Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Murderdome

by RyanNielson - Jam Entry

​Folks from across the Wastelands come to witness fools like yourself attempt to find fame, fortune, and glory in the Murderdome. Challengers face off against each other in the most violent of modern day bloodsports. Each room of the Murderdome is equipped with gun wielding psychopaths, searing campfires, and explosives. You will need to move fast between rooms, otherwise your life will be claimed by the arena. Prepare yourself challenger, and come see what awaits when you... ENTER THE MURDERDOME.​

How to Play

Clear the room of enemies and move through the gate before the time expires and the room explodes. The only goal is to try to get as far as you can, there's no end to the madness!

Move using the WASD keys, aim using the mouse, and shoot by holding the left mouse button.

Notes
- There currently seems to be an issue with the input handling in Unity. If you hold the movement keys or mouse button when entering a room they are non-responsive. To fix this just release the movement keys and mouse button temporarily.
- The game doesn't end, it's all about getting as far as you can.
- This game is called Enter the Murderdome, but I had to name the submission The Murderdome so the whole title fit in the listing.

Changelog:

- 1.0.1: Fixed issue with cursor not showing up. Fixed issue causing return to main menu mid game.
- 1.0.0: First release

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Fun(Jam)3.90
#55Audio(Jam)3.91
#136Overall(Jam)3.72
#190Humor(Jam)3.28
#214Graphics(Jam)3.86
#240Mood(Jam)3.42
#786Innovation(Jam)2.56
#834Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

victorafael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:30am

Man! I Love the audio and the visual effects!

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

Yeah, respectable effort, well done. Can't give you much theme vote, Your character leaves the screen, so the whole game isn't in one screen.. but

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38am

Funny! Thanks!

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46am

hahaha!!! Addictive!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Great audio and graphics contributing to really nice game feel.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Whaaat.. Get ready MURDER ? XD LOVE IT!:D

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Damn, this is great, and hard!

The controls are fluid, graphics are cool and the sound is great!

Anti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Really fun game. Felt very polished.

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Hahaha ohhh yeaaaa! Lot of fun. A ultra brutal isaac. Love it! Give us more levels when LD is over!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

HAHA this is so cool! The music really add me power to murder! I like the concept of running from one arena to another - I decide when I'm ready, and I can be in the middle of action very fast. Great entry!

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Fun, I can see people going for high scores.
I would appreciate a quiet moment before everybody starts shooting right after I enter the room, so I know where I am, etc.
More versatile enemy AIs?
I loved the music at the beginning :)

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

WOW! Very good, kinda addictive. Check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Awesome theme, pace and audio. With more weapons and selectable characters it'd sell! :D

razieliyo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

This game is awesome! everything is quite well put together, really. Too addictive!

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

Nicely done. I like the simple but consistent pixel style.
I'm not good at this kind of game. Only got level 8 :(

gameattack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18am

Loved the graphics and loved the stressful experience that is Murderdome. Its definitely a game to remember.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

Haha MURDER! Fun and solid gameplay, feels like the Vlambeer games. Wish I had a machine gun!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

good graphics and audio. I like the game. Just a weee bit too hard :) I would lower the difficulty the first couple of levels.

vegard1992 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

Awesome submission. Not very innovative tho, just a kill em all. Love it though =) Got to level 6 only :(

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

LOL. amazing

gquibao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Awesome!!! Great game! The whole work is perfect. I'll play this a lot!

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nice game, graphics and audio fits the mood very well :)

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

This is extremely playable! Also really difficult.

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

Nice. It reminds me a bit of Nuclear Throne.

modwizcode says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19am

Excellent game! I already mentioned the few grievances I had.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Wow! Make more levels and add bosses or boosters and put that on steam. takemymoneynow

Greg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41am

Really well polished game, procedurally increasing difficulty, can't say anything bad.

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45am

Reminded me of Nuclear Throne, a game that I love! So that's a good thing :D

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

Hah, nice and simple, good job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46am

This games feels really good. The way the screen shakes when you fire is a really nice effect and the size and color of your bullets make them stand out really well. Felt like top-down Doom.

-AlucardX60

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27am

I'm not sure if there is a game win condition since I stopped at level 6 or so. Nice art, and the sound effects are very satisfying. It would be nice if there were medkits, or if enemies did not spawn so close to you.

About the key/mouse problem for new rooms, I suspect the problem has to do with the GUI system, since it happens after you click the mouse on buttons.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09am

Hi there. Excellent music, first thing which hits you. Love the presentation and graphics, nice voice over "get ready, murder". Overall excellent, I was really bad though, only got to level 3 in a few attempts.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:54am

This game is freaking amazing! I personally love kill 'em all games like this one. I loved the whole time limit thing you had going on there although it didn't quite follow the theme with the level transitions and whatnot. The music was inedible! Being the psychopath that I am, I found the name and concept of the game humorous (yep XD). "Ye this game is pretty damn awesome." -Me, 2014

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Seems pretty responsive. I only got to Level 5. The game is pretty fast-paced.

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Very cool, I had a lot of fun playing it ! All I can say is that the juiciness is here, but I feel that somehow the theme was "a whole game on one screen", while you move between "rooms" is for me not a game "playing only on one screen" !

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Lots of fun. Can't make it past 5 but Ill keep trying!

tMalicet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Quiet hard but really fun!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:06pm

This game is so much fun, the graphics look really sharp and colourful. Only real criticism is the lack of consistency between audio (both in volume and style).

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Quite fun! The shooting mechanic feels really solid.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Haha! Awesome. I didn't survive long in the Murderdome. Very polished, but you can leave the screen!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47pm

As you said it total opposite of mine game. Love it, graphics and audio are incredible :D

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

That was fun, but it became quite repetitive pretty quickly. Also, after about room five it started to become near impossible to get started, because you usually ended up surrounded and had to take quite a beating to make it out alive. Since your health reset every floor, it wasn't a huge deal, but it was frustrating to die due to a bad spawn. Good graphics and polish really helped it along, I just would have liked more depth of gameplay.

Pepelumen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49am

Great, although quite difficult.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45am

Great game to play for a short while to kill time. Music sounded good, but it was hard to hear it given the volume of the sound effects.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00am

I like the Audio and Gameplay! great job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:12am

Good music and fun to play.
I think you could improve on the graphics and balancing (for the next LD).
Hope to see more from you!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:40am

It looks cool, plays well & it's addictive. 1+1+1=good game! :-D

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Cool game. Wish I had better reaction.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Oh yeah, that is intense :D Nice action, cool sounds and visuals. Good job. Now imagine your player as a blood thirsty bunny haha ;)

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Ah ah nice one. Being swarm by enemies right after the entrance of the room tends to be a bit frustrating, but the gameplay feels nice.

alyphen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

A pretty addictive, and difficult, game - love the permadeath. The music was fitting, and the visuals were actually quite nice, even though they were simple. It's quite fast paced and you feel like a ninja avoiding the shots - the highest I got was level 5.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:26am

awesome! 5/5 added to my faves!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice game with polished gameplay and graphics! For some reason Linux version sometimes crashes during the third wave.

egos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:47pm

classic but do the job
Very well polished. Maybe a sprite for the doors because i didnt know actually if it in the middle or all the top screen.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:20pm

It unfortunately seemed a bit glitchy, with me being thrown back into the main menu every now and then. This was with the Web version.

Graphics were good and the gameplay was simplistic but effective, nice feedback on hitting and being hit. I felt it being a bit too fast-paced, but that might be me.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Its very fun! i like the graphics and sounds! but it is constatly sending me to the main menu and its kinda frustrating.

Anyway, is a pretty good entry! congrats! :D

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33pm

What browser/plaform are you on Gemberkoekje and cabezotta? This is the first I've heard of it sending people back to the main menu.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Dear golly, the screenshakes every time you fire is nauseating. Other than that, simple concept, simple game. I liked the fire harming you. It adds complexity to strafing.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very good! Graphics and audio worked great for the game, you can never have too much screen shake. :) Like I said on the stream, it could probably use a bit more prep time before the next rounds start, and also it could spawn you at the very bottom out of a gate or something so that you don't spawn in the middle of a ton of enemies. That being said, it plays greaat - kinda brings me back to when 10 seconds was the theme!

udo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Addictive and fun, extremely well done! MURDER!!!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Sweet murder action. Great engaging gameplay. Fun, fast and challenging. Good job!

AMS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:30pm

That was very cool! Just saw it played on Twitch and made we want to try. Love the graphics and audio.

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Great fun! I love the music, and the name's clear and to the point :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:48am

Great polish on this one - and a good challenge, too!

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:21am

Polished an fun, but the enemy patterns are a little too simplistic. Run around the room while they follow you, could have used some different enemies, or some sort of screen-filling boss.

the31 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice! I really liked the style of the music and graphics. Not the most innovative use of the theme, but it's there. There are enough enemies by level 5 that it feels like luck--maybe obstacles for bullets would add some more strategy? Would be really neat if the game led into a boss and there was some story to it, post-LD.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Nice solid combat, and I enjoyed the end game explosion effect. Well done. :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:15pm

jeje, i like the speed !!! .... it is a great game, i don't like so much pixel art games, but i liked the gameplay of this one ... very good job ! ... high rated on fun :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:18pm

It works well on linux ...

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:35pm

good use of vfx and polish. some variety in weapons and enemies would really help this game

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Solid artstyle

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Wow. Really fun to play, esp. because of fluid game play, good controls and nice graphics. So usually what my games are missing ^_^

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Awesome! Heaps of fun, looks and sounds great! The song on the main menu is so awesome!

Reminded me heaps of Nuclear Throne, which surely isn't a bad thing in my books!

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Really great artwork/graphics. Fun fast gameplay, smooth movement/shooting. It got hard pretty fast. But the challange made me give it a couple more tries. Very nice job :)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Oldschool looking and playing game =) very nice

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:01pm

This is really quite addictive. Great voice acting too! :D

guimonpa says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice game, it has a cool nuclear throne vibe.
Got to level 10 after a couple of tries and it felt great.
I have one complaint though, and it is that the spawns can be a bit unforgiving, sometimes enemies spawn really close to your character and there's nowhere to run nor time to kill them before you get hit.
Good work!

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great game lots of great sound effects and the music was fun too. I think the levels got a bit hectic too fast but It did keep me going and I really enjoyed playing! Level 6 high score beat that! Also maybe different guns on each level to keep the game interesting.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Brutal.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good Game, love the graphics. Fun game-play too.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Pretty fun and fast paced. There probably needs to be some stuff like powerups though.

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Gameplay was fun. Could have been less repetitive.

voxel says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Needs moar screenshake. Solid effort, love the sprites especially the gawping stabby dudes. Relentless pacing, perfect jamgame.

Poupi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Really Nice!

Zayron says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice job this was fun and hard! I liked it! :)

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:16pm

So cool music (why disabling the Audio rating?). and impressive amount of work on polishing the graphics and effects.
Impressive gameplay which is still playable on a laptop.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Fun game, perhaps an upgrade system could be implemented :P

Lynx says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:19am

A very polished game you have here! The controls and basic game mechanics worked flawlessly for me, really fun game!

My only suggestions would be that maybe after you kill all the enemies you make a flashing arrow towards the door because I sat there my first round playing waiting for more enemies to spawn or something.

Second suggestion would be give some red overlay or edge and maybe screen shake when you get hit, it's a little hard to here the "you've been hit" SFX over all the firing and madness and I don't have time to glance up and see my health bar as I'm frantically shooting

Other than those minor things, you have a very polished and fun game, great job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I made a highlight of this game from my stream.
http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/5696874

Kabukky says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Feels very polished for the time spend on it. Great job!
Love the music and how the title pretty much says it all ;) Fun!

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:26am

Good game as so many comments say already.

More than that this is the exact sort of game that I would expect from the title. The music and graphics just build on top of the mood brought about by the title.

For me it reminds me of the 1970's movie that are about dytopian bloodsports.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Very juicy and fast paced, great fun for a quick play. Loved the "Get ready...murder!" in the beginning. Good job overall.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Very polished game, great pixel art and audio. Fun Smash TV style gameplay. Good stuff.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

ah, I had the exact same concept (limited time to clear a room) for the "10 seconds" LD. This is done much better though: the packaging is top-notch and the controls are great.

alfie275 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

Awesome game :D
Video is here btw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtOD_JSVJdE

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]