Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Test subject #4218

by Domantas - Compo Entry

You are a lonely test subject in a science facility.

A tiny puzzle game in the spirit of Portal.

Controls:
Moving: wasd or arrows
Warping device: mouse left button
Restart level: R

Should work properly on Chrome, Firefox and Opera (only tested on most recent versions).

For those who enjoyed this, I am working on a sequel:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/22/im-working-on-a-sequel/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#40Overall3.94
#40Fun3.88
#83Graphics4.00
#190Mood3.40
#278Humor2.95
#345Innovation3.42
#447Audio2.89
#571Theme3.59

Comments

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Reminds me of Portal :)

Blockers says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:15pm

that was really good. the animations and level transitions were really good looking, especially for acompo entry. the puzzles definately got hard pretty quick (atleast for me, i hope :P).
my only complaint is when the black and clear cube are introduced (i think it was the third room?) i feel like i cheesed it to solve it, i triggered the pad, got off, warped to the light one past the field that flips up, and then warped to the black cube before it could finish transitioning. im not sure how you were SUPPOSED to solve it. thats all

davesoft says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Great little game in a familiar style :D

Domantas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

@Blockers that's actually the intended solution, you can even see that animations are a bit delayed in that level.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Easily the best game I've played so far!
Very portal-esque, and a very cool mechanic!

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Wow, I love your approach to the theme. The effect when the level changes is awesome.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

The game is good, but the puzzle with dark cube and light cube is stupidly frustrating, the time window is so small, you can barely do that. I think it should be remade. Or at least have some hint on doing it that way.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Loved the transitions and animations. Some more sounds would have really set the mood better and kept the times in which I had to figure something out a bit more engaging.

Baknik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

The animations (especially level transitions) are incredibly polished. I found myself getting stuck rather quickly since the game didn't give me too much direction as to how to solve the puzzles. Great job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

The puzzles are fun and satisfying to solve. The level transition effect is really neat to watch. I love the portal gun effect!

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Funny and addictive puzzle game!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03pm

lovely visuals, especially the transition animations look just beautiful! :) the game itself looks solid and imo one of the most fun entries so far, even though it's heavily based on portal. great job!

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Like Portal, but in isometric view. I have to commend the game: fun to play, pretty inovations and good look help this game to be one of the best within Ludum Dare 31. Please check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Fantastic art style and some nice puzzling. The difficulty curve is maybe a bit too steep at the beginning but that might just me me :P

c2v4 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Awesome idea, very nice puzzles.

Cyros says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Great work man!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This is so cool! It feels really polished, which is impressive for the time limit. I got completely stuck on the level where the crate keeps appearing and disappearing in the bottom section, but until then, really good! :)

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great demake of Portal, really hard as well (but I'm terrible at puzzle games).

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Great puzzle game, and I love the way the tiles flip to rearrange the room, it really adds a lot! Would have loved to see some more work on the audio, to really sell the creepy Portal vibe.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Loved the concept of the single, transforming environment. The animation were great, and the teleport gun was fun to use. Great game.

Domantas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Feels really good to read all these comments, I was thinking about making another version with more levels.

@AtiknsSJ Spoiler: In that level you have to jump into the hole and then teleport to the crate. You'll get across the hole, the crate will fall and you will get a new one on the same side as you.

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37am

Incredible!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14am

Hi there. Excellent job creating so much content, really nice level design, integrated tutorial etc. Bookmarked for a relook - got to third level after warping device - one with loads of empty space except lower left.

erik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10am

I wasn't expecting the warping mechanic, even with all of the portal references. The puzzles are interesting. They get hard pretty quick though, and some of the solutions felt a bit like cheats.

NeithR says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18am

This reminds me of Portal, but with warp mechanism.
I guess the title will be Warp :D.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:28pm

A very good game. Some puzzles took me some time to figure out. Had to think about what is possible with these mechanics. I can tell that I enjoyed your game quite a lot.

Labai stipru, Jadenkau.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Quite strange puzzles, at first they felt very linear but then they got a bit more confusing. Your fourth image looks like the stage I got stuck on, just a tiny bit crazier! Great work on the visuals, it feels really nice!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:18pm

simple, cool and creative. The way the different levels change is great and fits the theme nicelly, well done

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice little portal inspired game!
Looks very good for a compo entry, very polished.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great game!

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Super cool tileset! Loved the mechanics and how the level shuffles onto place.. The later levels got too tricky for me, i think the onboarding to the new mechanics can use more love :)

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:18am

5/5 for all.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:29pm

very nice puzzle game. I had a fun playing it!

dunin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:49pm

very inspired but very well done!
nice animations and clever puzzles, good job!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Was having a blast... But didn't understand what did the white crates do :/ so I had to leave. If you'd make its function more proper in the level design, it would be awesome.

Besides that, I really enjoyed it, thanks for sharing the source :)

panda says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Excellent! The animation, graphics, and sounds all work together very well. The Portal inspiration is clear, yet you created an entirely new game with interesting puzzles! Congratulations, very well done!
If I had to change one thing, it would be to slow down that level that requires crazy-fast mouse movement and precision.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Incredibly polished, the level design is great, too bad I got stuck (level 4 or 5), I'll try again later.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]