Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Falling

by dalbinblue - Compo Entry

Tower Falling
-------------

You are once again after an evil monster that stole something precious from you. Use your wits and your bombs to defeat the monster.

Advance by destroying all the support columns for each level. Once you destroy the last pillar the level above will drop. You need to make sure you are standing in a spot where the level won't fall on top of you, otherwise you will be crushed and have to restart from the last checkpoint. Watch the shadows in each level to determine where a safe place to stand will be.

Note you will need to install the XNA redistributable to play (link is above)


Controls (Keyboard)
-------------------
Arrow keys - Move player
Space - Create bomb / Pick up object in front of player / Drop held object
Escape - Pause game
Enter - Reset level (you shouldn't needs this, but it's there if you get stuck)

Controls (Game Pad)
-------------------
Digital pad - Move player
A - Create bomb / Pick up object in front of player / Drop held object
Start - Pause game
B - Reset level



My apologies to those playing, I didn't actually finish on time. The game is absolutely playable and can be finished no problem. The items that were not completed were audio and plot. I have opted out of the audio category as a result. This game was intended to be a sequel to a previous entry "Dirt Cheap Dungeon" (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=13960), and while the characters and boss may look similar all assets in this game are new as per the rules of the competition. Once you are done trying my game, I would suggest playing that one, as it is MUCH better.

As always, constructive criticism is always welcome. I'll never hold it against you for saying my game is a complete piece of garbage. I kept anonymous feedback on but prefer you don't use it so that I can address you comments directly.

Have fun an keep daring!


UPDATE: Fixed bug that preventing player from playing past level 4.

UPDATE 2: Fixed issue where high DPI screens would cause the window to bee too large to see all of the game rendering it unplayable. Fixed issues in level 10 and 17 that prevented the user from continuing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#64Graphics4.09
#95Fun3.72
#140Overall3.69
#238Mood3.31
#313Humor2.88
#353Innovation3.41
#571Theme3.59

Comments

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

This is the second game I've been unable to run - with the same icon. Is this XNA?

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:03am

Can't get past first level. After bombing the altar, the second level comes down, and suddenly goes back to level 1.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58pm

@interface; You are correct. The game requires the XNA redistributable. The download is available as a link next to the "Windows" and "Source" links.

@justinooncx, watch the shadows on the ground, you can be crushed by the level above if you are not standing in a hole. I updated the game description to make this a little more obvious Additionally, not all levels checkpoint your progress so you might get sent back a level or two if die.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Game just wouldnt run. I have no idea why. It looks cool too. :(

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Quite a fun game! Got to about level 5. Love the graphics.

justino: some of the tiles are lighter, you must stand on them to survive when the floor falls.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Running into a problem where the game pops up in the middle of the screen and I cannot move it down to see the top of the game. It's preventing me from playing it. The game looks good though.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32pm

@superpokeunicorn I found a computer that also exhibits this issue and will fix shortly.

Leo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Great game, great idea, great ending.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

That was fun. The last few levels kinda bugged out. But still.
Also, very creative way to keep one one screen ;) bring the next floor down to you.

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

It's really really good even with the lack of sound. But i can't pass the boss (the part where there is a hole fiering squad in front of you plus the boss)

@justinooncx try to find a safe zone !

Budi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great game! I've managed to finish it and it was really a ton of fun, so thanks much for it! The last levels are really well-thought and challenge to beat. The only downside from my view is that sometimes there are buggy invisible blocks, but that should be easy to fix in post-compo version. :}

And you should write somewhere, that after you blow up the last pillar, you have to be in light spot or you are dead. I actually didn't see this rule anywhere. (But I might be blind :D )

Great game!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

@superpokeunicorn The issue was with high DPI screens. It should be fixed now.

@JayCee23, fixed the bugged level at the end (it wasn't registering any pillars in the level for some reason)

@5you The trick with the firing squad is to start running as soon they fire. The shots will blow up the pillars. Pause for a split second (just enough for the shot to pass you) at the rock on the right then run back to the hole before the next level drops on you.

@Budi. Second line of the description, but I stated it in a coy and probably unhelpful way. I'll update the description to be more useful.

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Love the art for this game!

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07am

Really fun game (Once I figured out what the different colored tiles were). Art was great and the gameplay was solid. A little audio would have worked wonders... but the sky is also blue, and water wet :)
Good job.. thanks!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

Great game! When I die, I'd prefer to go back to the same level, but maybe that's just me :p

Omer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

Awesome game and great loophole in the theme!

Trixton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:03am

The level change mechanic was actually really cool, but I almost quit in the beginning because I thought it was a bug... Cool game

egos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32am

cute puzzle game but the respawn of next level in the same place is frustrating and not useful for the gameplay ... i think

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Congrats, dude!

Bernhard says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:24pm

wowowow all around super amazing
Too bad there wasn't enough for some sounds but it still is very impressive
Reminded me of the Adventures of Lolo games on the NES, which I used to adore

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

@egos it's definitely a case of not exploring the mechanic better. I made the mistake of spending too much time build mechanics into the game and less time designing puzzles (all the levels were designed in about four hours). I had some ideas about levels wit unlit bombs that you need to create chain reactions to be in the right place at the right time to not get squished, but I ran out of time and the game definitely suffered for it.

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:28pm

great graphics! I like the main mechanic for progressing to the next stage, although at first the part about needing to stand on the lighter squares was a bit confusing, probably just because the difference between tiles was too subtle. I think I understand what you were trying to do though, you knock out the pillars, and the floor above falls down on you, and you stand in the one spot where there was a hole in the floor above. One little thing that bugs me is that you can't turn in spot, and must move at least one tile in whatever direction you want to aim. I wish there was music. With these awesome graphics, it would really establish a mood. But, this is a lot of work done already, especially for 48h compo entry.

lapskaus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Had a lot of fun with this once i figured it out. I would not have worked out that you have to stand on the bright tiles without reading the comments here. Fun and challenging game :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Fun retro game. Brings be back to the old days of nintendo :D

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Love this. I feel I would have loved it a lot more if checkpoints had been every level instead of having to repeat later levels over and over. But good game, love the graphics and the puzzle design.

cardboard says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:33am

Great idea! The game is challenging enough that I died quite a bit, but not so much so as to keep me from beating the game. The mechanics and puzzles are very nice. The variation kept the game interesting the whole way through.

Dexyne says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:49pm

A great game with great concept and good graphics.
Just missing some sounds/musics.

Was fun, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]