Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Santa's First Christmas

by Conflei - Jam Entry

Hello everyone we are a small team from Venezuela trying to make a really cool Christmas game.

--ONLY FULL SCREEN---
Santa's First Christmas:

Move Your Character with the Arrows (Left, Right, Up and Down Arrow)

You are the star of the christmas, go to your sleigh, take a gift, put it on the tree and come back.

Don't let the kids see you, you can hide in the objects and wait.

If you got troubles on the first act just reload the game hehe, excuse the bugs.

Unity Web Player 4.6 is having some troubles with some explorers too, if you can't play please try another one!

We use Unity3D and Piskel

We do not own the audios, everything else is ours.
Audios from www.8bitchristmas.com (Rush Coil)
Creep Cover from https://www.youtube.com/user/mnrmner

Follow Us on Twitter:

Programming - @FelixIzarra
Art - @UncleHoek

Thanks For Coming!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#132Humor(Jam)3.45
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#292Mood(Jam)3.34
#297Fun(Jam)3.32
#319Audio(Jam)3.18
#347Overall(Jam)3.38
#640Theme(Jam)3.40

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Interesting idea. Unfortunately, I couldn't get very far.

It took a while to realize I was supposed to hide from the kid. I managed to do that, and I was about to get back to my sled after dropping off the present, and the kid turned around and walked up to me and now the game won't go forward (we're just standing there, it didn't kill me.)

Heads up - if you don't know the audio, you should probably credit the author.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

Beautiful graphics, nice mechanics (once you understand how to play), probably you should give the player a feedback on what to do after getting a gift (telling him to hide). My only concern is about the soundtrack, you should give credit to the authors. Great idea!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Creep chiptune cover! You rock!!! Amazing style! Duval!!!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

<3 creep - That was fun.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Interesting concept.

If you didn't make the audio, you'll need to opt out of being rated on it :)

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I loved the music, it was a lot of fun to play. Good game overall!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great idea. High difficulty, but maybe I'm not a very good Santa

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Cool one, the pixel graphics are very harmonic.
It's hard to tell how large the kid's field of view is.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice graphics, some performance issues. Love Radiohead!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice game! :D

Atridas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great idea!!! Turned to be really fun :D

ssheep says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22pm

very fun a few bugs in first level

zeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Fantastic idea, so is the execution. GJ. Got almost heart attack when I was at the first level's end and the kid saw me but I still made it to the next level.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I thought this was pretty fun. It was very difficult to be caught and have to start all over just due to the speed of the game being relatively slow. Sometimes its really hard to wait for the kids to turn around at the right moment. I wasn't able to beat it all, I got to level 4. If it's fairly short, I would consider putting like a 1/4 2/4 counter at the bottom right of the screen just to give other player an idea of how much is left. Or , really alternatively, I would fix the pacing. It's pretty challenging to move at the right moment, which is nice that the challenge is there, but having to start the entire level over when you lose feels frustrating. At least, it does to me. Anyways, I like the idea. I would also suggest crediting the musical author, or if you did the chip tune yourself, at least credit that it is based on the author's tune. (or maybe that's in the credits, I haven't beaten it)

mahu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great ideia, nice music, but i think the first stage the tree should hide the santa too, is really hard to get back.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Pichudo! I really like the Game Mechanics and the graphics!

kingpirux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

jajaj me gusta! muy creativo el juego y bien para estas épocas ^^ el unico error que encontre fue al perder que podes escaparte sin limites jajaj

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I love the idea, the graphics are cool and the music is awesome too. Sadly music is not yours but the rest is really cool :D Best Santa simulator ever :D

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The graphics are nicely done. The pacing is a bit slow though, it takes forever to complete one level, and then you get spotted by kid that just turned around and you have to do the whole level again...

And is that green thing supposed to walk backwards?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Really cool concept. I was a little confused in the beginning and not very sure what I should do, but it was pretty fun afterwards. It was hard and I can't go very far in the game

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

This is my absolutely favorite song!!! And it sounds amazing in retro style too :D Anyway I love the idea of this game and how the screen turns gray when the santa is revealed :) Good job!

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

I love the graphics. They are really cute. I also dig the general feel of the game interesting concept/execution as well!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Ah cute. Love the art + music.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:42am

Fun but difficult. Had a bit of trouble getting past some of the levels. Loved the dialogue, though.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:28am

It's nice to see a light hearted stealth game in this LD. The controls felt a little slippery though and it would've been nice if you moved a bit faster. Love the music though!

-AlucardX60

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Great Graphics!
Couldn't Beat first Stage thought...

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:38am

The graphics were really well done. I really like the idea of this, but the controls seemed a bit sticky and I found it a little frustrating to try to hide from the kids with few places to duck and cover.

I was also a little disappointed that I couldn't drop off the ledges after I placed the gifts to make a quick getaway. It seemed to be the logical thing to do, and I made a frowny face when I couldn't. :(

I really like the idea of a Santa/Christmas-themed stealth game though. You really could do a lot with that! :)

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:16pm

The game brings Christmas spirit. Thanks)

SuperMsp10 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:54am

Great game, really enjoyable. I just didnt see where the theme is coming in

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:16am

really cool idea - i delivered 1 present - liked the chiptunes music from radiohead too - nice touch - santa is such a creep!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great game, but very difficult. Indicators to show where children can see would turn this into a truly great game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]