Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

clickbox

by rubna - Compo Entry

arrow keys + x

plays like a tamagotchi; you're supposed to leave it open while doing other things!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#56Graphics4.14
#81Mood3.66
#84Audio3.65
#92Overall3.78
#99Fun3.71
#113Theme4.08
#116Humor3.38
#168Innovation3.74

Comments

duon44 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53pm

it's a nice and relaxing tamagotchi-like game. :3

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Love it
Best dickbox ever

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I love it, very soothing and the interface is very original.
I'm going to leave it running for a while and see what unfolds :)

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49pm

The animations and interactivity are amazing!!!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Very good implementation of the theme. It's a new kind of idle-game. Very relaxing. Really cool! Great job!

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

A really great idea for a game, and ridiculously cute as always!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I love this game Rubby, it's uber fun haha :D
The lil animations are cute as heck

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Really cool and smooth game. Like your animations and sounds. The backgrounud color makes me turn crazy though...

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I love it! Nice, fun and casual. The graphics are amazing and I like the little animations on the man.

I think I'm gonna keep this open for a while, and poke him every so often. =)

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

@grid96 sorry to hear that! more people are having problems with the background color :\ it helps to put it on full-screen, but that takes away the idea of the game i guess. I'm thinking of making this into a full game, so then i'll definitely pick another color.
Thanks for playing anyways!

Waschtl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The game itself is cool. Sadly, I can't move the windows itself, so it's kind of stuck in the middle of my screen. :(

Love the simplicity, your sprites and animations!

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

@Waschtl you can drag the screen by pulling the icon at the left-top side of the screen!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

A great looking game! Though I find it quite odd that you chose to use the arrow keys instead of the mouse. I like how it's somehow even cleaner than an actual tamagotchi which actually make it more appealing. An interesting submission!

Robotic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Ok THAT's awesome. Keeping it on my screen for the night.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

This was quite adorable, nice job!

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:29am

http://puu.sh/dpQ4N/145f6fc3af.png

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:54pm

One of my favorites so far. It's just so charming and cute. Great work.

Pol&Tyu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:18pm

The sound effects are really cute <3

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Daww, this was really cute, the animations are great. Strange you can't use mouse in it, though.

Wolve says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:11pm

so cute

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Nice graphics, and a simple yet fun game. Great job!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:00pm

The way of polish, especially the cursor and interaction with the things on the screen, that super cute bunny and so on. Such a good work! After some time, the game died:

"ERROR in
action number 1
of Draw Event
for object obj_controller:

Trying to use non-existing surface."

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:06am

I'm not far into it, but I'll say that already it gives me nostalgia - it may be the red & the glove, but it reminds me of playing on super mario 64 as a kid - playing with mario's face that is. the animation and relaxed, fun feel of it certainly bring back those feelings... I really love it because of that! Well done!

(One complaint though - would there be any way to move this window around on screen? I'd like to leave it open while keeping an eye on it, but it's kinda smack dab in the middle of the screen. That aside I like it a lot!)

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:09am

Oops - silly me. Complaint redacted once I figured it out n_n; sorry about that!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Really unique and calming! Love it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]