Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Problem

by TehSkull - Jam Entry

There are times when a man looks at his creation and says "What have I done??" This is one of those times.

Instructions in game.

M to mute

Noteworthy: The minigame is still taking place while exploring the overworld. This is intentional. Good luck!

Overworld art by Mr Torb
Programming & minigame art by TehSkull

Full disclosure: At 1am EST, on 12/11, I removed a feature from the game in accordance to the rules that say you can make changes to gamebreaking bugs. This bug was directly affecting the ability to lose the game. All I did was remove the ability to restart the game, as it was drastically malfunctioning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#80Humor(Jam)3.74
#96Mood(Jam)3.75
#207Graphics(Jam)3.87
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#482Audio(Jam)2.76
#504Overall(Jam)3.21
#730Fun(Jam)2.74
#807Theme(Jam)3.16

Comments

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

best game I've played so far, this is a diamond in the rough... hilarious...

haloflooder says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

Loved the artwork in this one! And great voice acting xD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Very cool concept, loved the art work too :D

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:43am

Literally all of my wat

gquibao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:46am

I really liked the art, it's kind of disturbing, but I like it. Great job!!

lase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:48am

The only game I've seen thus far that gets 5 stars for "Mood". Sorta reminds me of the The Binding of Isaac.

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:48am

Hah, that was hilarious, and amazing art, too. Good job!

Johnro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:59am

The game was interesting, though I couldn't find a way to lose. Dying in the minigame has no penalty, and failing to complete your chores seems to have no penalty other than hearing that horrifying voice shout your name. I loved the art in this game, though. The small details, everything from the box of tissues next to the computer to the power cord which goes from the power outlet to the outlet right next to it, really make this game.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:41am

Genuinely terrifying.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:46am

....HILARIOUS.....

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:47am

@Johnro, yeah that's definitely unintentional. I think in my attempts to fix other bugs, I've created new ones. I'll see if it's a simple fix, since I'd qualify that as a gamebreaking bug, which its in the rules you can fix.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:36am

Inception... Like game in game

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46am

Whoa! What did I just play? Absolutely hilarious! I love your sense of humor.
-Steffen

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:10am

Is there an "unexpected" category winner? I think I found it.

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Holy shit I love the style of this thing! :D
Absolutely gorgeous!
Just some things I would change (personal preference):
Make the movements in the minigame "blocky" so they corespond to the pixely graphics, and give the minigame a pixely font.
Also I don't know if it is intentional, but I found some enemies were impossible to shoot, because they lingered at the lower edge of the screen. Further than the snowman could move down.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:17pm

@matthewdpace As in years past, the hope is to do well in the humor category.

@NPException I completely agree with you on those criticisms. Time was running short, and I only had Google Web Fonts available to use, and a properly pixelated font was not easy to find. This was the first game I'd ever made using Construct, so there are a lot of amateur mistakes, as you noted.

The comments you made line up with my original vision, but I just wasn't fluent enough in construct to accomplish the goal in time. Thanks for the helpful review.

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I feel like I know what it's like to be you? Disturbingly funny! The 2 sided electrical cord is the perfect metaphor for this game. Gj man!

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:24am

The art in this game is fantastic in a sloppy sort of way. Very entertaining.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:27am

Nice entry! I liked how you broke up the two worlds into two drastically different art styles. Pretty hilarious.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:35am

Really interesting art style. I would have liked more to interact with in each room. Not sure if the timer is necessary.
Good start!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:04am

Haha, I bet this game is even more effective for those of us still living with our parents and being called to do chores... while being called to do chores... while playing a simple snowman game. I love the artwork, the protagonist's little bow-legged shuffle, and the horrible scowl on his face. The entire organization of the house reminds me of some sort of horrible blend of the witch's mansion in Spirited Away, Homestuck, and my grandmother's house/assortment of memorabilia. Very funny. Thank you for the game!

KyleDAudio says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:10am

Hahahaha! The art and the audio are just so brilliant. I loved the surprise gameplay change, especially regarding Junior's expression!

The garage creeps me out though....

(Thanks so much, Mr Torb, for your fanart! <3 <3 <3 <3)

KyleDAudio says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:11am

Hahahaha! The art and the audio are just so brilliant. I loved the surprise gameplay change, especially regarding Junior's expression!

The garage creeps me out a lot though.... I keep thinking something's going to jump out.

(Thanks so much, Mr Torb, for your fanart! <3 <3 <3 <3)

Ossi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:02am

The graphics are really interesting and the mood is top notch. Really creepy/weird setting. Very cool breakaway from the theme having two parallels of the game Junior plays and his day to day life. Good job!

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:03am

A little bit terrifying, but pretty fun and funny none-the-less. There were sound effects in great places, though I think that there could have been a bit more in certain places (such as the computer game). Good work!

raxter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:21am

Love the idea! Artwork is super cool too!

One bug: The one skull got placed too low and I couldn't hit it

Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:41am

Very clever. Love the graphics. 5 out of 5 for innovation!

rzuf says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:34am

It's so creepy and wonderful. It's one of these games, in which you feel like you are taking a trip inside it's creator's mind. I love almost every part of it. Please, don't stop making games. :D
Is there any way to win? I scored 77 in the snowman game, and the overworld tasks started to repeat themselves.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:06pm

@rzuf The original goal was to implement a high score system, but that got lost somewhere along the way. *teardrop*

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Wow, quite a trip. The graphics are great, I love the warped style and all the little details going on. Voice acting fits the mood 100% too. Only small quibble I have is that the projectiles move at the same speed as the snowman, which makes things weird when you shoot while moving. But overall this is a great game with an interesting premise that's well executed. Kudos!

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Deep creepy shit dude. Deep creepy shit o_o

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]