Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dads Gold

by Crushenator - Jam Entry

Take your Fathers Jeep on a perilous Journey through Deserts & Canyons to find your great grandfathers treasure.

Whew! My first Ludum Dare since #LD24

I felt limited by my skill in Unity as I've only been using it for a week or two now. There's some very ghetto game play elements because of that.

I've opted out of the compo & Graphics category because I used some public domain textures and the vehicle is of course from the Unity asset store. I also ran out of time pursuing my own attempt at a 3D model which turned out to be a total abortion.

For the 2D map and letters I used GIMP.

For the music I used FL Studio and my trusty M-Audio Keystation 88es.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.18
#30Theme(Jam)4.32
#131Overall(Jam)3.73
#165Mood(Jam)3.58
#176Fun(Jam)3.52
#372Audio(Jam)3.07
#616Humor(Jam)2.36

Comments

purplelilgirl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I love this! :) The gameplay is really creative and fits the theme really well, you managed to fit a story and instructions all on one screen.
I am unfortunately not that great at driving :)

MikeTheWayne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very enjoyable game, controls got a bit clunky near the end, and it took me a while to figure out what the magnifying glass was for, but when I did find out, I was astonished at the amazing innovation of the idea. Too bad I couldn't rate based on innovation. However, still a great game.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I accidentally got the ratings categories mixed up. Woops.

voxel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Nice. The magnifying glass works pretty well and i flipped that jeep like a pro. I'd like to see you belly dance to this music for me next time

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04am

This Game Is Great :)

Coconut Mage says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18am

Super Fun Super Creative

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20am

Creative gameplay although a little hard at first!

sweenist says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Overall pretty interesting idea. I had a hard time controlling the vehicle, but I always have trouble with WASD movement. Nice graphics and theme! Very clever!

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

This game is really, really cool! This mechanic is awesome and I'd love to see it expanded upon in the future. Keep up the awesome work!

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:16am

Wow that's what we call a good game!

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

Loved the "zoom in" idea, and I feel like it really fit the theme perfectly (which is very tough given this theme). I felt like "space" should have been mapped to "flip the jeep", or maybe I just rolled it too much. :P

Would love to see this polished up and the concept extended upon!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18am

Adorable, little bit hard to play, but nice idea and realization.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25am

Great idea, i like it.

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

Really original way to traverse a treasure map! A bit difficult to control the car across the river. Twitch is heavily influenced by crazy physics. I often pilot the car vertically, pretty fun to watch though:D Good game!

Reyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

The best use of the theme that I'v seen so far. I ran into a couple of situations where the jeep stopped responding after I flipped it. AFAIK there is no restrictions to using public domain models and texture for the Jam, your art is great. Music fit perfectly. Welcome back :P

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Really cool, interesting mechanic there, I like the way you actually made sure each part was necessary during the journey with different situations.

Was it fun? Not sure, but it was certainly memorable :)

The writing was also a great touch :)

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very nice! Interesting concept. Would make for an excellent mini-game in a larger game. Makes me think of Indiana Jones.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Good idea, it was challenging to follow the car and also to follow the correct path. Music is a bit repetitive, but add to the mood. Good concept for the theme.

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:26am

Wow, this is an awesome concept! My son and I race. I happily won.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:44am

I loved it! It's really original and amazingly well done! Congrats!! I almost fell down the clift, but I got my treasure :P

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Spent half of game driving upside down. Looks like car feels good anyway. Smart idea with the magnifier and map.

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:24am

Really neat entry! It suffers from what all the entries tend to suffer, which is repetitive sounds. Other than that, it's actually really neat. I love the concept, though the flip jeep button put me in a canyon wall, shot me out of it, and made me sink into the river.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:30am

WOW! Love love love! Fantastic job!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:36am

You nailed the look of this game (the map, etc. are lovely), and I love the setup. The actual driving bit is maybe not so fun, but the concept is so novel I didn't really care. =)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:37am

Really cool idea!

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:45am

This was pretty clever! Very, very unique. Awesome job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:55am

This is a great idea! it fit the theme perfectly. Graphics and sound are awesome. Good job.

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:41am

Really cool idea, I understood what I had to do right away with little to no instruction, the truck flips a lot though the gameplay mechanic is stellar

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Well done, I really enjoyed it :)

vinull says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:13am

Love the idea, good job using the theme. I had trouble crossing the water - it seemed like I was supposed to go between the rocks, but I just sank if I tried. I ended up make it across the first river by riding on the rocks, but this was too difficult on the lake.

StMatn says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Very nice game!

The idea with the magnifying glass is really awesome!

The game would be even more awesome, if you could find a way to procedurally generate levels or provide more than one level. That would give it more replayability value, which would be great, since gameplay is really fun!

The physics could be improved a little bit, since the truck can sometimes drive on its side and made a huge jump one time, when i hit a wall ;)
It would be great, if you made the "flip jeep" button more visible. When the truck was unmovable one time, I got pretty mad, when I noticed the button after reloading the game-page (played the web version) :D Well, in fact thats not your fault, I just didn't scroll down to look for such a button. Maybe you can make any profit out of this info ;)

The graphics look very nice and the music is really fitting. That made the game even more enjoyable!

Great work!

Warboys says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:56am

Very creative and unique, nice job with the idea. Of course, I went left because you told me not to ;)

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:17am

Dang I got my truck stuck! Flipped it over once and was able to recover. Second time I really blew it and it got stuck forever, so I never made it to the end.

Very clever idea for the theme and a really nice feel to the presentation. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great idea! Reminds me of the lens of truth of Ocarina of Time... but with cars that can flip and drive while sideways :D Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]