Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Constellations

by Cat - Jam Entry

Use the left and right arrow keys (or A & D) to steer your little space fish. Look through the magnifying glass to see which stars are good which ones are bad. Collect good stars to build constellations!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Innovation(Jam)4.13
#81Theme(Jam)4.13
#115Graphics(Jam)4.17
#115Mood(Jam)3.70
#165Overall(Jam)3.67
#313Fun(Jam)3.30
#478Humor(Jam)2.63
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Raxsus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very nice! The two kinds of stars look very similar though.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36pm

It took me a while before I realised what the difference was between both types of stars. Once I did, the game was a lot more fun.
Very cute entry overall, congratulations! :)

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

nice game, cool graphics!

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

Takes a while to get hold of the controls, but it gets fun after that. Nice job.

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

I really like the style and the mood of the game. I just wish there was some other kind of help to see the bad stars or the constellations. Maybe quickly flash of the constellations. Overall very cute game! :D

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

cute :D especially the grumpy stars xD The music is really nice too.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

Cute game! But yes, my eyes had some trouble seeing which stars were good and bad, and I kept eating bad ones by mistake while I was squinting. Nice mood, and great graphics!

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

It took me a while also to understand the difference between the stars, but I think that the choice to be hard to notice between them even with the zoom was made on purpose, but it is still a little hard to avoid bad stars sometimes, you could replace a lost heart when the player complete a constellation to help and reward him just a tiny bit. But I liked it =)

zillix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19am

Adorable game! I love the absurdity of the concept, and it was very well executed. I spent most of my time swimming in circles while I identified the stars that were safe for my fish to eat.

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21pm

very nice game.. took some time to spot the differences on such a small window, but then it was really fun to uncover the images.. had fun, good job

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:16pm

This was super cute and a really nice environment to swim around in. I wish there was more of a visual indicator between the different stars as sometimes the frown was hard to tell apart from the smile. The magnifier glass was a really nice mechanic and added a bit of difficulty having to control that in addition to making sure your fish didn't run into any bad stars. Beautiful aesthetic. Nice job!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I liked this a lot! simple, soothing, a bit challenging in spots, and it has constellations and a space fishy! nice job!
-Kitty

Johnro says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Great game! I loved the magnifying glass mechanic. It really added to this game's atmosphere, in my opinion.

Ossi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:35am

Really great! The magnifying glass mechanic is really cool and gives a lot of a challenge to the game. Very nice graphics and the theme was incredibly well done. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]