Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Explosive Painting

by snowyowl - Compo Entry

* One animate paintbrush who lives only for his art.

* One room with a pristine and absorbent white floor.

* An arbitrarily large number of defence robots with no patience for vandals.

* One multifunctional high-capacity laser-powered paintball gun.

EXPLOSIVE PAINTING has all of these and more! Survive for as long as you can against wave after wave of enemies - potentially taking up to SEVERAL MINUTES! Create a work of true art out of paint splashes, laser-straight lines, and the occasional scorch mark and bloodstain.

And when you finally succumb to the ever-accelerating waves, you will have the entire history of your game captured in a single screenshot. Which you can then save to your hard drive, so that future generations can be inspired by your art.

WASD, ZQSD, or arrow keys to move. Click or hold the mouse to shoot. Health packs will drop every 15 points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Fun3.88
#98Innovation3.94
#102Overall3.75
#134Audio3.47
#153Graphics3.81
#362Theme3.75
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

Hahaha letting me save the canvas afterwards, what an idea!

Character is a paintbrush and yet shoots paint? butt-hearts?

Love it.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27am

This was put together really well. I absolutely love that you put in the ability to save the canvas you created at the end of the game. It does start to get a little hard to see what's going after about 40 or so kills, but it's easy enough to make a fully-painted canvas after a few rounds of practice. Very nice.

snowyowl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Blast, now they look like butts to me too.

I'm glad you liked being able to save the canvas. That was the original idea that the entire game was built around.

The game does get chaotic quickly, but that was really the only way to create a reasonable challenge - and I find hordes of weak enemies much more satisfying to kill than a handful of strong boss types.

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

This is really cool and simple to play game !
I really like the idea ;)

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15am

Very well balanced. I love the emergent abstract art

uvwar says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:13am

I love it! If you keep going with this idea, maybe have some water robots that smear the painting or something and make things slippery for the player.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:45am

Fun game - very cute! We liked the pace and mechanics of this game. Perhaps distinguishing pick-ups better would be a good idea.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:34pm

wow, nice funny shooter, very colorfull, well done

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Wow! Craziest game! I like it!

dcolgan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really solid game. It has all of the pieces for a complete game, and I really liked the dynamic canvas aspect. Nice job!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:43am

Hehe. Great way to combine art and violence. I love the idea. Great job!

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:37pm

This is amazing!!! My best was 54 :D

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:57am

Very nice ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]