Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Your Screen is Mine!

by D3zmodos - Jam Entry

Take on the role of "Valiant Defender of Screenbuffers Everywhere" in our arena shooter game where you must defend your screen from an onslaught of rogue pixels.

The game takes place on your screen (the background of the game is whatever was on your screen when you loaded the game) and the edges of the screen start coming alive and attacking you, you must fight them back, trying to survive until the next time your screen refreshes and the rogue pixels are put back in their places (temporarily).

Controls:
WASD - Move
Mouse - Aim
Left Mouse Button - Shoot (you move more slowly while shooting)
Escape - Quit at any time

To Run:
- Requires Java to run (probably 7+, might work on java 6 but we haven't tried)
- Simply download the .jar file and double click on it (assuming java is set up correctly on your computer)
- Alternatively run the command "java -jar YourScreenIsMine.jar"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.82
#13Innovation(Jam)4.29
#63Overall(Jam)3.91
#149Fun(Jam)3.57
#580Audio(Jam)2.45
#612Graphics(Jam)3.05
#725Mood(Jam)2.72
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

madhoe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

THIS GAME. I really love how this game is literally on the screen!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I must also say I love how the game plays on the screen. Good job!

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

You're a genuis...

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31pm

It's a small little game, but I won't judge this by that :) I like how it works on my screen, with background ^^

Survival game, timer, sound effects are quite nice, kinda repetitive. :)

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice done it's really cute :D

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37pm

@rokom ye there was meant to be more of a progression with new enemies getting introduced over time and having weapon drops to keep it interesting but we ran out of time :( Also would have liked to spend a bit more time tuning how the game gets harder over the course of each round.

I'm glad people like the idea though :)

jeepracer98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37am

I really enjoyed this game. I liked that it actually turned the screen against you. However, because I have two monitors, the game turned out kind of weird. It took a screen capture of my entire two monitor desktop and then shrunk it onto one of my desktops. I realize this is probably a limitation in Java, and it is a really cool game regardless.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04pm

AWESOME
This game is great, you get high marks. Managed to beat it after many tries. I'm curious what would happen if I had two monitors with this game
btw, I'm using java 8 and it occasionally it freezes

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00am

Innovation and Theme 5 Stars! The theme was on point, very smart. It was really cool, good job!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09am

I wanted to try this out, but it doesn't work on my (admittedly esoteric environment). Instead, it opens a tiny window (see screenshot) in the upper left corner of my screen. I don't know if it's the resolution, or the fact that I'm on linux, or the Awesome window manager, but it doesn't like something. I'll try it out on a windows machine later, for sure.

http://i.imgur.com/3kWUz49.jpg

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:10am

Haha, nice take on theme :-)

BretHudson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:02am

Fantastic idea, I've seen it executed before, but your take on the desktop shmup is great! I've always been interested on how to make a game "transparent" like this, but never known if it was very easily possible. I'm sure I'll be seeing this higher up in the finalists! :)

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03am

Excellent use of the theme, great gameplay. Audio stopped working after the first collision for me, but everything else was great!

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:05am

wow.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:05am

Very clever, shame my screen has a really boring background. Only thing i'de suggest is better sound effects, they hurt my ears a bit.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Fantastic interpretation of the theme, could have used some more feedback when you destroy an enemy (explosions maybe?) but apart from that I really enjoyed it.

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:28am

Excellent game, and I love how it adapts to your screen. Only complaint is that it was rather difficult to survive more than maybe 15 seconds.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Interesting take on the theme!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:35am

I really love this. Don't even know why but I do... Most awesome use of the theme!! 5/5

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

good game , liked the screenshot idea...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]