Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball Fight

by devshawn - Compo Entry

It's a snowball fight! (all on one screen!)

Hit all of the snowmen you can before they get you. The object is to survive. WASD to move, click to shoot.

Programmed in Racket (a LISP-based language). The console that pops up when you finish is because of the way "worlds" work in the language, sorry!

Source: http://github.com/devshawn/ludum-dare-31

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#775Humor2.18
#975Theme3.20
#975Graphics2.44
#1016Fun2.48
#1093Overall2.56
#1109Innovation2.16
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

Gaga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37am

When i download and run, console with the text.
bitmap:could not find file c:\users\***\bg.png

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

Same here. Seems like it's using a local path?

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

Weird, working fine on both of my laptops. Updated, try now.

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Having the same download problem. Cannot run.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

I'm having a problem running too.

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

I've put a new download up... Try now. Just tried it on a friends computer, ran fine. What happens when you guys run it?

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10am

nice game!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I like it! I wish snowman was the theme too.. ahahah!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Quite good, though whenever I die it opens a console with some debug info.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Nice game. Opens a console when you die, but no big deal.

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55pm

The snowball physics are somewhat awkward. I like this.

I guess you though the other theme would win, huh? ^^

+1 for LISP-based language ^^

The graphics remembered me of old games I liked to play, e.g. crime fighter. This is a good thing.

I would like to hear some fitting sounds and see the snowmans drop snow that you can use to build snowballs or something like this. Would be some dark kind of funny I think^^

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Oddly very satisfying obliterating snowmen. You're right our games are awesomely somewhat similar. Great to get the chance to throw snowballs at snowmen in another game, it's like going to a parallel universe!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

LISP-based? Wow, that's pretty impressive! The game was surprisingly satisfying, just gotta hit all those darned snowmen :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]