Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Visual Out

by madameberry - Compo Entry

Abandoned for your obsolescence, you must escape the screen which binds you. What will you find on the outside?

I wasn’t a huge fan of the theme this time ’round. Instead of taking it in a “technical limitation” sense, I decided to use a visual of an old or tube monitor as a frame for the game, theming it around that.
Technically the game (and the code!) are each in just one layout, too, so...

If I had the time, I’d like to work on the end some more so it doesn’t just kind of cut off. Other than that, I’m super happy with this game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#27Mood3.96
#96Graphics3.98
#129Audio3.48
#198Overall3.60
#299Innovation3.50
#604Theme3.57
#752Fun2.88

Comments

madhoe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

Lovely game, great concept. The art and the mood is spectacular - the chains at the start really did it for me. Although: I didn't get it at first -- it took me a while before knowing how to progress past that first part. Really great for a Compo entry. Good job!

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

I made it to a pit and couldn't get past. I blame my own incompetence :(. Not really my kind of game. That being said great art, and the story seemed to be interesting (Can't say much on the story as I'm a moron and got stuck in a pit). Thanks for making this :).

Pastry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

Awesome graphics and audio! Game is really simple and short, but the atmosphere and mood are great, I'd really love to see more. Controls could be worked on though, holding the mouse button can be a bit awkward, as sometimes you're not sure if he's doing the attack or not, so some graphical or audio feedback for the start of the stomp would be nice. Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42am

Amazing atmosphere and graphics!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Beautiful and mystical. Lovely take on the classic side scroller genre.

madameberry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15pm

@Mincemeat: Guh I was intending to put a thing in the pit that would port the player back to the last checkpoint if they fall in but I ran out of time and now the player just gets stuck, and I'm sort of upset with myself over that. Sorry!

@Pastry It was meant for mobile, so it feels a bit better there. Totally right on the visual feedback though, I need to indicate when the game starts looking for a "hold" so you know to keep holding.
Thanks!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

5 stars for the mood. I finished the game, and I've to admit that the mecanic is great !
I wish I could use it in more different ways, well done !

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Really good story, I enjoyed figuring out the puzzles.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

I really enjoyed the pixel art! Good job

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26am

The game is great! I love how you used the theme.
The art is great and the ambient is beautiful and mysterious.
The story was interesting and gave a sense of eeriness
Overall the game is really good, but I wish you explained how to play and having no audio sorta hurt, but otherwise it was a amazing game!

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27am

@xWarZonex, I do have audio. Not sure why it apparently wasn't playing for you...?

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:29am

Hehe, somebody really wanted to do that avoid the light theme! I liked the visuals, they were pretty nice! Music fit pretty well with the mood.

I would have enjoyed more uses for the stomping mechanic, would have been really cool.

Warboys says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

Really cool overall mood, I got stuck in the pit and couldn't figure out how to get out of that room (the teleporter didn't go both ways). Would love to know how to get past that bit to see the end :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

I like the pixel art, good relation to the theme, sound is flawless. Good job overall

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

Great Mood the graphics were really well done as well good job

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

Amazing atmosphere. Everything feels dark and heavy. Not quite sure how it fits the theme but that was a great, great game. Thanks!!

jrbitt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

Congrats!! Very nice game concept! I loved the art and the mood!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Interesting game. I didn't really get what I was doing for a lot of the game, and the first few levels didn't feel much other than just walking from left to right. Nice mood, but the whole thing feels a little too cryptic for me to get into the story enough, and the core gameplay wasn't all that fun.

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55am

Really nice graphics and mood! Also liked the fact that there was an ingame-introduction for the controls.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06am

very cool. Love the ending!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30am

Very clever use of the theme! I liked it a lot!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42am

Hi there. Like the look and feel. All he would do is walk left to right though... nothing else seemed to be possible. Like the organ music.

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Can you post a video ? I'm really bad at this game :D

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

@Manou: Sure, I'll work on that today!

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The Gamejolt page for Visual Out now has a video!
http://gamejolt.com/games/other/visual-out/41116/

Belvar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Wow, the visual, the writing, the puzzles, the audio... All of that is amazing. Very strong entry. I just wish it was longer :D

pandamicro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:11am

Great work ! I love your interception of the theme, and it's very smooth to play, simple gameplay and good level design

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

So cool! The aesthetic reminds me of Heiser Saint's games. I really liked the strange atmosphere, but I think the pace and gameplay don't communicate well what the graphics and text do. Work on getting the gameplay to reflect the world you want to show us, and this could be really great! I think.

Thanks!

BroCade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Awesome game!

jelly says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Aghh! This is a stand out for me! I just liked your approach and how it all came together to make a powerful atmosphere. The music is soo good I'm still listening to it!

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I enjoyed the "stomping mechanic", the overall concept and how it's laid out: the graphics and sound really benefit the whole mood of the game.

I hope you will continue this because I think that the main mechanic has a lot of potential for multiple genres given its use of timing.

The only thing (yet, minor) that I would change in this entry is in the "Replaced. Abandoned. Broken." scene. When falling into the pit without having created the "bridge" to cross over beforehand, I would let the player lose immediately instead of waiting to receive the needed number of shots.

(Or am I missing something?)

Still, great entry! :D

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:44am

Enjoyable gameplay and music.Cool!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:58am

Really nice atmosphere!

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Interesting game, it wasn't very easy what to do and how to control the character at the beginning.

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:52am

Short and creepy. I don't think I'd call it fun example, but I enjoyed it quite a bit. It felt so unique, and is an example of why I really like LD.

I just wish there were a bit more to it. Very nice job... one of my favorites.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]