Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

entropy

by alyphen - Compo Entry

Updates:
8/12/14: Bundled versions are now available.

Reasoning behind the naming:
Definition of entropy (WordNik):
n. For a closed thermodynamic system, a quantitative measure of the amount of thermal energy not available to do work.
n. A measure of the disorder or randomness in a closed system.
n. A measure of the loss of information in a transmitted message.

I felt it matched the second and third definitions.

Although it usually refers to chemistry, the game is still a closed system of sorts, and there is much disorder and randomness. (Some of the events that occur are actually chance-based)
Espionage & hacking is also closely related to the interception of transmitted messages.

entropy is essentially a form a visual novel, about espionage, deceit, hacking, and some other stuff.

It's not quite as polished or smooth as I wanted it to be, but it runs decently well to a standard I'm happy to publish.

The entire game plays with the left mouse button, as there is no free movement, only your choices affect the flow of the story.

For Linux, there are both 32 bit and 64 bit versions, so I linked to the GH release page - get the one for your platform.

For Windows, if you get MSVCR100.dll errors, make sure to have Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable installed (you can get it from Microsoft's site at http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555 or searching Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable should allow you to find it)

Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#90Mood3.64
#154Audio3.44
#311Theme3.80
#367Humor2.78
#578Overall3.18
#645Graphics2.95
#767Innovation2.84
#929Fun2.64

Comments

sorlok says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

I get the error:
Exception in thread "main" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Couldn't load shared library 'libgdx64.so' for target: Linux, 64-bit


I *am* on a 64-bit system. Googling around gives this:
https://github.com/libgdx/libgdx/issues/1127

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I liked the amount of decisions but I think that the writing could improve. It lost a lot of tension for me.

dook says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Very moody game, a real great feeling of paranoia. I was a bit confused about the details of the story, but I have a feeling that's as intended. I'll return to it later on and try some other sollutions :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:18pm

I really like this game - the dark mood is interesting. I really love the music.

Conk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

The audio is real nice. Being as the text plays a pretty heavy role in this game, I would've made it a bigger focal point and have a very different art style.

Belvar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Quite interesting. Sadly I did not manage to get anything but the bad ending... I like the simplicity of what's happening on the screen in contrast of the story that is being told. The music is relaxing and fit to the story. Some sound fx would have been nice (like, keyboard sounds and stuff)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10am

I liked how you used the single-screen theme to create a closed-room story... that's quite clever! Graphics and sound are pretty good, too. I agree with the other reviewers who have said that the mood falls a bit flat. You've sort of produced a "daily grind" aesthetic, which makes the pathos of the death scene--the death of a person we've never met before--sort of fall flat. You also need more to characterize someone than a speech pattern... I was a little bit shocked by the Irish guy whose accent carries over to IRC.

Still, bravo for coming out with a visual novel for a theme like this! Thank you for the game.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

Loved the feel and mood; the graphics and audio were spot-on. The dialog trees were ok, but the game needed something to break up the monotony. Also, considering that the game's major draw is reading text, it's odd that the font wasn't larger, or more "animated" (like, sound plays as it types out, or something). Would love to see a full release!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:28pm

good effort at storytelling having some topical themes also. Really liked the Audio aswell.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice game, good music.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Wow, really thrilling story, the only thing I would criticize is that it's too slow for a Flash game, but it really got me hooked!

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Liked the alternate interpretation of the theme, and I appreciated that the game was a bit different from other entries!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

Good looking, good music, and good scenario. Well done. :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:37am

Pretty cool! I like how many different decisions you can make :)

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Intriguing story. Will come later to check better endings ;)

// caryoscelus

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I love the music! I think I went down a dead end path, the first time, though.. After a few choices, nothing else happened. Second try was a lot more interesting! Cool idea. I dig it.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Interesting story. Got some movie vibes from this one :) Quite refreshing to only use the mouse. Nice art as well.

pht59x says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Good audio. Why "entropy"?

Night says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Great game! I was killed for the first time, but I'am going to try more! It's very addictive story.

Verz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Very interesting the story and the music beautifull.

Crefossus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Great audio and writing/storytelling. It was a little tedious to replay with the long pauses in between but I guess they are there for dramatic effect.

I thought...if only I could move my desk next to the door!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Love the audio

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:04pm

pretty cool

Zi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice. Very atmospheric and immersive. Would've liked a few more options, like moving around the room to look at things, answer the door, etc. But other than that, a really nice experience! :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Interesting idea, just a bit drab after a while.

nkling says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Music is really great, fits very well. I liked the story, though it was a little hard to understand at points due to the way some of the sentences were worded. Great work though, it was pretty exciting.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:44pm

this was nice, got the bad ending also :(

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Interesting, and I always like a good visual novel...Certainly the graphics and music and everything were good. But I didn't really get it. All these people of different factions, wanting different things...And I don't really know how I'm supposed to influence the outcome of things. I mean, there was only one choice I made that didn't involve answering the door. Wait, two choices. But really, it all seemed like a bunch of vague stuff that you can't really understand...

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:18pm

It certanily has the potential - the feeling being home alone and knowing someone's coming for you was great - but at the same time it has little to no action and the text is pretty small. The story also looked somewhat intriguing. Well done!

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:19pm

hehe that was awesome :D loved the story but got the bad end :c good work :D

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:50am

I have nothing to say that the above commenter haven't said arleady.

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:21am

Ran fine for me. Not bad, although I got the "Bad Ending" I did find it quite enjoyable, it had a nice mood to it.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:43am

The writing could be better, got bored after a few minutes, lack of sounds is a very important issue, has no visual appeal, decisions seems to be the same over and over again, didnt finished. The avatar goes only from the desk to door, couldnt manage to do something else

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:07am

Liked the music! Thought the story was interesting, but I felt like I didn't have enough agency... maybe most because the choices were either answer the door or yes and no. Basically like it felt like any choice I made was mostly random - hope that is helpful.

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Interesting game, really nice music and atmosphere. For me there was a big disconnect going from having Erica tell me about her life and what she's doing to controlling her actions, felt like an almost intrusive POV shift.

Also the writing shows promise but is pretty exposition-heavy. You're doing a lot of legwork to set the scene and tell us about Erica but the main thing a player wants to know, and the main thing that will drive tension in a piece like this, are the stakes. What are we trying to achieve, how are we trying to achieve it, and what have we got to lose if we fail? The choices presented to the player were unknown quantities with no clearly defined stakes, so they all felt pretty arbitrary. The best interactive text games I've played have given players choices where you never truly know the outcome, but can make an educated (sometimes hilariously wrong) guess based on the information the story has presented.

It's cool though, great for a 48 hour game, keep at it! (sorry for the long critique, but I hope it helps. Full disclosure: I studied creative writing 4 years, currently running a studio experimenting with digital storytelling and a small games studio)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I love the idea behind this game a lot. The music was very well done! I love the fact that you actually have trust scores with people (even if you weren't necessarily supposed to see it. :P )

I wish that the text was a little bigger, also in a future version it would be cool if there was a visual difference between the IRC chat, real life dialogue, etc.

Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]