this game. :(

Budi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29am

Yeah, please make a proper release at least for Windows, this game looks promising! :)

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:48am

I think you meant to embed an iFrame, but it's not showing up for me.

If you can get it running or release a downloadable version, I'll definitely give it a try!

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26pm

@sorlock @rzuf @Budi @hissssssssss Thank you guys for giving this a try.

Instructions have been posted, but I humbly recommend/request you wait until Wednesday to try the game so that I can undo the undoing I did when I rolled back a git commit that not only had bug fixes, but over-zealous refactoring as well.

Thanks!

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:19am

Sure, I'll give it a try Wednesday. Good luck!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03am

Yeah this game looks really promising. Wont load, No rate from me. Sorry :(

cxsquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Really neat idea. It was fun till I think I found a bug where I could keep selling an item over and over. But overall nice work. Can't wait to see where this goes.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Game feels like it has a lot of potential! I discovered a bug that if you buy/sell too fast the game crashes. Nice with the customer interaction detail. Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:38pm

I like the idea of this game but it needs a few improvements I would say. I was rich just buying everything without negotiate and selling to the first person that wanted it. BTW The only good elf is the dead elf :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Totally awesome idea and the humor is cool!
Just too damn buggy, but I won't give you any stars less for it, I'm sure you're going to fix most bugs.
And I played mostly for the jokes anyways. That one with Ganon and the internet was awesome, I never heard that before! xD

Kardfogú of Creative Sectors, out.

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I forgot to post in here (to identify which comments came after), but there has been an update released. I'll be continuing development, but I'll separate any versions that implement new features (there were many planned) so that we can be ranked on our actual Jam time limit output.

Thanks again everyone :)

headchant says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:37pm

the provided .love does not work and seems to be have changed after the deadline?

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:03am

@Headchant per the rules minor bug fixes , major big fixes involving crashes, and typo fixing is allowed.


Te .love was tested on both linux and windows, using Loce2D v 0.9.1. What version are you on?

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:06am

Apologies for the typos. On mobile at work :-/

andyphobic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:01am

Hi everyone, I'm the Andy Donato involved. I did the artwork and helped with some of the ideas. This was my first time working on a game for Ludum Dare and I really enjoyed the entire experience. It was also my first time really using MS paint and I feel like I learned a lot just over the weekend. Thanks for all the support for Matt and my game, I definitely am planning on returning next contest.

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:40am

Sorry everyone, bad build, new one uploaded (and tested)

Teesquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:13am

To sell or not to sell, that is the question.

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15am

I like the jokes they tell you when you try to negotiate too much. sometimes the joke and the item name you were negotiating for go together well and it gives a stronger personality to the customer and makes it even funnier. I was robbing these guys blind, buying things for 0 gold, haha. The graphics were simply colored, but the line art was good, and despite just being a picture, the perspective with the weapons on the sides helped establish the feeling of being in a place trading. Great item suffixes/prefixes.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Haha, I think I just bought an "excellent mithril helment" from a guy for 2 Gold and then the same guy offers me a "average bronze crossbow" for 27 gold :D

It'd be nice if I could see all items the hero wants to sell on one screen (list?) or at least multiple ones at once, with the current one selected and up/down keys scrolling up and down the list. It took me a while to figure out it was all part of the same exchange.

Other than that - love the idea, and like the jokes hidden in there!

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:12pm

@Germanukol I guess I need to balance the power of the friendliness rating a bit better

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I löve the idea and it was well executed. Good job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:52am

Cool idea! Feels like the "buy" and "sell" phases should be interleaved a bit more smoothly. I like the idea of maintaining stock and keeping customers happy. Good job!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Could not manage to get it to work with Ubuntu 12.04

rantt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Cool concept, I liked the idea of balancing buying and selling with keeping on your customers good side. Some sound would've been nice. Fun game, nicely done :)

Sharky says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Good concept! I did get this error https://www.dropbox.com/s/yl2shc7rhe27mbq/Error.png?dl=0

And also no images appeared at any time only the text boxes
(I got the windows verison)

Shivur says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Funny but a little bit buggy.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:24am

Very nice! ;)

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Love the idea! It has a lot of promise/potential. Would be great to see this made into a full game .)

Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice game, funny, but buggy. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]