Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Grave Screen Of Death

by Florent - Jam Entry

"Fill the screen with the graves of your enemies !
But beware ! They will explode and destroy everything when you let them get too close to you ! "

Kill enemies and don't let them explode near you or near existing graves because it will destroy them, reducing your score.

Move: WASD. (Press Shift-Alt to toggle between AZERTY and QWERTY keyboard layout).
Shoot: Left mouse button.
Dash in the direction of the mouse: Space

Toggle menu/Pause: Escape

----

IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE RUNNING/LOADING THE GAME

In Safari on OSX, you can try to enable WebGL by following theses steps : https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3300585?start=0
Doesn't work at all in Safari on Windows. :(

Try running it in another browser, try several of them.

The web player just uses javascript and WebGL so it should work on any modern, up-to-date web browser, whatever OS you are using.

----

Made alone in a little more than 26h with :

- CraftStudio, the cubic and cooperative game-making platform. http://craftstud.io
- Daneel, a scripting framework of my own for CraftStudio. http://daneel.florentpoujol.fr
- Paint.net for some of the "art", the rest, including models and animations is made directly inside CraftStudio.
- Sfxr for sound effects. http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html

Sources are on GitHub but you can open the project directly inside CraftStudio if you have it installed by clicking this link :
http://open.craftstud.io/176.31.207.61:4406/0e2efc4b-fdfb-4e97-aa02-cd14c3685aea

Thanks for playing !

Read the post-mortem here : http://florentpoujol.fr/2014/12/10/grave-screen-death-post-mortem-ludum-dare-31

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#556Graphics(Jam)3.15
#617Audio(Jam)2.29
#634Humor(Jam)2.33
#694Theme(Jam)3.33
#752Overall(Jam)2.91
#754Fun(Jam)2.71
#769Mood(Jam)2.66

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hi!
Its a nice crafted game but i got bored around 80 points, needs to have a steeper difficulty curve. Dash was awesome!
Please add some music, try Bosca Ceoil by Terry Cavanagh, its a simple tool.

Florent says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Hey Jupitron !

Thanks you for your feedbacks but I am done with the game !
So no music I'm afraid. :D

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Fun, simple concept! Controls very nicely!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

nice!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Looks alright, the slanted view is a nice touch.

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:43am

wouldn't start, which is odd since I have a craftstudio account.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44am

Not bad, but like some other users said, it gets boring very quickly.

Geti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46am

Got a lot of lag after a while but looked nice, if a bit simple :)

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

Not a bad little arena shooter, but a bit repetitive after a while. I'd have appreciated a bit more gameplay variety.

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03am

Nice dash

Waschtl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:18am

Combat feels kind of "weak", needs more screenshake! Graphics look nice, but the mechanics get repetetive really fast, needed some collectable upgrades or something?

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46am

I like the visuals a lot!

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

ahh... loading bar just sat at 99%.

Just me?

Florent says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41pm

@Luke : It can happen, please try another browser... For me, the game works fine on the latest version of Firefox and Chrome (on Win 7).

Thanks everyone for your comments !
I know the game is a little "weak" gameplay wise, and not enough challenging.

My next game will be better ! :D

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Not very bad :D
I'd love the dash to be in the direction I'm moving though so I can dash backwards but that might have been too over powered :p

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Nice job! Enjoyable, but it doesn't change enough. Also, there seems to be an issue for > 100% DPI in windows. Mouse position is captured wrong so you don't shoot at the mouse. However, that won't affect my rating.

rzuf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Classic twin-stick shooter. I love the blocky characters. :D As others said, it takes too long to cover even significant part of the screen with those graves. :P

kurismakku says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I like the visuals, the way it all looks 3D. Nice job ! :)

Appocket says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Not able to play it please fix this.

JS Console: "RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded."

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Cute graphics, really dig those explosions with the beeping to really stress you out :) . The shooting felt a bit weird. Seemed like the enemies could not register more than one hit every second or so. Good job though!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Sweet simple style in graphics and animation.

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I can't launch the game... The loading bar gets stuck at the last bit... And no more. OS X, Safari.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Neat concept! Really like the gameplay !

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:41pm

A bit monotonus but a nice looking tds
And a bit hard to play with a touchpad ;)

Florent says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:57pm

To those you can't run the game :

I am afraid I can't do much...
I can't test with Linux or Mac but the game even works on Android !

Try using other, modern, up-to-date browsers.
If it still does work, I am sorry... :(

stvr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Doesn't work in Safari on OSX, Got: [Error] RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Cool!Sadly it's hard on azerty keyboard...

Florent says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:46pm

@stvr It seems that on OSX, you have to activate WebGL by following theses steps : https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3300585?start=0

voxel says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:45am

had trouble aiming, but this is a nice dose of hectic action :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Pretty simple but still addictive. I liked the cartoony graphics a lot.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:20pm

I really wish that I could shoot and run. I Included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Wy_mvMH2L7Q

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:11am

Works great! Though once you get the hang of it's easy :P

Maybe some difficulty curve is lacking as said above :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]