Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Flowerpots and Tables

by mohammad - Compo Entry

This is my game. Play it.
Use the arrow keys and shoot the flowerpots...
For some reason Web has the updates but no music and windows has no update but music. IDK just play in the background for web...
Added 2 *Secret* power-ups because its a special day as a celebration
If you get the champange bottle use this sound in the background:

Downloads and Links




rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

I have no idea how to shoot. Or jump properly. But it's interesting in some kind of weird, epileptic way.

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Flashy looks...kinda hurts in the eyes ;-)
but it seems very buggy

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Flashy looks...kinda hurts in the eyes ;-)
but it seems very buggy

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I Shot a Flowerpot, 10/10 :)

A floor would have been a good idea, i think. Or a way to restart without relauching the game :D

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Very very buggy and hard to control.

Bullets could be much faster.

I wish it had sound.

You arent opted in to be voted for! I can't vote!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:32am

Needs some ratings!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Lots of bugs and difficult to control, but good job for the least! :D I wish I could have at least rated it. :\

madalaski says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:16pm

My mind is actually blown at how crazy this is. If I could rate the humor level i'd probably give it a 5 xD. Also I don't quite get the religous belief thing you talk about at the beginning but letting the player choose their music is actually kind of a nice touch.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Pretty crazy game. Why can't I vote for this?

xpwifi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I couldn't figure out how to move it left or right. Also, I didn't find much enjoyment from shooting flower pots, but You presentation of the music was the best part.

"Meh." - IGN 10/10

Venturelli says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:47am

Got seizure, thanks

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:10am

Well, um.

Any reason you opted out of all categories?

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:11am

Awesome game as always Mohammad. We played this as the music and it fit perfeclty. :

Since you don't allow ratings, here is my manual rating:
5/5 overall
5/5 fun
5/5 theme
5/5 mood
5/5 audio
5/5 graphics

mohammad says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Ok sorry about that guys:
VOTE AWAY, Im no longer op'ted out. Sorry about that. Tough theme though...

d3garcia says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:54am

I think i get the point but its really hard to understand

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:30am

I liked it! The controls were weird for me (I used arrows keys and mouse) and wasn't sure if I was supposed to jump to table to table or just keep jumping in the air, but seems like it could be a cool thing if polished.

Divitos says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:35am

This is weird.
I like weird.

Sultan says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:58am

good for first works ,
player object come out from the room .
there isn't any restart button
hard and buggy gameplay
fast gameplay

Piscythe says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

Um. What. My first try, I hopped around a bit then got stuck on top of the screen. My second try, I hopped around, got a rocket launcher, then got stuck on top of the screen and could just rain rockets down on the hapless flowerpots. I'm not quite sure what to make of this so I just gave you 5/5 mood.

StejkRobot says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:56am

Amazing game of the year 2/10

jlouisB says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:35am

Potentially fun, but hard to control...

Sestren says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

A bit on the buggy side, but the upgraded weaponry is fun.

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

For all those complaining about the controls, if you shoot the controller you get WASD controls to use instead of the arrow keys.

calavera says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:36am

it makes no sense at all.

also if you didn't know, you are not supposed to add features after the deadline, that's sort of a huge part of game jams.

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

My poor ears Dx

Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

Last minute comment: Intense! :D

Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:59am

Now to add something constructive:
I think the main thing that's lacking here is a goal or an indicator of your progress. I mean, you can jump around and shoot pots, but there's nothing indicating if you're doing well or anything. If you would add a counter that increments each time you hit a pot, that would make it feel more like a game and less like a demo.
Also, the falling tables right now feel a bit weird since you can jump in the air so you don't need to stand on them, and they don't stop you if you jump into them from below. I would try to either make it so that you can only jump if you stand on a table, or you stop if you hit a table from below. That way they'd impact the game a lot more than they do now.
What I'm getting at is that you could start looking for what makes it play like a game.

Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

It's a good start though!

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

thanks for the review, originally the game DID have controls that forced yoyou to stand on a table, but the idea was removed due to compelling reviews that it was already too confusing and difficult enough to play on. I can't wait for the results though!

calavera says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 4:48am

lol nice scores bro. thanks for commenting that my game was "fake and gay", call me when you score above a 2 and we can talk about your homophobia.

By the way, "but the idea was removed due to compelling reviews".. again: YOU CAN'T EDIT AFTER THE DEADLINE. If you had actually made something worth noticing it would have been disqualified, so perhaps it was for the best that you made something unplayable in "flowlab".

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

Bro u wanna fite? I got second place it says so it says I got 2 on humor. I bet you got something like a 4th place or 10th place you frikken loser

spassfabrik says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 5:11am

You got #514.

calavera says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 5:11am

"my parents are ignorant and get there way. they use what i love as a threat. my cat,my laptop, the tv, my 3ds my friends. ANYTHING. and they WILL destroy it. and use it as an exsample. i HATE them BOTH. i dont love my parents because i show them respect but they dont show it for me. ok? nothing will impress them. they hate EVERYTHING. and ive given up on them, im near the point of useing the knife and shedding blood to get back. ive lost my sainty to them.why? THEY DESTROYED IT. ok? nothing will please them. so just kill me, here and now, so i dont have to face a life of pain. ok? happY?"
- mohammad (

Sorry little guy, hang in there. Things will get better after puberty, I promise.

mohammad says ...
Dec 31, 2014 @ 6:18am

Bro bro bro please, your all over the place. The time is here and now, what happened back there was the process of a 11 year old loser dropping balls and learning to understand the world doesnt like him as a spoiled stupid brat. That was me 4 years ago. Now I love my parents and I've reconverted to my religion and I don't even cuss around my parents. Bro, just stop acting stuck up, and accept fourth place as I take 2.54nd place trophy. Ill see you later hater

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]