Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Arcade Mashup

by CryoGenesis - Compo Entry

*Requires Java 1.8 (or latest) * ONLY TESTED ON WIN 7 * REQUIRES SCREEN RES BIGGER THAN 1280x720 *

One game on one screen? How about 5 games on 5 screens!

In this game mashup, you must beat, in no particular order - Pacman, Space Invaders, Breakout, Lunar Lander and Snake - To be awarded the title of Arcade King. They must all be beaten one after the other and some allow only a single try (snake, lunar lander and pacman).

10 points for whoever spots the easter egg!

Controls for each game on the bottom-right side of their screen.

(games differ from the arcade versions in various places)

----------

Made with Java, in IntelliJ. All graphics made with GIMP. Sound effects made with BFXR and FL Studio.

----------

Particularly hard LD this time, having to re-make 5 classics in 48 hours. Snake only took around 1 / 2 hours. Pacman took the longest. Hurt my brain near the end, it's like starting over 5 times because all the games work differently.

Disclaimer:

If all 5 games are completed and won, user is awarded the official title of 'Arcade King'. This title is official and valid for 1 year, in all UN, EU and NATO member states. To be used in the form : "John Smith, Arcade King" and can be used on all official government documents.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#247Fun3.45
#380Overall3.37
#429Mood3.07
#467Humor2.60
#469Theme3.66
#488Graphics3.19
#498Audio2.82
#804Innovation2.76

Comments

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:30am

I had the same idea. Glad to see you made it happen!

AGausmann says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:53am

I found a big issue. The launch script doesn't add LWJGL libs to java.library.path, AND it doesn't add library jars to the classpath, so the game fails to load for me :(
I had the same problem, always working in a development environment that handled all of that for me.

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:05am

Hey man... Great job. Make me remember the old school games!
Congratulations!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:31am

Too bad it didn't work on my computer, I loved the idea! - Windows 7, 1920*1080

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:42am

I got 3 out of 5. All that games where done really well.

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:51am

This game reminded me that I'm awful at classic arcade games.

The idea was clever! The entire game(s) on one screen eh eh.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

I would like to play all of them at once, on the same screen.

pleepleep23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

Very fun. Like the effects that were added. Gives arcade the classic arcade games it different twist.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

I love it ! :3

i won 2 of 5 :c

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Fun game, didn't particularly like some of the sound effects, but I liked the idea of having several different games. Well done for not using a game engine. Also, some of the games played slower than I would have liked. Especially pacman.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

Well, there are all in one screen :)

Zabuza says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

I had the same idea. Seems like there are a lot of us! Anyway its not working... Java virtual machine error...?

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/cryo/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

Had a Java VM error, but got it fixed. I could only get 2 out of 5. Nice!

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Awww, This looked really interesting but it wouldn't load, here's the dump if its useful. http://pastebin.com/CaEcV9B2

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:31am

My mac refused to open this file :(

DigitalQR says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:04am

Very cool idea and quite an enjoyable game, but some of the sounds I don't think worked well i.e. the pacman eating noise

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

I got an error message "A Java Exception has occured" on Windows 7 32-bit. Bye !

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Doesn't work for me :'(

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I don't rate, because failed on linux64, (UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path) with command line (I try several variation)
java "-Djava.library.path=$APPH" -jar ArcadeMashup.jar
Your packaging need some improvement at least a working script (unix + windows) ;-)

Anyway, you're crazy, 5 gameplays ! I had difficulty to release my single pacman variant (also with java/lwjgl + other libs) and you do it + 4 others.

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Repackaged the game with proper native libraries now. Should work on 64-bit Windows, Linux and Mac OS properly. 64-bit Only!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Great idea and execution. I like the style and take on the theme. Some of the games, like the space invaders, could be a bit faster though. It'd be cool if each game had a time limit of something like 10 seconds, when time runs out it switches to a new game and saves your progress. So it constantly switches between games until you complete or fail all of them. I'm thinking kind of Warioware-esque I guess.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Really greate collection of classic games. Will definately remain on my computer! ;) The only thing is you didnt really get the theme, but everything else is greate!

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Great idea, and cleverly done :)

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Very nice! 3/5 games won :P

Dejsan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Had similar idea, you done it pretty good man!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I have latest Java and 64b windows... not running tho. Would like to play this though!

zakchaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really cool concept!
Had a similar idea, but i went with something else,
Congrat on completing it,
Sound is a bit grating,
Great Job!

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Got it to work on OSX, with java 8.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I got it to work! very ambitious in the time and well delivered. I updated Java and my graphics drivers. :) all good!

alyphen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Some pretty and well polished mechanics for some old classics. Well done! The shake effect and particles played off nicely, and the transitioning between different games handled very smoothly. "You are a pile of chocolate flavoured ice cream", aha xD
While it was sorely lacking music, the sound effects did give it some solid depth, and it was definitely fun to play.

BCSGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Interesting play on the theme (I think it fits, more like 5 games on one screen). Liked the SFX. Working on my Win8.1 machine and current Java. - Brandon

rameshkannan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:04pm

ok

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Cool idea, but what if you controlled them all at the same time?? Or if they werent all just clones. :/

kaype says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

I like the concept and the everything was really fun!

My only complaint is that there was a bit too much screenshake.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

I love this!! :D

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

Couldn't get it to run even after installing latest jre. Very impressive 5 games in 48 hours, excellent!

TimtheBo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Awesome! Definitely gonna kepp this one around! All the best games on one screen.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

awesome game! :D I love it

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Interesting concept! Really innovative and fun to play! Well done

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:53am

Very cool idea indeed!love it!

Adam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Love the mashup idea of some of my favorite games from when I was a kid.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:14am

Got that error, installed latest JRE and still get the error. A shame! Judging from the video, it looks damn impressive. Not only did you implement those 5 games pretty much spot on, there's also a decent amount of polishing, screen transitions and all that going on. Also, Pacman and Lunar Lander seem rather complex, amazing how you managed to finish all that. :)
All in all probably one of the best games I've seen so far, Jam included.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]