Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Santa Saves Christmas

by BitDemon - Jam Entry

You're Santa and you have to collect the presents that have been dropped.
To slide over to the different blocks left click the highlighted blocks.
Watch out for ice blocks, they will break if you stand on them.
To remove ice blocks and snowmen right click the block to make it fall.
The snowmen will shoot snowballs at the block you're standing on so you better move quick.

I'm pretty happy with the outcome, I wish I could have added more but I didn't start till later.
There are probably a couple of bugs, like being able to move to blocks with snowmen. Also there is no sound other than the background loop, I completely forgot about it until the last few minutes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Graphics(Jam)3.87
#435Humor(Jam)2.70
#466Mood(Jam)3.07
#481Innovation(Jam)3.07
#490Theme(Jam)3.57
#715Overall(Jam)2.97
#893Fun(Jam)2.45
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

die. restart. die. restart. die. restart. ok i got this. die restart. lol

BitDemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

@Trixton Yeah... before I submitted I increased the spawn chances of the snowmen and didn't really test it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47am

I like the graphics, but I ended up dying endlessly, seemingly at random, so I kinda gave up.

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

I quite liked the movement mechanics in this one, with having to watch out to not trap yourself in ice and everything. Being rushed by snowmen on restart though... :)

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40pm

After I understand that the snowmen were throwing snowball at me not trying to beat me with a club the game got easier.
55 gifts 1v1 me m8s!

riktothepast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Very nice game!, love the mechanics but it is very difficult to play, those snowmen are evil!. The graphics are also top notch.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Im not sure if I am doing something wrong or what cause I keep dying.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

First time spawning i was surrounded by snowmen lol. Needless to say i didn't last long. Difficulty is quite high. But, once i got it down I got 16 presents!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

Starting is quite frustrating because of how fast the snowmen attack and respawn... Then after killing those initial snowmen and collecting all the initial presents... The game becomes way too slow :( interesting game, but the fun was over way too fast.

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

The randomness of what spawns kind of does the game a disfavour. I feel that if there were previously designed levels it would be a stronger game.
Nevertheless I have to say that I enjoyed and I feel it has loads of potential.

One of the best games I've played yet. :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:28am

Interesting quick fix game! nice isometric art as well, nice entry!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23pm

"Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am
die. restart. die. restart. die. restart. ok i got this. die restart. lol"


that's exactly my impression :))
funny game nonetheless :)

Troilk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Good game, though when you get used to mechanics it becomes quite simple :)

Venturelli says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:08am

It's interesting, but it's currently nigh unplayable. I kept getting killed instantly until it randomly stopped spawning snowmen and then I was just collecting presents endlessly with no challenge :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:10am

i keep dying all the time - please make a non-dying all the time version

sikosis says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Snowmen are a little gutless, however the graphics are fantastic. You should definitely polish this one up and release it.

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:52pm

The game is cool, but dieing all the time makes it untestable and unfun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]