Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Punch Squad

by Sos - Compo Entry

You are controlling 4 thugs simultaneously, yet you want only one to win! Click to command all the thugs at the same time, and make sure that your guy get's the prize!
Kick grannies to get monies and gather monies but don't get kicked! Reach the Golden Trashcan and kick it too! Also, good luck!

Arrows and space to choose thug!
Click to command thugs!
Get your thug most $ to win!

Made in ~10h. My initial idea fell through completely, starting from scratch nearly 40 hours in was a good idea this time :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Humor3.71
#182Graphics3.75
#237Audio3.24
#305Overall3.45
#305Mood3.23
#468Innovation3.24
#485Fun3.16
#655Theme3.53
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Wow. Can't but love a fat Squary Bass;

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

I don't quite get it, but I don't have to -- it's fun!

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

This is a fun idea, I like it! Too bad it's so short :P

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31am

I don't know why i'm dying, but it looks and sounds great!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

I'm not sure what's happening, or how I really contribute to the outcome?

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40am

Dont quite get it. But looks cool. However, using your mouse for everything except for choosing your char is a little confusing.

scias says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44am

The humor is just my type, kind of reminds me of an old game concept i made. It's not only well made with consistent quality, you could actually call this completed. Of course there is always things you can improve on or add etc. but it looks way past the minimum viable product. So kudos to you!

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45am

Not sure what just happened, but I liked it!

madmaw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

Love the background music, very .... punchy. Very difficult to say, win in a deterministic way, but maybe that's the point. Is this game a metaphor for something or did I not work out the controls?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02am

Point & click 4P brawler??? I'm in!!!
Great idea, great implementation! Congratz!

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12am

So much juice!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15am

I got punched by a bunch of youths once. I'd go in to more detail but it's kind of sad.

This game has it all, old people, young people, banging beats. Well Done!

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00am

Gotta love that those thug tunes!

ratking says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56am

"Sos, bekannter und beliebter polnischer Spieleautor, hat auch in diesem Spiel wieder eigene traumatische Erfahrungen verarbeitet. Ein treibender Bass und niedliche Kulleraugenoptik sind effektvoll in Kontrast gesetzt und geben dem ganzen eine feinsinnige ironische Note."

Uhm, what I really wanted to say: awesome as ever! :-P

Namide says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24am

Cool game with fun animations

rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36am

ahAHAhahAh love it! Random fun!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54am

That title is great, really lets you know what type of game you're getting into. Fun to see the mayhem but sadly I kept losing my money. Can't believe you made it all in 10hrs, quite a feat.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Hilarious! Lot of areas for strategy and a wonderfully grim sense of humour.

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Fun! It's really good, considering the fact that you did it in 10 hours! :)
Would have love to see it with a bit more content^^
music is nice also.
Maybe the final round gives too much money, successing the game seems a bit random because of this, but winning is not realy the point of the game I guess, so that's fine.

acerunox says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Wow! Great game, it's really funny and that bass!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:13pm

This is a crazy awesome game! hahahahaha great animations, btw

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice graphics.
But I'm not sure how I make my thug win...

Leo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35pm

The AI you developed is much better at kicking grannies than me.

Awesome game!

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Arrrrghh... I don't gettit'! Can I get a clarification of what's goin' on?! I'm coming back to play/rate this again - because the gfx and that tune is flippin' radical.

Sos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

It is not significant to comprehend what is transpiring. It is important that you have fun!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Don't really get it but the music is great !

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I don't know if it is meant to be, but the music is painfully loud on my computer, to the point that I had to take my headset off. Neat game, though!

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Well, this is madness! <punch punch> Graphic is nice, good old <punch> pixel style. Music is punching (hurting) my years. I can't see any good tactic <punch punch> here, completely random. But it's fun to click <punch> some grannies... and I see you were waiting for "slaughter" theme too ;)

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really fun to play ! I like it !

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This made me chortle.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I don't really know what's going on, but it's fun to try. :) It'd already be pretty good if it were a 48 hour project, but with just 10 hours of work that's quite impressive.

lukz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

It's so impressive that you made it in only 10h!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26am

Jesus Christ that song is intense. Fun game dude. I like that the players always look at where the mouse is.

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

this was fun! I'm not exactly sure what just happened but /i like it :)

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

as usual with sos's games, i have no idea what just happened but loved every minute of it.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

Graphics are great, and gameplay very interesting.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Great graphics and sound! I felt like I did not have much control over what happened, but had fun doing it :)

hogtrick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Awesome idea. Loved the game. Everything in the game is nice to see.

kacperski1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38pm

The game could be so cool if it was made in a longer time. But it's still great, and that music kicks ass :D

Anyway, I'm the guy who told you in reddit PM that he wants to become a pro game dev sometime. Czesc ^^

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

great idea and feeling! the mood fits perfectly to the game idea

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

The music is really beefy!

I thought it was a bit irritating that the whole game is played with the keyboard but I had to click with the mouse to start it. I first thought it was broken...

Aske says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

10 hours is pretty friggin' good going ! Well done! Good job! :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04am

Great art and music! I couldn't quite understand what was going on with the gameplay at first, but I won so I must have figured it out. :P

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45am

Awesome! Felt like a part of Escape from New York with grannies! Humour, graphics, audio - all great!

kill0u says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I'm not sure I understand what's happening.. :D

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48pm

A very cool entry :) My only grief is about the way the thugs move toward the target point. Right now, you probably have something like "if( x < targetY ) x+=speed". The problem is that this won't make your thug follow a straight line between start point and target.

I would switch that to a x+=Math.cos(ang)*speed (where ang is the angle from start to target).

Anyway, good job here, especially for a 10h entry!

Sos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:58pm

I know, I know! But it's meant to be this way! The thugs seem more intelligent than walking a straight line. Also, since the level is wider than taller it makes them nearly always walk diagonally then horizontally and makes all the action more visible this way!

tl;dr I did this on purpose!

Xaychru says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Really cool and funny, if a bit short, but I enjoyed it and it felt polished for a game made in 10h!

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I see :) That's fine then!
Anyway, I liked the fact that my first reaction was "how can this gameplay be interesting". Then I kept playing it for 20 minutes straight :)

matpg says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:03am

Great fun!
And well done animations

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:37am

Hmm why you need arrow keys and space to pick characters and then you play with mouse? makes no sense.

Anyway this is pretty interesting concept. controlling 4 thungs the same time can get pretty challenging especially when you need to favor one, but it's kind of fun.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:51am

Not sure I understood how it worked but hey, it fun ! Very ice art and music too.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Violence :)

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:52pm

This is really good for something made in 10 hours.

erik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:27am

The super indirect controls make it really hard to accomplish anything. But it's lots of fun anyway.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:49pm

slow motion!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great music (percussion sounds like from trackers for amiga old dos pc :D) and I like "crude" pixel art graphics (reminds me of playing shareware games when I was younger :)).
Can't get my head around controlling characters but it is still fun. My only complaint is that everybody should have awesome mustache like Jake.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:50am

I came last. Sadness.

Not quite sure how to really influence the outcome, but it looks, sounds and feels beautiful. And who doesn't want to kick grannies?!

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:40am

I've never seen a game like it before, which is one reason why I really like Ludum Dare. I felt sort of lost while playing, and replayed it a few times. I must admit that I enjoyed just watching the game more than trying to beat/win anything.

I had to mute it after a minute or so... the bass was a bit too much for me. I love the graphics, great use of color.

Renaldo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Made me feel guilty for the fun I had. The game is beautiful and I liked the music too, but controlling my character appears to be somewhat random. Maybe some old ladies' screams would had made the sound perfect.
A very fine work!

schnerble says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:08am

Very silly, and quite fun : ) I don't think I'm very good at it, though. Many points for originality!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:14pm

so much blood.
hahahahaha.
Fun game.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Kick the grannies! So lifelike!

lekochen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:23am

Lol didn't quite understand the strategy but that was fun.

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Simple & good fun. If only it was a bit longer.

dunin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:46am

fun and original.
(but use the mouse to choice the thug is weird and annoying...)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:59pm

"This was made by a disturbed kid"

Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

this was hard to "win?" but haha nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]