Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Mover

by Sh1rogane - Compo Entry

Screen Mover is a very simple platform game with a difference screen mechanic. You move the screen by dragging the window to reveal more of the level but only the objects that are inside the view (inside the window) are alive (or updates). The goal is to navigate your way to the goal (the blue block with the text "Goal" over it) and avoid being killed.

It is recommended to play this game on a screen with at least 1366x768 (or often the standard laptop resolution) absolute minimum size to play this game is 1280x720
I have no idea how this game will play on difference OS other that Window.
*UPDATE*
Apparently this game does not work on Mac so if anyone with a Mac can run the jar with the terminal with the command java -jar LD31.jar that will print the error or exception in the terminal and then make a comment here with that text. Thanks!

CONTROLS
Move right and left - Left and right arrow keys or A and D
Jump - Space or W or Up arrow key
Move the screen - Drag the screen as usual

IN POST COMPO VERSION
ESC - Quit game

You can't move the window and the player at the same time in the compo version (you can now in the post compo version)

Getting stuck?
Remember that objects only live/updates when inside the view/window.
Or look at this to get a clue http://a.pomf.se/hpgmeu.mp4?_=1

*POST COMPO UPDATE*
Okay I have added a new better version of the game.
With this update I have removed the window around it and made so you can drag the window just by holding down the mouse button anywhere on the window and drag. So now you can both drag the window and move at the same time.
(And I changed how it looks when you win)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Innovation4.60
#10Theme4.60
#67Overall3.83
#137Fun3.64
#568Humor2.47
#722Mood2.74
#809Audio2.20
#1003Graphics2.38

Comments

Halleflux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:36pm

It seems we had similar ideas.
Well done, by the way. This was a very creative game.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40am

OMG THAT CONCEPT ! the greatest for the moment !

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

Neat stuff. My one gripe is that I couldn't move the window while moving, but that's probably a limitation of java/your library. Could have used a checkpoint, but it was short enough that it didn't make too much of a difference.

deathray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

5 stars for innovation and theme! This is very creative and devilishly hard. I made it to the left-side, but not past the red slider things.

fueelin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

Such an awesome game/idea. Haven't seen anything like it before.

It sort of seems opposite the theme to me, but that's my only, minor complaint. Great job!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:39am

Hey Hey Hey this is the real thing! Original aproximation to the theme. If Ludum Dare toke admission only for games suited to the theme, would be only 10-20 of all. An this would be one of them.

Well Done!!!

miguelmurca says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very, very nice. One of the best concepts and execution I've seen so far.

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Creative idea, semi-fits in ludum dare theme, I enjoyed it for some time ^^

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Game doesn't launch on Mac. After reading the comments I think we went with the same concept of moving the screen to look around the map ;)

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Incredible concept and tremendously well executed. Such a good fit to the theme. Having objects only move when visible made for some great puzzles.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

This is GENIUS! You're amazing!

TimtheBo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

This concepts *really* makes you think outside the box :P
Nice idea and flawless execution.

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Very impressed; what a great idea!

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:37pm

This is my favorite game so far. The theme left so many possibilities open, and you nailed the theme straight in the face. Well done! The concept is so mind blowing. Definitely downloading source on this one to see how you did it!

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Best use of theme I've seen so far. Just awesome! =D

the31 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Great concept! I had a similar idea when brainstorming, but I didn't think of only updating on-screen objects. The combination is great. Perfect take on the theme.

It would be nice not to need to repeat the first section to get back to the moving red barriers, but it's short enough that it didn't end up mattering. Cool!

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30am

Really like the concept, well done! :)

skonkan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Super cool concept. It was a bit hard to move the screen and play at the same time. But I liked it.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

This game is unique and innovative!
Congrats, I really like to play it!

Simon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

This is perfect, I've found my favorite. Best use of the theme, very very cool mechanic I had a lot of fun and it has a lot of potential. BRAVO.

BK-TN says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Love the idea! It's a bit on the short side but I guess you spent more time getting the mechanics to work right.

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

One of the most innovative games I've seen here yet. I honestly love the concept, though would wish that moving the window was easier.

qristofer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:45am

Cool little experiment. Maybe, make the window follow the player when moving?

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Good Work ^^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Really cool idea. Managed to finish it and thought it was really creative. Nice work.

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Very nice approach on the theme! It takes a few tries to get used to the concept, but very nicely done :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very creative game

bobombe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

That is genius ! Too bad we can't move the window and our square at the same time ... And tell me if you do more levels !!!

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Best game i rated so far!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:02pm

@sonkan @chaosed0 @Coolway99 @bobombe Hey all! I have added a post compo version fixing this problem! But remember to still vote on the COMPO version and not the POST COMPO

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24am

Great concept and use of theme!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:34pm

great, imo the most innovative, 5 stars

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Really really great mechanic here. I've had similar thoughts before but never managed to take the ideas to any place this interesting. Cool stuff.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I really like your take on the theme. 5/5 on theme, definitely.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:01pm

The idea of moving the screen and things out of frame stop update is very innovative! It can be developed into a very interesting maze game or puzzle game! The bullet frequency is a little high and it takes me a while to get through the first turret..

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Love the idea, not only the "drag the window to see", I love the "not on screen, not updating". Congratulations!

montyontherun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:20pm

That was a great game! The original really didn't play along with my Mac, but the post-compo played quite well (somewhat jerky at times, but definitely playable).

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Great and innovative idea! Nice job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:45pm

awesome :D

OttersDen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very cool concept, executed flawlessly. I want to see this with more levels!

AMS says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nice idea! I thought it was really original and definitely made me frustrated when I had to start again x3 good job

obskyr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:15am

Reminds me of HopSlide! This better get one of the top Theme scores - ridiculously cool concept.

Devark says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:35am

great use of the theme imo but other than that it's just an average platformer ...

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great idea! Could have done with a checkpoint after the moving platforms though D:

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Well, this was creative and fun! :)

madmaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Good interpretation of the theme, and some clever programming behind the scenes I imagine. Good work

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:26am

Very creative twist on the theme! I had a lot of fun with this one.

thristhart says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Well done! Feels very smooth. I got frustrated and stopped because of the lack of checkpointing, but it was very cool.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:22pm

That game was amazing! I like the stopping-the-time mechanic behind the game. It could use checkpoints, though.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Great idea, fantastic use of the theme. It's just an average platformer, but it's a great proof of concept and one of the most innovative uses of the theme I've seen so far.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very impressive! Could have used more than 1 level, but I understand coding the mechanic must have been super difficult. Level design was great, if a little easy, game was very innovative and I had fun playing. :)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I can't emphasize how cool this mechanic is :D Really neat idea and something I would like to see developed further.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really cool concept and a clever use of the theme. Be nice too see the presentation fleshed out a bit more. Good stuff.

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:32am

I really like this take on the theme. Once you figure out the idea with updating, it's pretty easy and straightforward, though.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Brilliant and really creative concept! Unbelievable that I have never seen this idea for a game before. Couldn't hear any audio though, did the game have audio?

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:15am

@Gamepopper Thank you! Well yes there should be audio but only three of them, jumping, landing and dying.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:40pm

That's a very original concept - also enjoyable as a game. Well done.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Amazing game! Amazing concept! It's really hard though!

banana4life says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Awesome idea

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Outstanding entry!

This must be the most innovative game that I've played so far. The mechanic would have been interesting enough if you were moving the screen around while controlling the player, but also making things only update if they're on the screen was incredibly cool. I almost wish it didn't just tell me that at the beginning. The idea of stopping the bullets at the beginning by not showing them on the screen blew my mind! Then setting up the pattern so that you can fall down and not get hit by the red blocks was a new challenge I'd never seen before. It was also fun that it masked my desktop! Awesome job!!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:41pm

THIS WAS PERFECT ! Incredibly innovative and excellent use of the theme, I love it ! I guess you could play with other aspect of the idea, the fact that when you're character is not updated it keeps its velocity, I don't know what you could do with that that's just an idea ! Good job !

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:35am

Reminds me of the slug game from a couple years ago. (Hermit, or something?)

Good idea, though at the moment it's nigh impossible to beat.

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:17am

Amazing work, 10/10 for innovation haha. And you even got a mac version working xD

Knighty says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:39am

Interesting concept, I just wish it was longer.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:51am

The concept seems similar to our game which attracted me to this game, I must admit. The level design was quit nice and taught be the mechanic pretty well. Great job!

-AlucardX60

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

@SuperDisk Oh, I must find it then! *later* Hey I found it here http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?uid=11981 "Recluse" I did not know about it until now. Really cool game.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Ran this on OSX 10.8.5. It ran well.

I have to say this is the best use of the theme in this round of LD. I haven't seen one that I liked as much anywhere.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Neat concept. I like how the screen controlled objects on the map, so it wasn't just a limitation, it was part of the puzzle.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

JUST.

AWESOME !

Congratulations !

sirdorius says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Best use of the theme I've seen so far! Congrats!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very good idea! Nice and creative.
It'd be cool if it had better graphics and audio.
I only had a problem because I deactivated the option to see the content of the window when I move it, so I coudn't see the game when I was doing it haha.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:18am

That is brilliant, I love the concept of your game ! Really clever.

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Such 5 star innovation. Much move. So jump. Wow!

Hendri says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

This game is awesome and very innovative. You should keep working on this game and add more levels.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I love the idea! Amazing implementation and hard to win! (I didn't :)) Congrats!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Really nice concept! I Included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/onSxxkN9CmE

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Grr! Died just before the goal!
Fantastic idea, very well done. Graphics would be cool, and I'm not sure how well it'd run on smaller monitors. (Unless it's scaled, then I'll shut up <3)
Nice job, did enjoy. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]